Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

April off season

Watmough and his "six again" calls would drive me nuts! :lol:

I don't read the tele and Gus and Rabs are still miles ahead of the kiwi commentators here, but it's just hard to ignore some of the stuff. I don't hate the game at all - still probably up there as one of my favourite sports - I just can go without it every now and then, and one weekend with a pretty good test match (and a NSW trial game) is not a big deathe main culpritl. I would've thought it wasn't a big deal to most fans?!

I disagree that gus and rabs are better than the kiwi commentators.

these two fools spent 2 sets of six talking about actors during today's game...tommy lee jones ect.. gus was the main culprit. the guy is a joke in the commentary box these days. he's great for panel shows though.

Ok. There was no footy in Sydney this weekend. We still have the same amount of rounds. We lose nothing. In fact, the season is dragged out LONGER. There's some minor temporary boredom and sooking from deadshits on internet forums.

Can someone please enlighten me on any of the losses that the NRL takes because of this weekend? Compared to the competitive benefits and crowd increases of full strength teams playing every round?

Ramp it up next year.

Rep weekend 1:
Fri - ANZAC Test
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v PNG, Samoa v Tonga
Sun -City vs Country

Rep Weekend 2:
Fri - State of Origin 1
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v Samoa
Sun - PNG v Tonga

Rep Weekend 3:
Fri - SOO2
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v Tonga
Sun - PNG v Samoa

Rep Weekend 4:
Fri - SOO3
Sat - Pacific Cup Final

More test matches and Rep weekend will be huge.

Grapple

Hmm dunno bout that, I think Kiwi was off on safari rock climbing or white water rafting, you know....living life.

Who would've thought someone could both be an avid league fan AND do other things on the weekend... Madness!

I disagree that gus and rabs are better than the kiwi commentators.

these two fools spent 2 sets of six talking about actors during today's game...tommy lee jones ect.. gus was the main culprit. the guy is a joke in the commentary box these days. he's great for panel shows though.

Fair enough. I just don't know one single NRL fan in NZ who thinks that way. We all collectively rejoiced at home when we found out we had the option on Friday night to change commentary to Rabs and Co'.

Get off your couches! Friday night I watched a great Test match game with a few beers down the pub, Saturday I went down to the local club and watched a quality local comp game, today I enjoed watching Country fight back in a decent enough game. What's this no footy this weekend BS? The game goes well beyond just the NRL.

I would have enjoyed being able to watch some other test nations playing though as well.

Kungl's idea is spot on IMO... although I'd swap C v C and the Test, have the Test match on Sunday arvo.

I think the two games should have been switched around. City - Country on Friday, and then build up to the test match on Sunday. Same with stand alone weekend SOO games if they ever happen, you gotta leave the main event till last and let the anticipation carry through the weekend.

lockyno1

Was boring multiplied by 1000 with 3 or the most tedious games I have seen, if the scores were not close who would bother watching...they were such poor quality. At least I have the other sports anyway.

The viewing figures on Fri night topped the normal NRL game viewing figures didn't they? Good reminder to the TV execs the potential value of Int RL if they split the TV rights up.

Rep weekends only improves overall ratings. normally 9 would miss out on a friday night club game because of the ANZAC Test

Mr Fourex

BTW Grapple - the cricket aint on. What other hobbies can you reccommend?

Here's an idea ....... get a life, you pathetic whining crybaby.

Was boring multiplied by 1000 with 3 or the most tedious games I have seen, if the scores were not close who would bother watching...they were such poor quality. At least I have the other sports anyway.

Three of the most tedious games you have seen....?

Aus V NZ was a good game to watch

The SOO u/20's game was a bit mehhh........still it had it's moments.

City V Country wasn't THAT bad. It was enjoying to see just how far off the pace most of the NSW numpties really are.

lockyno1

Three of the most tedious games you have seen....?

Aus V NZ was a good game to watch

The SOO u/20's game was a bit mehhh........still it had it's moments.

City V Country wasn't THAT bad. It was enjoying to see just how far off the pace most of the NSW numpties really are.

I can usually watch a game of anything...I fell asleep watching the city/country...it was ordinary, I watched 40 minutes of the U20's, then decided that I could enjoy walking my dogs more! The test match was ordinary, mind you it would have been better if the match was played at the right timeslot!

Ok. There was no footy in Sydney this weekend. We still have the same amount of rounds. We lose nothing. In fact, the season is dragged out LONGER. There's some minor temporary boredom and sooking from deadshits on internet forums.

Can someone please enlighten me on any of the losses that the NRL takes because of this weekend?
No league in Brisbane or Gold Coast to counteract the soccer GF for starters. It gives AFL and Union a free weekend of pubility with their major competitor falling asleep for a weekend. Not to mention no footy in the cities that house 11 million Australians.

Yeah we started a week early. Against cricket and handicapped f*cking greyhounds.

Rep weekend 1:
Fri - ANZAC Test
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v PNG, Samoa v Tonga
Sun -City vs Country

Rep Weekend 2:
Fri - State of Origin 1
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v Samoa
Sun - PNG v Tonga

Rep Weekend 3:
Fri - SOO2
Sat - Pacific Cup Fiji v Tonga
Sun - PNG v Samoa

Rep Weekend 4:
Fri - SOO3
Sat - Pacific Cup Final

More test matches and Rep weekend will be huge.
Funny - NRL free weekends are ok -but we have to stack it with league anyway. What's the f*cking point then?

Some of those options dont get funded now. Pacific Cup Final - wow. Typical insipid response from a latte sipping socialite Roosters supporter.

Here's an idea ....... get a life, you pathetic whining crybaby.
One that doesnt involve the best game for random weeks mid year? Like yours - cleaning servo sh*tters?

What did you do today? Your 50k service on your toilet brush?

Mr Fourex

One that doesnt involve the best game for random weeks mid year? Like yours - cleaning servo sh*tters?

What did you do today? Your 50k service on your toilet brush?

Went to the movies with my kids........then came home in time to see just how far up shits creek you cockroach geniuss really are....:lol:

What'd you want?

RL 24/7....?

Maybe if you weren't such a c*ckhead and a miserable prick you might have something to share your life with other than your television.

No league in Brisbane or Gold Coast to counteract the soccer GF for starters. It gives AFL and Union a free weekend of pubility with their major competitor falling asleep for a weekend. Not to mention no footy in the cities that house 11 million Australians.

Yeah we started a week early. Against cricket and handicapped f*cking greyhounds.

I'm more concerned with our competition than what other sports we may or may not be against. Isn't it you that's constantly saying who gives a f**k what the AFL is doing? The A League counteracts itself simply by existing anyway :lol:

Funny - NRL free weekends are ok -but we have to stack it with league anyway. What's the f*cking point then?

We get DIFFERENT competitions! Internationals! City v Country! It benefits the international game and the club competition doesn't get lumped with dud games missing 34 star players. Most sensible people would call it a win win situation...

Some of those options dont get funded now. Pacific Cup Final - wow.

Well the ARLC is soon to be flush with cash allegedly... fund the f**king thing, and do something worthwhile for the international game for once. The world doesn't end at New Zealand.

Typical insipid response from a latte sipping socialite Roosters supporter.

Socialite, that's a new one. I'm a Parra boy at heart Loudy, Greystanes Devils for life :cool: