Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anzac TV war between codes

chrisc101

It's a great point, the NRL at the next negotiations has to unsure that they get a fair go in news coverage. For gods sake it is 51% of the population!!!

For the sake of clarity - it will be broadcast at the following times throughout Australia:

NSW & ACT - live from 3:30pm
QLD - live from 3:30pm
VIC - delayed from midnight
SA - delayed from midnight
TAS - delayed from midnight
NT - live from 3:30pm
WA - delayed from midnight

parano1a

For the sake of clarity - it will be broadcast at the following times throughout Australia:

Appalling national coverage for the NATIONAL Rugby League. Perhaps Gallop should consider renaming it the NSWQRL or the NSWQNZRL?

_snafu_

tbh I'm surprised that it's being shown live in NT. I thought fumbleball was the preferred game there.

Goddo

^ no its not. I have a mate who was born and bred NT'ian, and he recons there is a very strong following of RL there, but also of AFL. Its probably a 50/50 split tbh.

Panfas

That really is pathetic coverage. On a side note, it will be shown at 3pm in regional WA on Win.

undertaker

Like docbrown has mentioned in another thread, although I don't have much hope this will happen in the next tv rights deal, I'd love to see certain fixtures on FTA. These should be marketed as "events":

Good Friday
Easter Sunday
Easter Monday
ANZAC day
Queen's Birthday Holiday

The ANZAC clashes - Dragons/Roosters and Storm/Warriors - should both be on FTA. The Storm would rate very well in Melbourne. Furthermore, I'd love to see the Storm/Warriors game alternate venues every year. I'd love to see it played in NZ as well, but highly doubt that will happen as tv broadcasters would prefer the 7pm primetime slot over a 2pm AET (4pm NZ) timeslot.

Good Friday this year comprises of Souffs/Bulldogs and Tigers/Broncos. Souffs/Bulldogs I agree should stay. Tigers/Broncos though....meh....I'm not sold on that one as the evening match.

I'd love to see an Easter Monday afternoon match. In 2010, Knights/Panthers was played in the arvo. And who could forget the successful ones of 1993 and 1994 at a sold-out Belmore Sports Ground?

This is where the AFL leaves us for dead. The NRL and whoever gets the rights need to be more proactive in ensuring us that these matches get national exposure.

undertaker

8? In my estimates the AFL have been showing live Saturday arvo Aussie Rules for over the last 30 Years! What a joke and we jump up and down at how wonderful we are at the prospect at ONE live game. Unbelieveable.

Growing up in a RL mad area (Hunter region) in the '90s, even in the days before AFL suckups like Eddie McGuire dominated our tv screens and before you heard of ppl like Andrew Demetriou/Vlad, Prime (local affiliate of Ch7) gave AFL more than its fair share of exposure in the Hunter to the few supporters who reside there. I remember that we always got the Saturday arvo and Sunday arvo game live - sometimes even getting 2 AFL games on Sunday (12:30-6pm)!. Hell, we even got the Sunday AFL Footy Show (shown after Sportsworld) from Melbourne that was hosted by Rex Hunt! Those ppl who are older than me and live in NSW/QLD could probably tell me what the situation was with AFL coverage before the mid-90s.

All of this whilst Ch9 stopped showing Sunday games from mid '96 to end of '97, which meant the only time we ever saw Sunday arvo footy during that time was when the Knights played an away game covered by Optus or NBN, and it was shown on 1hr delay by NBN at 4pm. I guess we were lucky, like the Broncos, having non-Ch9 games covered (although the Broncos had this privilege up till 2006; Knights until early 2003). The Sydney folk would've only been able to see Sunday footy through Optus.

