Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Andrew Fifita tells junior rugby league referee: ‘I’ll smash you’

betcats

Pulling a phone out, is now akin to an act of violence.

Maybe we should start a campaign.

#NoCowardPhone

:lol: Royal commission into camera phones incoming.

Is there really an argument being made that because the ref pulled his phone out the fifitas acting like idiots is somehow ok? The phone coming out should of been the end of it for anyone who isn't thick as a brick.

ratsack2

I pulled over in a bus stop to go buy some milk at servo cause I didn't want to double back after work to get milk, all good cause i am a bus driver and was in my bus, so no law broken, when a smart ass starts videoing me on his phone, I asked him politely not to, he gave me a mouthful and it quickly escalated after that, so yeah I can see how Fafita got pissed off when they were just trying to protect and injured player and find out why he restarted the game prematurely and I have also been a ref in the past and I was not such a smart ass as this ref, I have also done P.A.R.T (professional assault response training) and no pulling out a phone to record is not a way to de-escalate a situation, this ref would of completed similar training if he truly is a riot police officer

Yep, since when did pulling out a phone and (probably pretending) filming someone become an act of provocation?

If it were me and I had said something stupid to a ref, and he whipped out his phone to start filming, the first thing that would go through my head is to say "Sorry mate - I didn't mean that, can we talk about this or not?" I would never have felt that it was in any way the other person's fault for me carrying on like a tool after the phone is pulled out.

Andrew Fifita has no justification for threatening to smash a phone or even demanding in an intimidating fashion that someone stops filming him in a public place, based on supposed provocation of "someone taking out their phone and filming him".

Take your phone to a beach and pretend to film some chicks with their boyfriends nearby .
See how long it takes before you get told to f**k off.

Are the Fifita's smart? No, dumb as two bricks.

I don't think anyone is suggesting anything else.

Did they do the wrong thing? Yes

I don't think anyone is suggesting anything else.

Do they deserved to be rubbed out of the game for a year? No way!

Punishment should fit the crime.

Many seem to suggest otherwise.

Frank_Grimes

Take your phone to a beach and pretend to film some chicks with their boyfriends nearby .

You're really trying to compare taking creep shots of chicks at the beach to filming someone's inappropriate and threatening behaviour towards ones self?

betcats

Unfortunately for the Fifitas what would happen down the beach has f**k all to do with this.

No one likes being filmed by random people I am sure but it is not an excuse to threaten someone or act like a dickhead, its that simple.

You're really trying to compare taking creep shots of chicks at the beach to filming someone's inappropriate and threatening behaviour towards ones self?

you reckon filming someone is not provoking them.
It is.
Doesn't matter where
If you start filming somebody who you know clearly does not want to be filmed you are provoking them.
I'd expect to be told to f**k just about anywhere for filming someone I was having an argument with.

You'd do it too.

betcats

The ref wasn't even having an argument though he had refused the question by fifita so how are they arguing?

SharkShocked

It is.
Doesn't matter where
if you start filming somebody who you know clearly does not want to be filmed you are provoking them.
i'd expect to be told to f**k just about anywhere for filming someone i was having an argument with.

You'd do it too.

qft

SharkShocked

So you think the bloke responded in a polite manner and said "Dear Mr Fifita, Im in a public place and it is my right to film, oh and by the way, i hope you have a great season as you are a kind sir".

hahaha

It's clear that half this forum has never ever held a position as an official and had to deal with unruly parents, players or supporters.

I'd love to see half you blokes handle confrontation. Probably go hiding behind the nearest security guard.

You all think confrontation occurs in a polite / calm environment. Get a grip.

SharkShocked

Pulling a phone out, is now akin to an act of violence.

Maybe we should start a campaign.

#NoCowardPhone

Get the c**k out of your mouth. Jesus christ you are good at exaggerating.

Fits with your support of JT's conspiracy theory.

No one here ever mentioned it was an act of violence, they said its provocative.

provocative
prəˈvɒkətɪv/Submit
adjective
causing anger or another strong reaction

No one here ever mentioned it was an act of violence, they said its provocative.

provocative
prəˈvɒkətɪv/Submit
adjective

That's how I feel about PerthRed

Canard

So you think the bloke responded in a polite manner and said "Dear Mr Fifita, Im in a public place and it is my right to film, oh and by the way, i hope you have a great season as you are a kind sir".

hahaha

It's clear that half this forum has never ever held a position as an official and had to deal with unruly parents, players or supporters.

I'd love to see half you blokes handle confrontation. Probably go hiding behind the nearest security guard.

provocative
prəˈvɒkətɪv/Submit
adjective

Your all over the shop, first you are saying it's hard to be an official and dealing with confrontation is difficult, as people are generally arseholes.

Then on the other hand you say, that what the referee did was provocative and by extension deserved it??

#NoCowardPhone

betcats

hahaha

Do you think the fifitas approached the ref in a polite manner?

Frank_Grimes

It is.
Doesn't matter where
If you start filming somebody who you know clearly does not want to be filmed you are provoking them.
I'd expect to be told to f**k just about anywhere for filming someone I was having an argument with.

You can't generalise your ridiculous comparision away.

Neither Fifita was provoked. You're trying to make yourself feel better about what they did by continuing to think (and espouse here) that the ref's action of taking out his phone was a catalyst for more threatening or abusive behaviour from a reasonable person.

You'd do it too.

I already pointed out what I would do. Suggest you read it.

Depends on the context mate. This isn't like he has accused him of murder. Regardless your blaming the guy for all sorts of things here with zero proof.

Like this claim that he "deleted" the footage, deliberately lying to try to make Fifita to be the victim.

Talking about context, please check the context of what of my posts. I'm talking in hypotheticals 'IF he has lied' is what I said. So far the ref has accused Fifita of wrong doing without any proof, he leaked his side of the story to the press and has caused Fifita harm. If he doesn't come up with the video footage, he's at a high risk of a defamation law suit, if it was bs he should face criminal charges because lying and giving a false statement is a criminal offence.

Ummm, no. Sorry going to far. Ref has other witnesses supporting his claims, as does Fifita.

Video simply would have supported one way or the other.

Reality of the issue is for the powers that be to determine. If there is significant doubt between the various evidence, then the club and eventually the NRL need to consider what legal action may be taken if the punishment is considered excessive, personally and career damaging