Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anderson given third warning

Well many of you are still sunbaking on the beach and cannot see the tidal wave that is coming that will wipe out Cronulla. Alot of you are in dream land if you think everything is going to be sweet if and when Anderson is not coaching next year.

Let's just say we will have plenty of room under our salary cap if Anderson is not coaching next year. Brett Kimmorley, Phil Bailey and Nigel Vagana will not be at the Sharks in 2004 if Anderson is not coaching. Oh you forgot about that??? Feeling overjoyed now? :roll:

I've never felt so sick in the stomach about the situation that is present at the Cronulla Sutherland Rugby League Club. Barry Pierce and his fellow board members you are an absolute disgrace!! You couldn't run Bingo night let alone a Rugby League Club. Why won't you let him finish his contract and let the club be stable? Why do you want to upset the players even more? Why don't you want to have star players stay at the club? Why don't you get out now before the real embarressment begins next year when the club is running stone motherless last, no one turning up to the games, club in financial ruin and no star players to fall on.

I will state now that if Anderson is not allowed to fulfill the rest of his contract this will be the beginning of the end of the Sharks. I know alot of fans have had a gutful of the Club for awhile and this will be the final straw of patience. I only ever became a season ticket holder since Chris Anderson's arrival. I did attend games fairly regularly before but nothing like the past two seasons. I have purchased 4 season tickets in the Peter Burns stand upper for the past two seasons. I will not be renewing my season tickets next year if Anderson is not coaching the club next year. I will not be attending any matches full stop! When fellow fans find out that sacking Anderson is a duble edged sword and that certain players came with him and will go with him I think I won't be alone in this stance.

I'm at the point, that if Anderson is shown the door I think that will be it for me as a Sharks supporter. I've had enough of board room blunders at the Sharks from people who wouldn't know what success is because they've never had it and neither has the club!!

With all respect ignoramous I'll leave it open because there are plenty of people behind me who need to walk out too. When they bulldoze Shark Park can you leave my paver just outside the gate?

Well see how big the club will be without Anderson Sullyfan. I don't think most people realise that the club is holding on by a thread at the moment with the fans patience. They've had enough of the it will be different now stories. Would you buy a used car from any of the Sharks board?

When Anderson left Melbourne, how many of the players with these 'get out' clauses left? We were rumoured to be picking up Kearns, Howe, Kearney, Orford and Hill at various stages. How many of these apparently 'unhappy' players followed Anderson when he left?

Big fat zero.

When Noddy, Bailey and Vagana 'leave' where exactly are they going to go? Not to another NRL club, unless they're happy to play for a pittance. England? They have a tightening import quota, which is full in most of the leading clubs. Maybe they'd be happy to play for a small amount for Salford, but hey, that's a big step down...

Let's face it. There's no where to go. Anderson won't have a job, so they won't follow him anywhere.

And if we - the fans - decide to jump ship, it will only mean the club has a greater chance of dying. If you care for the club and not the coach or the board or any of that garbage, you'll keep going to the games, keep buying merchandise, keep supporting the team. If you don't like the board, then do something active about it. Don't just sulk and not come to the footy anymore.

And let's not forget - Anderson leaving hasn't even been confirmed yet. At the moment, he's still our coach for 2004. Everything is pure conjecture.

Dragon Slayer said:
With all respect ignoramous I'll leave it open because there are plenty of people behind me who need to walk out too. When they bulldoze Shark Park can you leave my paver just outside the gate?

If Anderson left, the weak stream of people walking out of Shark Park would be dwarfed by the thousands of people walking in to party at the news of his demise.

I'm not even an Ando hater, but I respect that the overwhelming public opinion is that he should leave or be booted. If you believe otherwise then youre kidding yourself.

Jimbo

ShireShark said:
If Anderson left, the weak stream of people walking out of Shark Park would be dwarfed by the thousands of people walking in to party at the news of his demise.

I'm not even an Ando hater, but I respect that the overwhelming public opinion is that he should leave or be booted. If you believe otherwise then youre kidding yourself.

At least two polls in this forum have proved otherwise...

Elgarbo your post was all about common sense. But none has been displayed at the Sharks in these past couple of weeks. How do you think Kimmorley will react with Treister coming back. Plenty of communication and team spirit on the field? Treister is finished as a footballer and someone should sit him down and tell him he is kidding himself in even thinking of trying to come back.

I don't think your comparison with Melbourne is entirely going to work here. The players never publicly stated they would walk out of Melbourne. These Sharks players have! Kimmorley would probably do it as a respect for his close friendship with Anderson. As for getting clubs the English teams usually always find a spot for that type of talent at anytime it's on the market. Even a smaller pounds offer is better than a high Aussie dollar contract.

