Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Another AFL wanker bagging out the great game

Kiki

exactly Willow and that's what makes me sick. it's not about getting the photos destroyed. look at the language their QC used when talking about her...it's reprehensible.

Kiki

as for copyright, i'm sorry but if you're a high profile person posing for sexualised naked photos is just about the dumbest thing you can do. right or wrong, they have a high chance of getting out.

if you pose for them, you have to cop the realistic consequences that other people may see them.

'mental distress'....what a load of crap. what about Bingle's mental distress in a photo that was obviously taken without her consent?

Rexxy

Agree with you morally, but think about what you are arguing for Willow and Kiki.

Under what circumstances can it be right for someone to steal your private photos* and publish them -- then argue that its OK because it's out of revenge for past proven/unproven misdemeanors?

*even if they are as silly as capturing a couple of boofy blokes having a jolly game of dick sword fights.

Highway1

I'm sick of the AFL's culture of grabbing the high moral ground and the putting the boot into Rugby League for no good reason other than posing themselves as self-righteous, especially when AFL has such a rotten culture.

Has this Martin Flanagan said anything at all about this or is it only NRL players who he seems to notice

I feel like sending an email to this w*nker as follows:

"Dear Flano,
You're a F*ckwit.
I don't like your incoherent, sanctimonious garbage.
Stop pontificating and take your c*ck out of your eye.

Yours truly,
C.A.G."

babyg

I wouldn't be destroying any of those photos until another person or people somehow acquired a copy. What proof do they have that others do not also have these photos and couldn't anonymously release them.

she needs to get a good publicist and if she really wants to stick the boot into the AFL she should be concentrating on the fact she was a 16 year old schoolgirl at an AFL clinic and in a way taken advantage of by a poor AFL culture. That is what will hurt them more than some stolen photos.

bulldogs10110

The serious downside of suing here would be that the controversy would be drawn out and all of their misdeeds would be perpetuated. This would obviously work very seriously to their detriment. Their behaviour doesn't bear scrutiny very well. On the other hand attributing rational motives to these people is perhaps a little off base.

I think they should think more long term. It doesn't really serve their interests to neglect their players' attitudes and allowing them to run amok like that.

On another note it I have been reading about the views in this thread about the anomalies in relation to ARL and AFL. I love AFL and have since a young age, so I am disappointed in the attitudes of the AFL. I hope that someone does write an opinion piece. If you ever want to be a guest blogger, or podcaster on pacelegal would love to hear from you. I went up to Queensland and noticed the difference in culture in terms of the level of scrutiny of players. It was quite a shock to me as I hadn't even been exposed to rugby league at all, having grown up as a one eyed victorian AFL fan.

Adele
Pacelegal

Noa

vlad and respect to women. , makes me want to puke. Seems in every case all he comes out with it excuses for the fwits playing the stupid fkn game

Rexxy

Adele, she stole the photos. They are private property. She wasn't even there when they were taken. What do you mean " players running amok"? One is a guy showing his wanga off to his mate, another is a guy pleasuring himself. Homo and dumb- but not criminal.

The serious downside of suing here would be that the controversy would be drawn out and all of their misdeeds would be perpetuated. This would obviously work very seriously to their detriment. Their behaviour doesn't bear scrutiny very well. On the other hand attributing rational motives to these people is perhaps a little off base.

I think they should think more long term. It doesn't really serve their interests to neglect their players' attitudes and allowing them to run amok like that.

On another note it I have been reading about the views in this thread about the anomalies in relation to ARL and AFL. I love AFL and have since a young age, so I am disappointed in the attitudes of the AFL. I hope that someone does write an opinion piece. If you ever want to be a guest blogger, or podcaster on pacelegal would love to hear from you. I went up to Queensland and noticed the difference in culture in terms of the level of scrutiny of players. It was quite a shock to me as I hadn't even been exposed to rugby league at all, having grown up as a one eyed victorian AFL fan.

Adele
Pacelegal

All Vlad cares about is the IMAGE..he uses it as a marketing tool ,a leverage tool to get gullible GOVTs to hand over money & to brainwash the already 3/4 braindead fans in Southern OZ.

But like all things that you advertise there comes a time when you have to back up your bullsh*t....& now it is being shown excatly how female friendly they are.

Sadly it will make little difference to the nutters down south who worship at the fumbleball altar.
But for those people up north that they think they can win over with their image campaign,they can see excatly what the AFL stands for..& it isn't female/family friendly.

bulldogs10110

Adele, she stole the photos. They are private property. She wasn't even there when they were taken. What do you mean " players running amok"? One is a guy showing his wanga off to his mate, another is a guy pleasuring himself. Homo and dumb- but not criminal.

She is alleged to have taken them. There are may fact in issue which are yet to be determined in a court of law to a legal standard.

Additionally there is also a potential question of whether she had implied permission to access the photos. Was Sam's laptop or the section he kept the photos in password protected, and if it wasn't, did he give anyone including her implied permission to access it and for what purposes? There is some case law on these issues.

Another problem with Sam is that his actions are tainted with illegality. He who seeks equitable relief must come to court with clean hands. If Sam took them is he guilty of upskirting vis the photos of Nick? Nick gave his permission PERHAPS, or perhaps not, after all he said he didn't give permission for the photos to be deleted, which indicates a problem with consent. So there may be a potential 'did Sam upskirt Nick' question or was Nick upskirted by a 17 year old girl. To sue her they have to prove that the photos were taken after the date the law changed and in Australia. First you have to establish clean ownership before you say that someone stole something.

