Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

April off season

Mr Fourex

Internationals are largely BORING...lets be honest here the pinnacle of our sport is winning a GRAND FINAL, or State of Origin. Leave the Internationals for post season where they don't completely stuff the season up, all the momentum the NRL had is diminished for stopping...but then you give the AFL/Union/Soccer a free hit at attracting crowds. We won't mention that there was no game in Sydney or Brisbane FFS!

Easts played McKay in the QLD cup on Sunday in Brisbane at Langlands Park.

oh...it was televised on CH9 for QLD viewers

and Redcliffe played CQ Capras in Rocky.

So the crux of loudsooks whine here is.......there was only one game on Friday night instead of two

There was no NRL on Saturday night.....but you had the U/20's SOO to watch instead

and there was still the televised Sunday arvo game, except it was City V Country instead of the NRL

and if you are lucky enough to live in QLD you still got to see the QLD cup televised prior to C V C game.

The sky is falling ...the sky is falling. Seriously some of you need to harden the f*ck up :crazy:

cleary89

Lol at comparing qld cup to nrl. Next you will be suggesting we put on a tonga v samoa game to bring the viewers in. Yeh that will work!

docbrown

Lol at comparing qld cup to nrl. Next you will be suggesting we put on a tonga v samoa game to bring the viewers in. Yeh that will work!

I'm all for giving other nations more matches but it's the wrong time of year to be doing it. No network is going to stand idly by when you tell them you want to substitute Dragons vs Broncos with games like Tonga vs Fiji. Not just once but 4 times.

Those asking for 4 stand alone weekends also don't seem to realise that it would require starting to competition in the last week of February or cutting NRL games by 1 round or pushing the grand final back 1 week.

The NRL needs to continue through the rep season albeit in a smarter way.

*First week of March till first Sunday in October
* 24 games per club
* 2 byes during Origin and 1 other bye at some other time in the season
* Do smart scheduling so that byes are allocated in a logical manner (Warriors bye during Anzac test or NZ Origin etc)
* Set up a proper Pacific Cup every October-November except in World Cup years.

I'd actually bring in the 9th game and use it to offset the reduction to a 20 round comp. Stand alone SOO weekends and slightly shorter season to allow for more time for Internationals.

As said crowds drop, viewers drop and everyone bemoans the drop in quality of games druing Origin period anyway. Its easy to schedule a whole rep weekend with plenty of action to Televise and opportunities to view games.

docbrown

I'd actually bring in the 9th game and use it to offset the reduction to a 20 round comp.

Good luck convincing every NRL club to drop 2 home games.

You might get a similar number of TV games but you'd lose 36 games worth of gate receipts.

Lambretta

BTW Grapple - the cricket aint on. What other hobbies can you reccommend?

I'm glad we agree cricket is merely a hobby

Personally I didn't mind the two game weekend. Yes, in an ideal World we'd have had a full round, but the quality of each round played with a full compliment of top players is always preferable to a round with half of the top players backing up or missing.

How many rounds of football have we seen in the past where the Origin players are missing and the games are down on quality and people are moaning about players backing up? With two rep games being played, that would be twice as bad.

I'd rather have the semi break and have an additional round of proper quality Rugby League in the season as a whole.

I still managed to watch four games this weekend (I just finished watching Leeds v Catalans) thanks to Euro Sports showing the Super League - so overall I didn't seem to miss the league that much at all. Four games is pretty much what I usually watch on a weekend.

Lambretta

ooppsss, I watched five games as I watched the under 21's State of Origin and I've recorded Wakefield v Salford, so that makes it six games in a week

Yes Loudy, it's shocking that I will have watched six games of league in a week and now get a full round of better quality games to add on top. It's a f**king travesty. :p

Oh then there's the Anzac game and Storm v Warriors on Wednesday - so not long until the great games are back

214003.jpg

Lol at giving people shit for wanting to watch the footy whilst posting on a footy forum. The get a life line doesnt really work.
lol @ people with over 10 000 posts on the NRL forum saying an NRL free weekends was no great loss to them :lol:

lol also to the plonkers happy to have an nrl free weekend rather than see their club play a game without a f*cking winger! The stupid thing is that if the ARLC decide this is a goer, we'll end up with 4 boring weekends that everyone demands is filled with Cook Islands vs Lebanon type games - 5 per round meaning 20 clashes that would only be mildly interesting in a 7's plate final.

So what's the end game? A grand final in November or the World Club Challenge at Christmas? Or we adopt some wierd QLD version of daylight saving and have a 60 week year?

And a MASSIVE lol to the geniuss who thing everyone has pay TV. When was this legendary under 20's origin shown on FTA again?

Lambretta

lol also to the plonkers happy to have an nrl free weekend rather than see their club play a game without a f*cking winger! The stupid thing is that if the ARLC decide this is a goer, we'll end up with 4 boring weekends that everyone demands is filled with Cook Islands vs Lebanon type games - 5 per round meaning 20 clashes that would only be mildly interesting in a 7's plate final.

And a MASSIVE lol to the geniuss who thing everyone has pay TV. When was this legendary under 20's origin shown on FTA again?

I agree that we shouldn't have four breaks every season - one weekend for three rep games (if you include u21 SOO) is sufficient break enough. It was a nice change of pace - but more of the same would be too high a price to pay.

On the weeks where Origin is played we need a full round split between Friday and Saturday and Origin played on the Sunday or Monday and then back to a full weekend with all Origin players properly rested for the following weekends games.

No, not everyone does have pay tv - but anyone who is a massive fan of sport SHOULD have pay tv.

