Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

April off season

lockyno1

Internationals are largely BORING...lets be honest here the pinnacle of our sport is winning a GRAND FINAL, or State of Origin. Leave the Internationals for post season where they don't completely stuff the season up, all the momentum the NRL had is diminished for stopping...but then you give the AFL/Union/Soccer a free hit at attracting crowds. We won't mention that there was no game in Sydney or Brisbane FFS!

Dogs Of War

Rep weekend 1:
Fri - ANZAC Test
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v PNG, Samoa v Tonga
Sun -City vs Country

Rep Weekend 2:
Fri - State of Origin 1
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v Samoa, PNG v Tonga
Sun - U20 NSW vs QLD 1

Rep Weekend 3:
Fri - SOO2
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v Tonga, PNG v Samoa
Sun - U20 NSW vs QLD 2

Rep Weekend 4:
Fri - SOO3
Sat - Pacific Cup Final
Sun - U20 NSW vs QLD 3

More test matches and Rep weekend will be huge.

Just made some additions, doubleheaders for the Pacific Cup matches, except for the final. 3 matches for the U20's which could then be broadcast on Channel 9 on Sunday which would be great for TV, and to ensure you get a crowd to those games, you could make it $5 extra for anyone who bought tickets to the Friday game. You just need to find a smaller venue while it's being built up, though you could have an undercard game of say a NSW Cup or QLD Cup game beforehand.

It would provide a massive boost for the International game as I believe you would see players nominating to play for the PI teams.

lockyno1

k
Just made some additions, doubleheaders for the Pacific Cup matches, except for the final. 3 matches for the U20's which could then be broadcast on Channel 9 on Sunday which would be great for TV, and to ensure you get a crowd to those games, you could make it $5 extra for anyone who bought tickets to the Friday game. You just need to find a smaller venue while it's being built up, though you could have an undercard game of say a NSW Cup or QLD Cup game beforehand.

It would provide a massive boost for the International game as I believe you would see players nominating to play for the PI teams.

Yuck, one game of U20's is plenty and it was pathetic quality, do we really need 3. My goodness if we have to have a CITY/COUNTRY and TEST match fine, but no more please, not during a season! I aint stopping a NRL season for some Pacific Island match that has no decent players!

Went to the movies with my kids........then came home in time to see just how far up shits creek you cockroach geniuss really are....:lol:

What'd you want?

RL 24/7....?

Maybe if you weren't such a c*ckhead and a miserable prick you might have something to share your life with other than your television.
Fourex, we have long passed the point where your intellect has dived far below the likes of Bunniesman. Im at a loss to work out which NRL timeslot was freed up for you to take your "kids" (does your sperm really work?) to the movies. Sunday Roast aint a NRL game btw.

I find it interesting to see all these people on an NRL forum who love it so much that they are campaigning not to have it! "I love a good steak, but unless you go vegan you are a miserable c*ckhead with sand in your vag":lol:

Wankers.

Hooch

Why cant you fix the **Image Removed. See guidelines for size limits** from your sig?

What are you on about ffs?

Not that I'm not enjoying watching Loudstrat spew bile everywhere, but I can't believe the NRL consented to dropping the regular comp for a weekend. It just dilutes the product and encourages people to watch soccer, even if the players like the break.

City/Country is a relic and will go soon, every year it loses a bit more credibility.

The rep weekend is a nice idea except that the games listed there are meaningless, no one cares about Tonga vs Russia, or whatever it is.

If we need a week off you'd think 7 weeks into the comp really isnt the best time for it...I know rep games are considered here as the main reason....but if we really need a week break youd think 8 weeks or so from seasons end would be the time to do it.

Much like the Roosters move to darwin, why the f**k do it in mid april....ahhh how about late July??

Dumb

I don’t like the stand alone weekend idea and personally I would scrap the mid season test altogether. I am a bit perplexed at those who suggest the pacific cup or games involving those nations to be played on the rep weekend. Who would actually watch it? They need to be played with the other internationals as curtain raisers to get proper exposure.

It should be the all stars in early Feb, trials from mid Feb. until early March and the NRL from mid March until the 1st weekend of October. CVC to be played 4 weeks before origin (mid-week if need be) and Origin in its usual spot. A 6 week long test season from Mid October until the end of November to wrap things up.

Simple.

I reckon the weekend off will whet fans' appetites, hopefully provide a crowd boost over the coming weeks, and probably a good referesher for players too.

AuDragon

Another whinge about missing one weekend of NRL.
People were watching the soccer GF... watch out they're going to steal our audiences! :crazy:

Uh wait... Isn't the A-League a summer competition?

I think Anzac day should be moved to somewhere in October/November, so the Anzac test can be played after the NRL season is finished too.

So glad the NRL isn't in hands of idiots like Loudrelic!

Parraren

Another whinge about missing one weekend of NRL.
People were watching the soccer GF... watch out they're going to steal our audiences! :crazy:

Uh wait... Isn't the A-League a summer competition?

I think Anzac day should be moved to somewhere in October/November, so the Anzac test can be played after the NRL season is finished too.

So glad the NRL isn't in hands of idiots like Loudrelic!

Ha ha well said.

Seriously some panic merchants in here that need to get a life.

There are things to do on a weekend other than just sit on your arse and watch football...

The 'free kick' turned out to be a non-issue if anything judging by the other code crowd results the A-League had it's grand final so a big crowd was expected the other code crowds consindering the 'free kick' RL gave them failed to capitalize if anything.

Q-clash: 21,980
Queensland Reds: 31,479
Roar: 50k (Grand final) though.
Waratahs: 17k
Swans:21,049

A free kick would of result in a massive increase in the crowds mentioned but it doesn't looking forward to regular programming but I didn't mind the representative footy.

tangalife

I like the week off idea but they should fill it with some more games. The test should then be played on a Saturday night or Sunday as a main event with the other games leading it up to it. it should be promoted as a international weekend. Keep all games televised

cleary89

Lol at giving people shit for wanting to watch the footy whilst posting on a footy forum. The get a life line doesnt really work.

AuDragon

Lol at giving people shit for wanting to watch the footy whilst posting on a footy forum. The get a life line doesnt really work.
Yes, because enjoying a debate or 2 on a footy forum is equal to having no life outside of footy... :sarcasm:

Pierced Soul

i think we should have 3 games played every day, each game going 8 hours so we're never without league on telly. bugger the quality we just want footy.

i'm sick of seeing games where half the players are stood down or forced to backup 3 days later. when i watch a club game i want all available players to be able to play not see half of brisbane take on half of melb.

so there were no club games on for one weekend..big f**king deal. if it means we get to see test match footy given the attention it deserves then its a positive. if it means we're not making our elite players back up 2 days later its a positive thing

The atmosphere of the City v Country game rivalled the atmosphere of a hall full of dead people.

That's what I gathered watching the rubbish on TV.

gUt

The place was packed mate, plus I don't see where they would have been able to set up the crowd mics. I saw plenty of people cheering.