If Anderson walks I predict a walkout bigtime. It only takes Brett to walk which would be highly likely and a few others will follow.

I don't think your comparison with Melbourne is entirely going to work here. The players never publicly stated they would walk out of Melbourne. These Sharks players have! Kimmorley would probably do it as a respect for his close friendship with Anderson. As for getting clubs the English teams usually always find a spot for that type of talent at anytime it's on the market. Even a smaller pounds offer is better than a high Aussie dollar contract.

Who has? Where has any single Cronulla Sharks player said that they will walk if Anderson does?

None of them. Many have said that they support Anderson to the hilt, and we have the media telling us about their various escape clauses, but no Sharks player has said anything about walking. Like I said, where would they go?

As for Treister returning.. well at the moment its purely more conjecture. If we stick to the facts, then we can see that at the moment the whole situation has been completely blown out of proportion.

The facts: Anderson has received his third warning letter. That is all.

Garbo, I just didn't like Pierces comments. It sounded like we've now got grounds to boot you it's up to yourself if you want to go quietly and respectively on your own free will. There was nothing said by Pierce that this is his 3 warning letter but Anderson still has the backing to continue with planning for next year.

Just reading imbetween the lines. As for the players leaving. I'm afraid where theirs smoke there's fire believe me.

Dragon Slayer said:
Garbo, I just didn't like Pierces comments. It sounded like we've now got grounds to boot you it's up to yourself if you want to go quietly and respectively on your own free will. There was nothing said by Pierce that this is his 3 warning letter but Anderson still has the backing to continue with planning for next year.

Just reading imbetween the lines. As for the players leaving. I'm afraid where theirs smoke there's fire believe me.

All fair points, but at the moment I think we should let it all play out before we begin going to such drastic measures as declaring that we won't be back next season... who knows, the board might actually prove themselves of some worth? I doubt it, but let's not get ahead of ourselves...

Jimbo said:
ShireShark said:

At least two polls in this forum have proved otherwise...

Jimbo we're talking about diehard fans voting on CA or SR.

I voted for Ando. But even blind Freddy could see that the feeling around the Shire is that the common fan on the street would dance on Ando's grave right now.

I'm not saying I would. But the overwhelming feeling is that people want Ando gone. I've never heard such venom spoken about any Sharks employee, ever.

Garbo, I'll be at Shark Park next year if Anderson is coaching. But if he isn't .......it will probably mean than Kimmorley and co won't be either. If the board wants drama they can have a full blown one where the fans abandon the club and they fall on their swords. They'll be in for a rude shock.

I hope that what you say is true that it is all conjecture but I've got a bad feeling about this. ................. :(

El Garbo said:

Who has? Where has any single Cronulla Sharks player said that they will walk if Anderson does?

None of them. Many have said that they support Anderson to the hilt, and we have the media telling us about their various escape clauses, but no Sharks player has said anything about walking. Like I said, where would they go?

As for Treister returning.. well at the moment its purely more conjecture. If we stick to the facts, then we can see that at the moment the whole situation has been completely blown out of proportion.

The facts: Anderson has received his third warning letter. That is all.

Excuse my ignorance but doesnt Kimmorley,Bailey and Vagana have
get-out clauses in thier contracts in the event of Anderson being sacked?

innsaneink said:

Allegedly Bailey does. I dont think Kimmorley does and I dont know about Vagana.

Regardless, it doesnt mean they would use them.

PJ

It doesn't mean that they won't either.

Garbo's logic is a bit flawed too. We have seen plenty of clubs offloading contracted players to get someone they want, could happen again. Also they can structure the contract so they don't get paid much the first year but get heaps in the remaining years.

I'd like to think though that they wouldn't use them.

I think that DS has some fair points though and the club needs to be very careful.

Unfortunately they are carrying on like a bunch of school girls.

ShireShark said:
innsaneink said:

Allegedly Bailey does. I dont think Kimmorley does and I dont know about Vagana.

Regardless, it doesnt mean they would use them.

Vagana was quoted in the press on the weekend as saying that he has a get out clause in his contract and would not be joining the Sharks in 2004 if Anderson wasn't the coach. It was also reported that Kimmorley and Bailey have similar get out clauses. Anderson, as coach, was obviously the lure to get these guys to the club and, I have no reason to believe that they wouldn't use these options if Anderson is given his marching orders. Why put them in there in the first place if they have no intention of acting on them? Best case would be is that it would give them an option to renegotiate their contracts, meaning more dollars if they are going to stay and thereby push out some of the other players who are yet to be signed for 2004.

The club is imploding and is rapidly becoming a laughing stock for the rest of the NRL. This needs to be resolved quickly, one way or another, and dragging it out until December is only going to leave a lot more uncertainty about the club, training, and a likely playing and coaching roster for next year.