Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

April off season

Ron Swanson

Wow - I never thought of it that way.

We should have an NRL free weekend every three weeks. That way, you keep your car washed and your lawn mowed.

Brainless f*ckwit!!!!!!!!

I'm sorry, I have so much to learn from you DrownedRat.

By your brilliant Marketing logic, we should be playing NRL every week of the year. No breaks, people will forget about Rugby League's existence otherwise!!!!!

cleary89

Boring as bat shit. Watched a couple of games of AFL, Union and the soccer final. Hope all the guys who called for the rep weekend off were as bored as I was.

If origin becomes stand alone I will be f**king pissed off.

I'm sorry, I have so much to learn from you DrownedRat.

By your brilliant Marketing logic, we should be playing NRL every week of the year. No breaks, people will forget about Rugby League's existence otherwise!!!!!
Never head of an offseason? I bet you put up heaps of shelves in the laundry between October and March.

Seriously though, we have to do more to elevate Test Footy in the grand scheme of things.

The Kiwis are now a serious challenger and we really need to package a 3 match series against them just like the old days. Whether that's every year or every two years, who knows.
Just like they did when Glebe and Annandale were around dumbass? :lol:

The whole problem stems from the old days (which Brutus instinctively hates) when we had the old Anzac tests. In typical RL fashion - everything gets watered down and tinkered with and the original ideas behind everything is forgotten. As someone else said on another thread, we had a stand alone Origin a few years back, and everyone hated the idea. That is forgotten.

I have no problem with making Anzac Day a day for club rivalries to honor the occasion, but it has pushed the test out of the way. We also has tests after origin, which allowed the Aussies to develop great cohesion in a way NZ couldnt - and we racked up big scores. Another innovation -October/November Tri Nations added to the demise, and basically replaced test football. I like the Tri Nations, but fiddling morphed it into a far more useless Quad Nations. But three test series would be great if it could be managed away from October. When was our last 3 test series against the Poms again?

Grapple

LOL@ people getting angry because the league isn't on. You might have a little bit too much invested in it if you're getting mood swings without it. Maybe get another hobby to fill the void?

How good was it when we looked forward to who made the Aussie test team after the Origin series???

I'm off to watch a video of Cumberland Oval's greatest moments.

Well if the weekden looked like this nobody would be complaining.

NZ Vs Aus - Friday night
Tonga Vs Samoa - Saturday afternoon Paramata
PNG Vs Fiji - Saturday in Nth QLD
City Country Sunday arvo
U20s SOO - Sunday Night

Only problem with this is that I want u20s SOO in Townsville next year so that couldent be played on a Sunday night.

So you loved the no NRL weekend, but want the test moved until after Origin?

All because you get sh*tty over some moron reporter and his Fourex-esqu Queensland wank in the f*cking Courier Mail?

Maybe if you didnt immerse yourself in such rubbish like reading AFL articles or Queensland versions of Danny Weidler...........:lol:

BTW Grapple - the cricket aint on. What other hobbies can you reccommend?

All because you get sh*tty over some moron reporter and his Fourex-esqu Queensland wank in the f*cking Courier Mail?

Maybe if you didnt immerse yourself in such rubbish like reading AFL articles or Queensland versions of Danny Weidler...........:lol:

Did I say I loved the the no NRL weekend?

My main aim was to have a dig at you. Obviously that came across as me not liking the non-NRL weekend.

I'm with you baby. Bring back the 3 tests post-origin and scrap the no NRL weekend.

I want Tests to take centre stage and not be reported as some pre-cursor to Origin.

Glebe 7 d Cumberland 3 Rnd 4 1908. Great game. I'll send you a copy Loudy. Cumberland Oval looked great. We should play Grand Finals there...

Grapple

Well, I enjoy going for a surf but I have no idea what you're into...

I LOVE rugby league as much as the next guy, but to be honest, apart from a few games this year I just get bored with some of the shit in our game, the wrestling in tackles, predictable attack, whinging to the refs every play the ball, etc...
I know i'm probably a minority but I thought it was good to see a quality test match and nothing else for a change this weekend. (sadly didn't get to watch CvC)

Hopefully the break does some good for the upcoming round and my interest will come back.

seaeagle sam

Healthy for the players I suppose but not being able to follow my team sucks dogs' balls. I even hate having to wait till Monday night.

seaeagle sam

Well, I enjoy going for a surf but I have no idea what you're into...

I LOVE rugby league as much as the next guy, but to be honest, apart from a few games this year I just get bored with some of the shit in our game, the wrestling in tackles, predictable attack, whinging to the refs every play the ball, etc...
I know i'm probably a minority but I thought it was good to see a quality test match and nothing else for a change this weekend. (sadly didn't get to watch CvC)

Hopefully the break does some good for the upcoming round and my interest will come back.

you should follow the sea eagles then.

cleary89

Stop reading the tele and listening to gus and rabs grapple and you will enjoy it much more and not think of all that shit.

Did I say I loved the the no NRL weekend?

My main aim was to have a dig at you. Obviously that came across as me not liking the non-NRL weekend.
No. It simply came across as you looking like a twat.

I'm with you baby. Bring back the 3 tests post-origin and scrap the no NRL weekend.

I want Tests to take centre stage and not be reported as some pre-cursor to Origin.[/QUOTE]
United we stand!

Glebe 7 d Cumberland 3 Rnd 4 1908. Great game. I'll send you a copy Loudy. Cumberland Oval looked great. We should play Grand Finals there...
Love to see what video recorder you would have used in 1908......

Stop reading the tele and listening to gus and rabs grapple and you will enjoy it much more and not think of all that shit.
:clap::clap:

Even RL at it's worst is far better than anything else.

I'm also wondering how successfully Grapple surfs on Saturday nights?

franklin2323

8 games you are enjoying NOT watching?

Again - I laugh at morons who want England to reorganise its' game to fill in our stupid f*ckups.

Exactly. yesterday ABC radio had AFL & Stupid 15 in place of League. Those codes loved it. 60% of players did bugger all. Yeah worked well

Grapple

you should follow the sea eagles then.

Watmough and his "six again" calls would drive me nuts! :lol:

I don't read the tele and Gus and Rabs are still miles ahead of the kiwi commentators here, but it's just hard to ignore some of the stuff. I don't hate the game at all - still probably up there as one of my favourite sports - I just can go without it every now and then, and one weekend with a pretty good test match (and a NSW trial game) is not a big deal. I would've thought it wasn't a big deal to most fans?!

It is a free hit weekend to leagues rivals

Its footy season and its ridiculous to postpone it for a week

Grapple

:clap::clap:

Even RL at it's worst is far better than anything else.

I'm also wondering how successfully Grapple surfs on Saturday nights?

Well, most league here is at 9:30pm so either way i'm not sticking around waiting for the league on a sat or friday night.

Free hit weekend?

Some people are carrying on as if there's been no footy... :?