Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

April off season

Dogs Of War

I don't care about Internationals- my only "care" for Internationals is that no Brisbane players get injured. In fact I was over the moon when Gillett didn't get picked as it was another player that may have got injured!

And that sum's up your argument well. As long as it doesn't impact Brisbane. You can allow Origin to impact the Bronco's cause you like that too. As for the rest of it, who cares.

Origin won't be on the weekend, stop pulling the other one, what a stupid idea, it rates through the roof on a Wednesday, we aint changing the time of State of Origin! There would be no market for an Island match, it would draw less than a Shute Shield match FFS!

I don't care about Internationals- my only "care" for Internationals is that no Brisbane players get injured. In fact I was over the moon when Gillett didn't get picked as it was another player that may have got injured!

No-one in their mind would choose an ordinary team especially if they are a chance for higher honours for Australia/New Zealand and England. Those 3 make the final 4 at the World Cup, every time. That is where the money is, fact is this is their job- they are not there to please you, they are there to provide for their family! So again you want to put on lets be honest a bunch of reserve graders on Fox...seriously, leave the matches till AFTER the season!

This is the type of thinking that holds our great game back.

International RL is one of the things we have over the AFL and IRL has a great potential to generate money.

I'm proud when I see Broncos players get named in Rep teams. There is more than 1 competion in Rugby League.

Again loudsook.....what exactly is the point of this massive cry of yours?

You only have FTA

Normally you'd watch 2 Friday night games (oh.....that's right, you probably only watch 1 of the Friday night games because you can't stand Brisbane)

and 1 Sunday arvo game

Last week-end......Friday night Test match. Sunday arvo C v C

Yeah....?

So in reality pea brain.......you haven't missed a fuggin thing .

STFU .......:crazy:

Poor old glebey. He's a funny old fellow. lol

This is the type of thinking that holds our great game back.

International RL is one of the things we have over the AFL and IRL has a great potential to generate money.

I'm proud when I see Broncos players get named in Rep teams. There is more than 1 competion in Rugby League.

Well said. aus v nz matches have the potential to be something really special on our calender if marketed well. Shoving the test match in before origin and having the f**khead media question whether it's a waste of time or not doesn't help.

Even if it's just a bi-annual thing - a 3-match series against the kiwis post origin is the way to go. And market the f**k out of it.

Yeah but what about the poor old car washers, gardeners and dog walkers? For each rep game you have tonhave an entire season of no NRL otherwise the Panther's ballboy might get overworked. You cant possibly make a ball boy back up without an entire weeks break.

People forget that Origin was created in 1980. In that era, the poms would come over for a 3 test ashes series mid year. Players would play a test on saturday, and first grade on Sunday.

Our modern, fitter players cant do that, cording to clubs and fans. Someone might beat the salary cap bending club that has lots of rep players ffs. When people realise that this is the best way in an imperfect world, we can get back to normal and not have these boring weekends where Brutus can sneak off to the rugger bugger with his labrador and his volvo.

franklin2323

I am all for more tests. However they would of recieved less publicity then the u20's SOO got. FSN was all AFL. The papers bugger all RL.

After the junior reps at Penrith. I turned on the radio GWS was on. Coming home the waratards on. Those sports loved it. We could of had a split round something like Bulldogs v Titans on Sat night. Sharks v Panthers The same night. those teams had minimal players in the rep teams

I am all for more tests. However they would of recieved less publicity then the u20's SOO got. FSN was all AFL. The papers bugger all RL.

After the junior reps at Penrith. I turned on the radio GWS was on. Coming home the waratards on. Those sports loved it. We could of had a split round something like Bulldogs v Titans on Sat night. Sharks v Panthers The same night. those teams had minimal players in the rep teams

Pretty standard.

Joker's Wild

Ya see, I dont get this argument at all really

Do we actually think that RL fans will suddenly jump ship to Union or AFL just because there are no club games on 1 weekend? People arnt going to suddenly think "Well Ive seen these sports before and didnt like them but now that theres no club League on the telly I suddenly find those to sports amazing and Im never going to watch League again"

If anything, having a weekend with no NRL will just highlight how crap the AFL and Super15 are to watch and make people appreciate having the NRL on telly again

Existing RL fans - no. Potential RL fans - real danger. When do Union, AFL or soccer give us a free weekend?