Ch7/Prime - before they lost the rights in 2001 (After they got it back in 2007, they started screwing AFL fans over) - did so much more for AFL than Ch9 did for rugby league over the period of time I've made reference to (1995-2001). The fact is that the small handful of AFL supporters who lived in the Hunter definitely cannot complain about not getting fair media exposure.

docbrown

Like docbrown has mentioned in another thread, although I don't have much hope this will happen in the next tv rights deal, I'd love to see certain fixtures on FTA. These should be marketed as "events":

Good Friday
Easter Sunday
Easter Monday
ANZAC day
Queen's Birthday Holiday

The ANZAC clashes - Dragons/Roosters and Storm/Warriors - should both be on FTA. The Storm would rate very well in Melbourne. Furthermore, I'd love to see the Storm/Warriors game alternate venues every year. I'd love to see it played in NZ as well, but highly doubt that will happen as tv broadcasters would prefer the 7pm primetime slot over a 2pm AET (4pm NZ) timeslot.

Good Friday this year comprises of Souffs/Bulldogs and Tigers/Broncos. Souffs/Bulldogs I agree should stay. Tigers/Broncos though....meh....I'm not sold on that one as the evening match.

I'd love to see an Easter Monday afternoon match. In 2010, Knights/Panthers was played in the arvo. And who could forget the successful ones of 1993 and 1994 at a sold-out Belmore Sports Ground?

This is where the AFL leaves us for dead. The NRL and whoever gets the rights need to be more proactive in ensuring us that these matches get national exposure.

They've dropped the ball on this one. As you've said, sell them as 'events', give them a sense of familiarity and people will get into the habit of attending.

I mean what do we really do with the Canberra Raiders with Anzac Day? Seems odd that the team in the capital doesn't really capitalise on that...

If there ever is a Wellington team, I wouldn't mind seeing a Wellington vs Canberra match played around that time.

Also Cowboys have a massive army population? Surely ANZAC time is an opportunity to capitalise on that.

I mean these are just a couple of examples but there's so many opportunities that the NRL are just underutilising.

And I'll say it again - all of these changes need to be inked in the TV contract or the contract needs to be flexible enough so that the NRL has enough control to make these changes later on.

carlosthedwarf

It always annoyed me that on a public holiday (especially a Monday) that there would be afl on fta but not NRL. There is so much opportunity here but it seems no one wants to take a chance.

docbrown

Growing up in a RL mad area (Hunter region) in the '90s, even in the days before AFL suckups like Eddie McGuire dominated our tv screens and before you heard of ppl like Andrew Demetriou/Vlad, Prime (local affiliate of Ch7) gave AFL more than its fair share of exposure in the Hunter to the few supporters who reside there. I remember that we always got the Saturday arvo and Sunday arvo game live - sometimes even getting 2 AFL games on Sunday (12:30-6pm)!. Hell, we even got the Sunday AFL Footy Show (shown after Sportsworld) from Melbourne that was hosted by Rex Hunt! Those ppl who are older than me and live in NSW/QLD could probably tell me what the situation was with AFL coverage before the mid-90s.

All of this whilst Ch9 stopped showing Sunday games from mid '96 to end of '97, which meant the only time we ever saw Sunday arvo footy during that time was when the Knights played an away game on Optus/NBN, and was shown on 1hr delay at 4pm. I guess we were lucky, like the Broncos, having non-Ch9 games covered. The Sydney folk would've only been able to see Sunday footy through Optus.

Ch7/Prime - before they lost the rights in 2001 (After they got it back in 2007, they started screwing AFL fans over) - did so much more for AFL than Ch9 did for rugby league over the period of time I've made reference to (1995-2001). The fact is that the small handful of AFL supporters who lived in the Hunter definitely cannot complain about not getting fair media exposure.

Damn straight.

docbrown

It always annoyed me that on a public holiday (especially a Monday) that there would be afl on fta but not NRL. There is so much opportunity here but it seems no one wants to take a chance.

Clubs need to be proactive about it too. This all comes down to marketing.

Rather than necessarily wait for the NRL to have vision, a club or two clubs should go to the NRL and present their plan.

What's with undertaker bumping random years-old threads? :lol:

Agree on his point though.

docbrown

Well throwing this one open to the forum -

Does anyone have any (serious) suggestions for which games should be fixed in place and when?

For example -

Your club's big rivalry games
Your club's highest drawing games
Scheduling for weather
Synchronising with other events
etc