Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Another billionaire wants to buy us...

That's a cool story bro.

How anyone could want to go private ownership again is beyond me.

I'd much rather be a club that just lives within its means, and is welly run.

But hey if we want another circus.

Do you just not read anything on this issue at all? The NRL don't want the members in control! They stopped the members club from exercising the buyback clause. What you're talking about is a myth, a dream. It's an impossibility from our current position.

The NRL want us privately owned and well run. I don't believe we will ever be run as anything other than a chook raffle club without private ownership. Private ownership works and is the norm in professional sport, we just got sold a dud. We even knew it might be a dud.

You're living in a past that doesn't exist anymore.

Nuffy

If this has any basis in fact and who knows, but it might make Wests get a little more active.

They just seem to have fallen off the radar.

The reality is that the NRL will sell the club to whomever they wish and the successful bidder will have the deepest pockets.

Noname36

My concern about this isn't really that we were burnt with Tinkler. He was clearly a different kettle of fish that didn't know how to run a RL club. He was asset rich but cash flow poor and it's impossible to run a business like this that way when people need to be paid regularly.

My concern is that a foreign owner probably wouldn't have much of an understanding of the club and we need a management that's going to help us reconnect to the community following Tinkler...not one that's going to rip it further away.

TheRam

I think this could be very good for the Knights, but I also think that if you own a NRL team, you should NOT be allowed to own any other 1st division RL team in the world.

Conflict of interest is to great either way. It should be part of any deal, if he wants the Knights, he needs to off load the Devils. That way all his focus and devotion is on one organization and no player shenanigans or neglecting of one club over another. Total commitment or nothing.

Koukash is flamboyant but he is not an idiot. Unlike Tinkler he does not gamble his fortune. he invests a big part of it in racing but he has been very very successful and is the top horse owner in the UK.Yes he splurges cash on horses but he is in a totally different league to the Bogan. He is intelligent and has a nicer persona to start with. he has a engineering degree and is a Professor. He started out with a property and corporate training business. he is also visible to the fans. He loves to be noticed. A bit rock star like. I always had issues with Tinkler's desire to hide from any form of accountability until the debt collectors kicked in his door.

[URL="https://www.facebook.com/goPattty?fref=ufi" said:
Pat Moreau[/URL] on Facebook]
my friends we need to get rid of Bennett he is not worth every cent for what we pay for him, lets bring joey home to newcastle and let Jennifer Hawkins buy the club, they started here and we made them into who they r today together we can all re build the club once Bennett goes and be a strong dominant voice I'm the nrl and hopefully bring a premiership home to Newcastle

I should cut you a bit of slack, Baron. All this post was missing was the obligatory GO THE KNIGHTS at the end... which he of course achieved in his previous post on the thread.

... and Bushy, cut me some slack. I wrote that on my phone whilst... occupied.

Do you just not read anything on this issue at all? The NRL don't want the members in control! They stopped the members club from exercising the buyback clause. What you're talking about is a myth, a dream. It's an impossibility from our current position.

The NRL want us privately owned and well run. I don't believe we will ever be run as anything other than a chook raffle club without private ownership. Private ownership works and is the norm in professional sport, we just got sold a dud. We even knew it might be a dud.

You're living in a past that doesn't exist anymore.

That's nice.

My stance doesn't change.

The words Matty used are "he is absolutely desperate to buy the Newcastle Knights" and will do whatever it takes to appease the Newcastle fans to win their trust. Apparently Koukash has made his intentions known to the NRL and wants to start the buyout as early as next week! Go to Triple M page to see the Matty Johns sound bite. matty to interview him this week hopefully.

I really do believe private ownership is our only hope of ever being more than also rans. If it is fair dinkum all this it will be interesting to see what Bennett does if indeed Marwan still wants to keep him around. I bet he has big re think about leaving.

Pat Moreau[/URL] on Facebook]
my friends we need to get rid of Bennett he is not worth every cent for what we pay for him, lets bring joey home to newcastle and let Jennifer Hawkins buy the club, they started here and we made them into who they r today together we can all re build the club once Bennett goes and be a strong dominant voice I'm the nrl and hopefully bring a premiership home to Newcastle

:-s
#-o#-o
](*,)](*,)

Hello, I'm The Doctor

If this has any basis in fact and who knows, but it might make Wests get a little more active.

They just seem to have fallen off the radar.

The reality is that the NRL will sell the club to whomever they wish and the successful bidder will have the deepest pockets.

I actually imagine they will give it to the people with proven business skills (which is only SOMETHINGS the person with the biggest bank account).

It wouldnt matter if they personally make $50k a year or $10mil, ideally they shouldnt be putting ANY of their own money in. You want the people that can create independent revenue (sponsors, membership, assets, ect).

That was the problem with Tinks; he made his money in stocks. I doubt he had ever set up a business himself, just backed the right people to do it for him. Hell, he couldnt even find a major sponsor in the 3 years he was in control!!!

Compare that to Russel Crowe, who hasnt put money into Souths for a few years now, because his business model has them at the point that they can fund themselves.

Thats why id have faith in this guy; his Wiki page says he's got a PHD, was a director of a faculty at an English University and he founded his own multi-million dollar business. That the kind of resume Tinks needed but didnt have....

Hello, I'm The Doctor

That's a cool story bro.

How anyone could want to go private ownership again is beyond me.

I'd much rather be a club that just lives within its means, and is welly run.

But hey if we want another circus.

Do you honestly believe this is mutually exclusive with private ownership???

Or mutually assured with public ownership?!?!!?

Yosh

WB must be spewing. If he just waited another week he might have stayed on and doubled his pay check lol