Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Afl 150 Years Vs Nrl 100 Years Ad

eels_fan_01

There so called "150 years" ad just came on.

Our ad is so much better, i have been very critical of NRL marketing in the past but they really nailed it. Pretty much it reflects that rugby league although it has changed in many ways its still the same blokes getting out there playing a great simple game. Some big hits and good trys thrown in with good measure aswell. No big gimmick just our game, which is great.

Now we see the AFL ad, i mean great job AFL marketting guys. They claim that inventions were purely just invented for the fact that it was benefical towards watching or getting to the AFL. Like "first they invented the light bulb to play night games." If light was the only thing that was keeping me from seeing AFL at night live or on my tv id smash every light bulb in NSW. Then they mention Qantas or some sh*t in 1920 so they could play games interstate....What the hell? Interstate?? How many people would have gone to an AFL in NSW or QLD in 1920? 10 people and that is just the players boyfriends??

The ad would have been better had that old guy died at the end and the subtitles had read "AFL is as old as this guy and just as dead!". Like they always say how they dont care what NRL or Union is doing yet when we have our 100 years they get that paranoid over it, well screw them....next year lets have a 101 year celebrations, lets celebrate every year that we dont have to watch grown men teabag each other to get a ball.

150 my ass, no one really gives a sh*t how long you have played your crappy game, 150 of androtops in tight shorts and squashed balls. The only thing that has come out our this stunt is the Victoria vs All Star game which i will be completely honest i am worried that the AFL ball lickers will enjoy and could become some what of a hit with them, never will match origin though.

Thoughts?

Mr. Fahrenheit

whilst i agree with your anti-afl sentiments, i actually thought that was quite clever marketing wise. Our ad appeals to existing league fans, however i think the AFL one appeals to those who are yet to commit to either code or those who are on the edge... this sadly reflects the game's overall adminstration; AFL always looking to expand, where as the NRL is always looking to consolidate.

eels_fan_01

Mr. Fahrenheit said:
whilst i agree with your anti-afl sentiments, i actually thought that was quite clever marketing wise. Our ad appeals to existing league fans, however i think the AFL one appeals to those who are yet to commit to either code or those who are on the edge... this sadly reflects the game's overall adminstration; AFL always looking to expand, where as the NRL is always looking to consolidate.

To be honest, i reckon you show that to people who dont follow any footy (league,union of afl) and i bet ya any money they would have no idea which code it was about until the very end.

Mr. Fahrenheit

but the point is, at the end they would know... and they'd be like... AFL thats what Australia is all about (look at migrants, if they want to fit in they will flock to what they think would best acheive that)

eels_fan_01

Mr. Fahrenheit said:
but the point is, at the end they would know... and they'd be like... AFL thats what Australia is all about (look at migrants, if they want to fit in they will flock to what they think would best acheive that)

They already have a team though, the Bulldogs? :lol:

Seriously though i see what your saying but i dont think we need catch phrases to show that our game is great. Although i wouldnt have minded "Rugby League...is better than AFL."

Lockyer4President!

Mr. Fahrenheit said:
Our ad appeals to existing league fans, however i think the AFL one appeals to those who are yet to commit to either code or those who are on the edge...
I've actually had the opposite view. Pretty much everyone, rugby league fan or not, has praised the centenary ad. I haven't heard a whisper about the AFL ad from anyone.

Lockyer4President!

eels_fan_01 said:
next year lets have a 101 year celebrations, lets celebrate every year that we dont have to watch grown men teabag each other to get a ball.

Thoughts?
I like it. We should keep the same ad but just change the theme from celebrating the Aussie centenary to celebrating 101 years since we told union to get f**ked. :)

Mr. Fahrenheit

eels_fan_01 said:
They already have a team though, the Bulldogs? :lol:

Seriously though i see what your saying but i dont think we need catch phrases to show that our game is great. Although i wouldnt have minded "Rugby League...is better than AFL."

yeah well anythign that distinguishes the product and pits it in direct competition with another would do me.... like maybe a montage, of an AFL 'melee' with an Origin biff or a spectacular try with a sh*t miss at goal from in from (in AFL)

Nuke

Perhaps the aussie rules one is sh*thouse because they've thrown it together at the last minute to try and pry some of the spotlight back onto them. I haven't seen it (despite living in WA), and I don't plan to.

Next they'll be celebrating their 275th anniversary in about 10yrs if their rate of years progresses as fast as their last 10 has to us mere mortals!

Actually, I just worked out that in 2022 they'll be celebrating their bi-centenary (using the actual rate of 14:50 that they seem to have incorporated, but that's assuming for a moment their rate of increase since their centenary is a straight line, and not a curved one perpetually increasing as time goes on. That being the case, they'd've started playing aussie rules well before the European settlement in Australia!

I don't think I'm making any sense anymore. I think I shall head to bed!

stuh

Interesting that the ad says, "Nothing much of any importance happened in the early 1900's."
What do you suppose the AFL means by that?

Dogs Of War

stuh said:
Interesting that the ad says, "Nothing much of any importance happened in the early 1900's."
What do you suppose the AFL means by that?

Federation of Australia isn't important to AFL. Neither is the formation of Rugby League.

eels_fan_01

It came on today and i was with a mate who doesnt know much about any sort of footy and im like tell me what this ad is about.

When the rabbits part came up, he goes "Oh is about the Rabbitohs yea?".

Good work AFL.

Danish

The NRL and AFL ads both summed up each of their celebrations very nicely.

Our is based on documented facts of our competition existing for over 100 years, and shows some of the greats of the game from that century of existence.

Theirs is based on fairytales and fiction, just like the notion that the AFL has been going for 150 years.

t-ba

Danish said:
Theirs is based on fairytales and fiction, just like the notion that the AFL has been going for 150 years.

:lol:. Hole in one that.

I find the AFL ad to be extremely patronising tbh. I'm wondering if we should start calling And D 'Big Brother' and agree with him when he says the Helicopter was invented purely for the purpose of getting water off the pitch of the MCG.

***MH***

If you watch the AFL ad carefully, in the scene where they have the team of the cloned Brisbane Lions players, you'll notice the stadium in the background is from the inside of the Sydney Football Stadium.....

:LOL:

gho

according to wikipedia aussie rules were first played in 1858 and AFL was established in 1896