Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Another Straw to Clutch at: Bennett Rumour Resurfaces.

Ritzley

Sooo in true Bennett fashion I would not be surprised at all to learn that the "leaker" of these rumours is one Wayne James Bennett - contract negater and negotiator extraordinaire. He's been told to depart Souths so he starts to look around at the weakest coaching link - the Dragons - in an effort to force Souths to let him go early WITH appropriate payout. Next step will be Bennett "strenuously denying the rumour" (I'm not going anywhere I have a contract to honour), then when the Dragons do nibble at the hook it will be onto "Souths are blocking me leaving" (the start of the payout process) followed at the end by complete turmoil about whether Jason will be or won't be head coach next year thus forcing Souths payout hand to clean up the mess.

hazzbeen

Sooo in true Bennett fashion I would not be surprised at all to learn that the "leaker" of these rumours is one Wayne James Bennett - contract negater and negotiator extraordinaire. He's been told to depart Souths so he starts to look around at the weakest coaching link - the Dragons - in an effort to force Souths to let him go early WITH appropriate payout. Next step will be Bennett "strenuously denying the rumour" (I'm not going anywhere I have a contract to honour), then when the Dragons do nibble at the hook it will be onto "Souths are blocking me leaving" (the start of the payout process) followed at the end by complete turmoil about whether Jason will be or won't be head coach next year thus forcing Souths payout hand to clean up the mess.
Yep defiantly an old sly bugger , for me he is not all he makes out he is , he is all about Bennett and money .... Well good luck to him , I for one don't care if he comes or not .....

merahputih

You can add "Master Media Manipulator "to the list.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

FMD a concrete slab & plastic dunny - very modern.

But brings back memories

I remember walking 60m from the verandah of the old house in Parkes to an earthen floor dunny parked on the edge of the gravel laneway so the ‘honeycart’ blokes could pick up the full metal can with its cracked wooden seat that did have occasional red backs.
A scarey walk at night with the steam trains shunting by the silos across the valley.

....and the Dragons won every year in those halcyon days

In the early 70's, l stayed at Forbes for several days and the outdoor dunny wasn't unlike this model.
1edca5be99b4de15a6026a6a22efa612.jpg

If its not a rumor then it fits Bennett to the retirement village of players at the end of their career's , he might as well join the club and see his time out ..... I'd rather flick Mary , let Flanno take over as care taker if possible , or put someone else's head there and let Flanno run it .....
Righ now Flanagan could not take over as head coach in 2021. So unless this changes, the Bennett return is our best option. Give him a 3 year deal with a KPI that says he must make the top 4 in years two and three. I fully support a Bennett return because being a former SGI head coach, a proven winner and a magnet for players with the ability to improve some on our roster.

hazzbeen

Righ now Flanagan could not take over as head coach in 2021. So unless this changes, the Bennett return is our best option. Give him a 3 year deal with a KPI that says he must make the top 4 in years two and three. I fully support a Bennett return because being a former SGI head coach, a proven winner and a magnet for players with the ability to improve some on our roster.
If and if Flanno could take over I'd rather him than Bennett , we need to move on try something new ....

Dragsters

Ok, I confess, this is all my doing.

About 9 months back I was driving through the heart of rabbit territory, I stopped at a red light and looked up to see Uncle Wayne pressing the pedestrian cross button (back when you actually could without fear of death), so I drop my passenger window and say "G'day Wayne, welcome back to Sydney" to which he responded, "thanks mate". I then thought it best to clarify my allegiance by saying, "I'm life-long dragons fan so I am eternally indebted to you for the 2010 premiership" to which he smiled and said "Thanks mate, it was a great time."

So with that confession you can plainly see that I am the reason he wants to come back...

(Removes tongue from cheek)

Mark D

Agree 100%...

redandwhite4evr

Agree re Bennett, at age 70 is at the end of his career but he would still be a massive upgrade on McRigormortis. At least Bennett still has the aura to attract top players.

While it's true that anybody with a heartbeat would be an upgrade on he who refuses to quit, I worry that Wayne may have peaked and be on an accelerating slide down the other side. His bizarre player and positional selections with the Great Britain/England team before his axeing and his poor judgement in chasing Mitchell at the expense of Adam Douehi, makes me wonder if he's lost his touch.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

While it's true that anybody with a heartbeat would be an upgrade on he who refuses to quit, I worry that Wayne may have peaked and be on an accelerating slide down the other side. His bizarre player and positional selections with the Great Britain/England team before his axeing and his poor judgement in chasing Mitchell at the expense of Adam Douehi, makes me wonder if he's lost his touch.

Waynes always liked a quick fix, hence the reason he targets proven players to stop gap a problem which can be detrimental but his issues are water of a ducks back compared to McIdiot.

if Bennett goes back to you guys, Flanno will be as gone as Mary, There is an intense dislike between Wayne and Shane.
Whoever said about Dean Young training under the master is spot on if this rumour is true