RL is a success largely because the ruling body (be it NRL, ARL, NSWRL, CRL, QRL or whoever) has provided wall to wall top shelf sport in greater saturation than anyone else in population centres from Group 20, Group 9 and Group 16 all the way up to Cape York and the Gulf Country. This has been boosted by a mid season rep calendar (once 3 test series againt GB, France and NZ, now C v C and Origin) and culminating in the final series which generally supplies some of Australia's greatest sporting moments - now thankfully including NZ and the little fort built out of piles of contracts in Melbourne. All capped off by a once bi-annual 5 test tour of the northern nations, now an annual series.

No matter what happened with Union, soccer or AR, the constant League presence has dominated since pre WWI. It's closest threats have been mid season Union test series which have been well hyped - you get that when a rival sports pinnacle coincides between your peaks.

This weekend, our game did not produce the normal amount of news items or events to cover as usual. Not only that, but the home and away pattern was interrupted. I remember times when for some reason there was no NRL games in Sydney on a Sunday - because of games in Brisbane, Townsville, Newcastle, Auckland, Canberra, Gold Coast or Melbourne. In these times the match schedulers copped the blowtorch of criticism.

I take my hat off to Queenslanders this week -the fact that their teams were suspended from playing to accommodate a NSW only affair has hardly been mentioned (yes, they might be thick lol). At least the Kiwis got a test. Melbournes constant struggle to keep 14000 locals onside in he face of the AFL onslaught was surely hobbled - ditto the Raiders battle against the Brumbies.

GWS got it's first weekend as the sole football team representing Western Sydney too. When Kelvin Sneezby proclaimed that a few years ago, he looked like the biggest village idiot of all time. How ironic that in this 'battle' for Western Sydney, the NRL made it come true for them. It's a bit like the Red Army giving the Wermacht the keys to the city of Stalingrad, a ticker tape parade, and a f*cking cake!!!!!!!

If the AFL wasnt such a f*cked sport run by egotistical spastics, they would have scheduled a GWS home game at ANZ and handed out free passes all over the place. The NRL left the front door open and are f*cking lucky that the plasma, the jewellery and the Motorhead boxed set aint been pinched.

bobmar28

Apart from a friday night game at a great Union ground in Auckland, and sunday arvo at Mudgee, this weekend has been a resounding victory for everything anti Rugby League.

Regardless of the self serving whinging of some clubs, coaches and the obligatory journalism where sensationalism replaces intellect, this weekend has been a disaster. If this is how we promote our code - by not having it, we are f*cked.

City v Country must stay. So must test footy. And so should the NRL. All should be played - and there should NEVER be a free weekend between the All Stars and Grand Final. Never.

Except for the massive TV ratings. Smashed AFL.

bobmar28

Except on Saturday...there is the point, it was an ordinary weekend!

Put something on Saturday. It can't be considered an ordinary weekend if NRL smashes AFL in the TV ratings. By the way the only difference was one game on Friday instead of 2. I don't have pay TV.

Joker's Wild

Existing RL fans - no. Potential RL fans - real danger. When do Union, AFL or soccer give us a free weekend?

RL is a success largely because the ruling body (be it NRL, ARL, NSWRL, CRL, QRL or whoever) has provided wall to wall top shelf sport in greater saturation than anyone else in population centres from Group 20, Group 9 and Group 16 all the way up to Cape York and the Gulf Country. This has been boosted by a mid season rep calendar (once 3 test series againt GB, France and NZ, now C v C and Origin) and culminating in the final series which generally supplies some of Australia's greatest sporting moments - now thankfully including NZ and the little fort built out of piles of contracts in Melbourne. All capped off by a once bi-annual 5 test tour of the northern nations, now an annual series.

No matter what happened with Union, soccer or AR, the constant League presence has dominated since pre WWI. It's closest threats have been mid season Union test series which have been well hyped - you get that when a rival sports pinnacle coincides between your peaks.

This weekend, our game did not produce the normal amount of news items or events to cover as usual. Not only that, but the home and away pattern was interrupted. I remember times when for some reason there was no NRL games in Sydney on a Sunday - because of games in Brisbane, Townsville, Newcastle, Auckland, Canberra, Gold Coast or Melbourne. In these times the match schedulers copped the blowtorch of criticism.

