Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ando gone if we miss the finals

^^^^ Exactly El D.

At least that part of the article gets right to the crux of what's behind all this sacking DA talk - the f**king Board just trying to look after themselves in April's election.

Put the club before yourselves for once, pack of merkins :evil:.
Agreed, the season is still alive FFS and they are worried about next April :? Shows how much they really care about the team.....

For the record, I think if we miss the finals, it's not good enough and he does have some questions to answer.

recruitment and retention is also a major concern

Whats disappointing though is someone obviously leaking that we spoke to Kearney at such a critical stage of the year.

like the Cayless retirement

fish eel

Agreed, the season is still alive FFS and they are worried about next April :? Shows how much they really care about the team.....

says Rothfield

as I said, sometimes we laugh about what he says. sometimes we take it as gospel :lol:

says Rothfield

as I said, sometimes we laugh about what he says. sometimes we take it as gospel :lol:
Well this story has legs, Ossie was down in Melbourne to talk to Kearney. So Slothfeild on this occasion could be on the money.

fish eel

Well this story has legs, Ossie was down in Melbourne to talk to Kearney. So Slothfeild on this occasion could be on the money.

Yes, Ossie spoke to Melbourne. And slothfield has then tossed it out there and made the link to the election on his own. He just tagged that bit on at the end. 1 plus 1 equals 3. Board elections in April, board wants next year to start well (who wouldnt?) must mean board want to sack anderson to make sure they get a good start next year :lol:

I would say changing coach is the way to guarantee a slow start as it takes time to gel.

I would also say paying a coach out is a way to guarantee you'll piss of members right before an election

Therefore, I think Rothfield is full of sh*t. Once again.

Yes, Ossie spoke to Melbourne. And slothfield has then tossed it out there and made the link to the election on his own. He just tagged that bit on at the end. 1 plus 1 equals 3. Board elections in April, board wants next year to start well (who wouldnt?) must mean board want to sack anderson to make sure they get a good start next year :lol:

I would say changing coach is the way to guarantee a slow start as it takes time to gel.

I would also say paying a coach out is a way to guarantee you'll piss of members right before an election

Therefore, I think Rothfield is full of sh*t. Once again.
I hope you are right, Ando definately deserves another season at least.

fish eel

I hope you are right, Ando definately deserves another season at least.

Perhaps, but as I said, if we miss the finals, he does have some questions to answer, particuarly if we fail to make any quality signings, and a case could be made for punting him.

I agree. Unless we get 2 quailty signings before seasons end then questions have to asked if we don't make the finals. I like Ando but he seems to have sat on his hands when it comes to signing players and re-signing any current ones. He let a few go with really no replacements. Mateo was thrown heaps of $$$ so we can't blame Ando for that. But he should have had a replacement by now can't just hope some juniors come thru the u20's are last and the Wenty are struggling to make the finals, the SG Ball squad is still a couple of years away so we need to recruit from out side for a Half, Winger/Centre and backrower lock. We have no signatures yet.

mrpwnd

Well, personally, I believe he's more-or-less stuffed up this year, no recruitment, poor season overall, but whatever, I don't really hold him in contempt for it at all. Sacking a coach after a poor season won't get us anywhere and we'll end up in a state worse than the blues. Although, as you said, it would be understandable to an extent if the board do try to punt him.

Agreed. The Dogs have been underachievers this year too, but at least they have made massive changes. How many new contracts do they have ? Maybe 5 or 6 I think. Meanwhile we have duck egg.

The board is over a barrel they promised sucess, we got sucess last year but only just scraped into the 8 to get there with a squad he inherited and has had a chance to build his own squad but has sat on his hands. We will likely miss the finals and next year our squad looks worse so I can see why the board wants to be seen as taking some action after all they didn't hire Ando he was already there.
And most of the season the players attitude has looked poor and that to is the coach not preparing them for the games with the right attitude we all know these blokes can play footy we have seen but the coach has to motivate them to play at their best every week and and I don't think that is happening.

eels81236

Apparently DA doesn't really get to "control" recruitment perse.
It is more a case of the board/ossie saying to him..."We are thinking of making a play for player A. What do you think?"
Is there a reason why DA was not at the meeting with Quade Cooper in Brisvegas?