Anyway the definition of theft includes the intention to deprive permanently. (another legal quandary)

You could say that Sam's actions were tainted by illegality vis Nicks' photo.

So there is a clean hands problem. He who seeks equitable relief must cum with clean hands to court (unfortunate language)

Sam may not have legal STANDING otherwise he mightn't be able to get up in court. After all it was Nick too that was standing at the time that the photo was standing.

Maybe Nick would have to be the one who would have to get up again in court this time fully clothed I would hope with his hand on the bible as opposed to ....obviously being prepared to know some woman in the biblical sense

What I am saying is that you can really imagine Sam playing footy for St Kilda for the next five years whilst these important questions are examined in microscopic detail as it winds its way through court.

Doga

How many 16/17 year old girls have you given access to your PC? What was she doing there in the first place?

applesauce

How many 16/17 year old girls have you given access to your PC? What was she doing there in the first place?

And more to the point if she is a troubled as they make her out to be (to help discredit her through the media) why do they need to drag her through the court system?

They don't need money?

All it is doing is keeping it in the news and showing how petty they are when they are pushed.

bulldogs10110

And more to the point if she is a troubled as they make her out to be (to help discredit her through the media) why do they need to drag her through the court system?

They don't need money?

All it is doing is keeping it in the news and showing how petty they are when they are pushed

Their line is very consistent and I find their response smacks of desparation and defensivenss that it going to backfire seriously.

Demtriou claims how supportive he has been of this girl and how much he wanted and tried to help her, whilst Lewin says he'd be delighted to have her on a legal leash for 15 years.

I don't buy it. I think it is part of a broader media campaign to ingrain the perception that she is a lawbreaker/troublemaker/culprit. She is the only one with the problem or "issues".

They havn't apologised or indicated that they have any failings. They seem to be indicating she is the only source of the problem. Only a few ambassadors of football, namely Phil Clearly have come out in support of her.

Rexxy

i see it a bit simpler than that. And again, we need to separate the moral arguments from the legal.

She is alleged to have taken them. There are may fact in issue which are yet to be determined in a court of law to a legal standard.

The photos were said to taken in Miami USA, at an end of year trip. The room background and the content suggest that to be true. the photos were obtained from Sams computer, when she say them and emailed them to herself.

Additionally there is also a potential question of whether she had implied permission to access the photos. Was Sam's laptop or the section he kept the photos in password protected, and if it wasn't, did he give anyone including her implied permission to access it and for what purposes? There is some case law on these issues.

If i say you can use my laptop doesnt mean you can steal whats on it. And then publish it. It would be the same for an excel spreadsheet or word doc.

Another problem with Sam is that his actions are tainted with illegality. He who seeks equitable relief must come to court with clean hands. If Sam took them is he guilty of upskirting vis the photos of Nick? Nick gave his permission PERHAPS, or perhaps not, after all he said he didn't give permission for the photos to be deleted, which indicates a problem with consent. So there may be a potential 'did Sam upskirt Nick' question or was Nick upskirted by a 17 year old girl. To sue her they have to prove that the photos were taken after the date the law changed and in Australia. First you have to establish clean ownership before you say that someone stole something.

Clean hands ? I get the attempted pun, but these photos arent pornographic or ilegal. One guy pleasuring himself, and another standing naked with a another guy near by. Maybe they are lewd. They are certainly immature and a bit homo but whose business is that? Its hardly the same as someone taking photos up skirt. At this point, Im thinking you havent seen the pictures...Its clear that the Nick one was posed.

Anyway the definition of theft includes the intention to deprive permanently. (another legal quandary) You could say that Sam's actions were tainted by illegality vis Nicks' photo. So there is a clean hands problem. He who seeks equitable relief must cum with clean hands to court (unfortunate language) Sam may not have legal STANDING otherwise he mightn't be able to get up in court. After all it was Nick too that was standing at the time that the photo was standing.

Not once have you addresses the issue of copyright. She did not take the photo, she is not the copyright owner, she cannot publish that content without permission of the owner. I cant say I am the writer of the song Hey Jude just because I stole the sheet music from a friend's nans' pianola.

Maybe Nick would have to be the one who would have to get up again in court this time fully clothed I would hope with his hand on the bible as opposed to ....obviously being prepared to know some woman in the biblical sense

can you please post a link to any article that suggests that Nick and the girl were involved? She never claims they were intimate or that they knew each other in the biblical sense. She says she only met him once in public, getting on the team bus.

What I am saying is that you can really imagine Sam playing footy for St Kilda for the next five years whilst these important questions are examined in microscopic detail as it winds its way through court.

I think it will all be shut down when they ascertain the girl didn't take the photos. And wasnt there when they were taken.

And as a society maybe we will come to the conclusion what consenting adults do in the privacy of their own homes doesn't require judgments from the chattering and twittering classes or belong on TV or in newspapers.

Now as a test for the right to publish the pics, here's the thing. If the pics are posted here bulldogs10110, should they be left up or taken down? El Diablo would sent enough infractions to give me an infarction

So was there a photo of Reiwoldt pleasuring himself?

Poor blighter. No wonder he is worried.

It's weird how the Monaghan photo was circulated everywhere, yet these photos have vanished after initially being posted.