I take my hat off to Queenslanders this week -the fact that their teams were suspended from playing to accommodate a NSW only affair has hardly been mentioned (yes, they might be thick lol). At least the Kiwis got a test. Melbournes constant struggle to keep 14000 locals onside in he face of the AFL onslaught was surely hobbled - ditto the Raiders battle against the Brumbies.

GWS got it's first weekend as the sole football team representing Western Sydney too. When Kelvin Sneezby proclaimed that a few years ago, he looked like the biggest village idiot of all time. How ironic that in this 'battle' for Western Sydney, the NRL made it come true for them. It's a bit like the Red Army giving the Wermacht the keys to the city of Stalingrad, a ticker tape parade, and a f*cking cake!!!!!!!

If the AFL wasnt such a f*cked sport run by egotistical spastics, they would have scheduled a GWS home game at ANZ and handed out free passes all over the place. The NRL left the front door open and are f*cking lucky that the plasma, the jewellery and the Motorhead boxed set aint been pinched.

I understand your points mate but I still think the whole "We have given AFL a free kick" statement being thrown around is a bit wowserish. Potential fans still have had every chance to watch AFL on previous weekends and will have made their judgements on whether they want to follow that shitty sport well before last weekend. I really cant see anyone being pushed into the fumbleball camp on that alone.

Like I said before, it more than likely will make people appreciate the NRL more when it returns. God knows sitting through an AFL match would leave me chomping at the bit to be watching RL again

Hooch

You give one code exposure it comes at the expense of another.

I don't think it's wise from the administrations point of view to put up a very weak weekend of footy, in fact they were dead against this sort of thing a few years ago so I don't know who convinced them of this one. Maybe just another Gallop special.

Lockyer4President!

You give one code exposure it comes at the expense of another.

I don't think it's wise from the administrations point of view to put up a very weak weekend of footy, in fact they were dead against this sort of thing a few years ago so I don't know who convinced them of this one. Maybe just another Gallop special.

Papers said the players and coaches are all for the rep weekend.

AuDragon

I understand your points mate but I still think the whole "We have given AFL a free kick" statement being thrown around is a bit wowserish. Potential fans still have had every chance to watch AFL on previous weekends and will have made their judgements on whether they want to follow that shitty sport well before last weekend. I really cant see anyone being pushed into the fumbleball camp on that alone.

Like I said before, it more than likely will make people appreciate the NRL more when it returns. God knows sitting through an AFL match would leave me chomping at the bit to be watching RL again
Exactly!

If anything, yesterday's attendances at the SFS and AAMI Park prove that.

Having stand alone rep weekends can only contribute to improve the NRL, allowing fans to always see their teams at full strenght, and will give the players the necessary rest to perform at their best in every game, without the added risk of injury which always come with fatigue.

Pretty sure that a Storm-Broncos or Broncos-Manly with both teams at full strenght, will attract more people to the stadium and a higher audience for the broadcaster. It's a win-win!

Of course, there will be people who will argue all kinds of nonsense why this shouldn't happen. :roll:

And for those arguing we're giving free reign to the other codes, remember that with the extended season will also make up for weekends where the NRL is the sole code to watch, especially when compared to fumble ball and yawnion, since soccer can't really be considered competition.

Ya see, I dont get this argument at all really

Do we actually think that RL fans will suddenly jump ship to Union or AFL just because there are no club games on 1 weekend? People arnt going to suddenly think "Well Ive seen these sports before and didnt like them but now that theres no club League on the telly I suddenly find those to sports amazing and Im never going to watch League again"

If anything, having a weekend with no NRL will just highlight how crap the AFL and Super15 are to watch and make people appreciate having the NRL on telly again

Came in to post this. If people were previously stating that the NRL was getting stale and boring, yesterday's game after a round off, was probably a breath of fresh air. A mid-semester break, like something we have in uni, never does any harm imo

Put something on Saturday. It can't be considered an ordinary weekend if NRL smashes AFL in the TV ratings.
Why not?

By the way the only difference was one game on Friday instead of 2. I don't have pay TV.

2 games instead of 8.

Of course yesrerdays Chooks v Drqagons was great because no footy was played the weekend before - what crap! How many backed up from C v C 3 days before? The whole idea of a rep weekend was to eliminate the need for players to back up. Geez, that worked well didnt it.