On that bit el d posted about the election influencing the decision

There's no quotes, just some Rothfield speculation.

Somedays we'll laugh at what he says. Somedays we seem to take it as gospel truth depending on what we want to believe

Go figure :crazy:

For the record, I think if we miss the finals, it's not good enough and he does have some questions to answer.

Whats disappointing though is someone obviously leaking that we spoke to Kearney at such a critical stage of the year.

I agree that questions should be asked. But I reckon he should at leas get the full term of his contract - if he is able to pull off a couple of miracle signings soon (fingers crossed) and build the team he wants, surely he should have first crack at coaching them? And then we can judge him better.

Djay

It takes a little longer then 2 seasons to build a side to the way you want as a coach, surely they'll see him out to his contract.

spartan2153

According to the article. if he doesnt make the grandfinal he is gone. Wow.

That means every coach's criteria should be semi's or your gone. If these football heads reaslised the rabble we were in before he came along. We had players that wouldn't even turn up to training when required. Would have a cry when they were held accountable for playing like sh*t.

So now we have a coach that bleeds blue & gold. Has a proven track record of success. does hold everyone accountable for there actions on the field. Has changed the culture from what it was to haveing pride in the club again.

So they want to hire a coach that has no coaching credientials. Has come from a club that has gotten success from rorting the salary cap for 5 years now.

That will do me. We are only 1 player away from action being a top 4 side. That is just a average halfback who can kick long & short & pass to the backline when required. If our board does not see that then i hope they are all punted at the next election & fitzgerald is bought back. At least he had the balls to actually see out a coaches contract.

The players he inherited are lazy asses. So because thge boss trains them hard & expects the best they have a whinge.

Inu as much as i loved him i am glad he is leaving. Mateo i wish stayed only if he put in every game & actually changed his attitude & really got fit.

Look at elliot. He finally got a team he wanted & they will now challenge for the title the next 3 years. So since anddo over achieved as coach last year he pays the price this year.

As much as i love the club. If they do this & show unloyalty to our coach then i will show my loyalty by no longer following them until they regain my trust again. This will make us a laughing stock. Kearney well then have the excuse its not my team so i can take responisibility.

If our club is serious then they will show loyalty to the coach & that will tell our players he is the boss. Players dont run the team they coach does. If they get there own way again i hope they clean the lot of them out because they don't deserve to wear the jersey.

Eelectrica

Well the first year Hagan was coach we made the preliminary final and went down fighting against an over the cap Storm side, then did nothing the year after.
First year of Ando's tenure we make the GF and again go fighting against an over the cap storm side, this year not much of anything.

New coach next year... Storm side that will be knocked down several notches...

Yes, Ossie spoke to Melbourne. And slothfield has then tossed it out there and made the link to the election on his own. He just tagged that bit on at the end.
Geez, it's not rocket science coming up with the only reason for why Ossie would have been meeting Kearney in Melbourne... many people didn't need Rothfield to make it clear for them.

Talk to any of those "in the know" about the club on here and they'll tell you exactly which Board members are anti-DA. Thankfully the panic merchants who would seek to terminate contracts early are in a minority on the Board (last I heard).

It's got everything to do with the RIDICULOUS promises about on-field performance made by some prior to the last Board elections. It's very disappointing, regardless of whether Rothfield is used as a distraction to the current Board's manoeuvres or not.

I doubt anderson would be sacked soley on the reason of not making the finals.There would have to be a few players complaining in my opinion.Thou considering the team he has and id say the least amount of injuries to any club and the fact there is only 15 teams this year.Notthing but a top 8 spot would be horendous.Iamgine we did have injuries?