Lambretta

i dont mind the break tbh. breaks things up a bit

Oh and yay for a break being able to break things up for a bit

I never thought a break could do that. I thought a break would like speed things up a lot. You live and learn huh?

Dogs Of War

k

Yuck, one game of U20's is plenty and it was pathetic quality, do we really need 3. My goodness if we have to have a CITY/COUNTRY and TEST match fine, but no more please, not during a season! I aint stopping a NRL season for some Pacific Island match that has no decent players!

THe idea would be to get NRL players who qualify for PI nations to play for them. This alone would make the international game much better, not to mention that these countries would have a chance to develop combinations, as well as keep players from deciding to represent Australia/NZ. If the International game could have 3-4 second tier nations that could give the big 3 a run for there money now and again, it would make that element of the game much more appealing.

Mr Fourex

Again loudsook.....what exactly is the point of this massive cry of yours?

You only have FTA

Normally you'd watch 2 Friday night games (oh.....that's right, you probably only watch 1 of the Friday night games because you can't stand Brisbane)

and 1 Sunday arvo game

Last week-end......Friday night Test match. Sunday arvo C v C

Yeah....?

So in reality pea brain.......you haven't missed a fuggin thing .

STFU .......:crazy:

I understand that they dont have electricity yet in Queensland, so theres no way you would have heard of RADIO.

And ABC does not necessarily mean where you got up to in the alphabet before you got confused and gave up.
Oh and yay for a break being able to break things up for a bit

I never thought a break could do that. I thought a break would like speed things up a lot. You live and learn huh?
He's a cluey bloke, that Moffo :lol:

THe idea would be to get NRL players who qualify for PI nations to play for them. This alone would make the international game much better, not to mention that these countries would have a chance to develop combinations, as well as keep players from deciding to represent Australia/NZ. If the International game could have 3-4 second tier nations that could give the big 3 a run for there money now and again, it would make that element of the game much more appealing.
FMD we have a non NRL round primarily because of rep player burnout and suddenly you want half the NRL to play rep footy - no doubt using the Fein rule where a nuffy like John Morris can captain Singapore because his great grandfathers mate spent the war in Changi!

lockyno1

It would have ZERO interest, it is boring, I would rather watch soccer than watch some nuffie Pacific Island team...lol no one in their sane mind would play for them, it reduced their earning income for starters and they will get thrashed at the World Cup anyway. You want a Pacific Island match you play it after the season when no one cares.

Dogs Of War

It would have ZERO interest, it is boring, I would rather watch soccer than watch some nuffie Pacific Island team...lol no one in their sane mind would play for them, it reduced their earning income for starters and they will get thrashed at the World Cup anyway. You want a Pacific Island match you play it after the season when no one cares.

More boring than having nothing on a Saturday night if Origin moved to Sunday/Friday night? Just cause you wouldn't watch it, and would watch something else, doesn't mean that others who enjoy a good game of League wouldn't enjoy the difference in style the PI teams would bring.

As for you other point, why would they be nuffies? There are plenty of guys playing in the NRL who would make up the PNG, Fiji etc teams including some who are playing for NSW who really should be playing for the Islander teams. The game internationally doesn't get stronger until you provide an opportunity for players to commit to these teams. There might not be the money in it that SoO would have, but given it would be a Saturday night, I think there would be enough of a niche for Fox to still have there Super Saturday telecast, and hopefully after a few season's enough punters attending (though double headers should help - maybe half price entry for any season holders) to ensure that cost wise there is some decent coin in it.

Loudstrat said:
FMD we have a non NRL round primarily because of rep player burnout and suddenly you want half the NRL to play rep footy - no doubt using the Fein rule where a nuffy like John Morris can captain Singapore because his great grandfathers mate spent the war in Changi!

But funnily enough, these rep players seem to still have no problem playing all these extra games year after year. Either way, good on John Morris if he wants to captain Singapore, if he qualifies. But that's for a World Cup year, this is about something the NRL can do to assist the Pacific Islands, while the ESL can help France/Wales/Ireland/Scotland get there stuff together.

I just want to see more League, and something that ensures overall the game is building upwards.

lockyno1

More boring than having nothing on a Saturday night if Origin moved to Sunday/Friday night? Just cause you wouldn't watch it, and would watch something else, doesn't mean that others who enjoy a good game of League wouldn't enjoy the difference in style the PI teams would bring.

As for you other point, why would they be nuffies? There are plenty of guys playing in the NRL who would make up the PNG, Fiji etc teams including some who are playing for NSW who really should be playing for the Islander teams. The game internationally doesn't get stronger until you provide an opportunity for players to commit to these teams. There might not be the money in it that SoO would have, but given it would be a Saturday night, I think there would be enough of a niche for Fox to still have there Super Saturday telecast, and hopefully after a few season's enough punters attending (though double headers should help - maybe half price entry for any season holders) to ensure that cost wise there is some decent coin in it.

Origin won't be on the weekend, stop pulling the other one, what a stupid idea, it rates through the roof on a Wednesday, we aint changing the time of State of Origin! There would be no market for an Island match, it would draw less than a Shute Shield match FFS!

I don't care about Internationals- my only "care" for Internationals is that no Brisbane players get injured. In fact I was over the moon when Gillett didn't get picked as it was another player that may have got injured!

No-one in their mind would choose an ordinary team especially if they are a chance for higher honours for Australia/New Zealand and England. Those 3 make the final 4 at the World Cup, every time. That is where the money is, fact is this is their job- they are not there to please you, they are there to provide for their family! So again you want to put on lets be honest a bunch of reserve graders on Fox...seriously, leave the matches till AFTER the season!