Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ARLC Commission Changes

OldPanther

i call bullshit.

I disagree. /s

I really have no sympathy when it comes to their fincances. In 10 years I'll get what they get in 1 or 2. So they can live with it and let money be invested in developing the game at junior level.

At Penrith the players have to be doing something to help them towards work after footy. It's mandatory. They are absolutely set.

Park footy players also get bashed every weekend.

Yeah but no one would pay to watch park footy players any more than they would buy an album from a karaoke singer.

What I don't support are the players telling the NRL that they deserve more money. I think a lot of these guys need to realise that the game doesn't need them, they need the game.

I don't see why anyone would be against players income going up or down in proportion which the game's income.

As for your last point.. nah. The game needs players as much as players need the game (bit of a chicken and egg really), but more importantly THE NRL ADMINISTRATION IS NOT THE GAME OF RUGBY LEAGUE.

If NRL HQ went bust tomorrow the clubs would start a new one quick smart. If the NRL clubs all went bust tomorrow or the players stopped playing? Then we have the end times.

Canard

The minimum wage for an NRL player is $80k is it not?

The average wage in Australia is a touch over $81k.

So it is a "liveable" wage.

But I am all for raising the minimum to $100k or so.

For a job that lasts an average of 3 seasons.

Delboy

[QUOTE="Cumberland Throw, post: 12233739, member: 13802"

Walk around coles and wollies and you see AFL badges on so many products..

There has to be $50+ million here ripe for the picking[/QUOTE]

Anything with that logo promoting it, doesn't get near my shopping basket. Most people dont Give a stuff about labelled products, but I m still struggling to think of one good initative the pelican ex Dog has brought to the NRL ..Certainly not in corporate support

Maybe he is sending his CV to the Dogs to get his old job back, because he and Grant have done nothing for the game. Then again they wouldn't be able to look after their favoured clubs if they moved on, dilemma for them no doubt.

GC_Gladiator

I can't see a situation where player wages decrease because of game revenue like Maloney is proposing. Employee contracts and wages can't be changed unilaterally (except upwards) unless there is a contractual clause that allows the party to do so, and I can't see a wholesale re-issuing of current contracts.

If the nrl give this up they will never get it back.

Canard

Cool.

The average job these days lasts about that long too.

Is it everyone elses fault these blokes generally do nothing to upskill themselves for employment post football?

Share of revenue is a pretty standard claim by players associations across the world.

I'd much rather that it go to them, then some fat cat like Richo or an IT company that builds a streaming service that no-one uses and isn't fit for the third world

Canard

I can't see a situation where player wages decrease because of game revenue like Maloney is proposing. Employee contracts and wages can't be changed unilaterally (except upwards) unless there is a contractual clause that allows the party to do so, and I can't see a wholesale re-issuing of current contracts.

If the nrl give this up they will never get it back.

Unilateral change happens if the CBA is agreed by all parties.

insert.pause

RLPA want to include leagues club grants in share of NRL revenue, which is ridiculous. I find it odd that the clubs are so quiet on the cba, particularly since Kent claimed they saw through the NRL email to clubs and are now sided with the players. Yet old mate "unnamed club chairman" hasn't said boo, funny that.

Cloudsurfer

Like everyone else these guys have to pay taxes. Unlike the average person their tax rate is almost 50 percent (including medicare in that) of their income because the bulk of it is over $180K. So someone on $500K gets about $250K per annum. Out of that they have to pay their club for use of gym, rehab etc of which they can offset a small portion only with their personal expenses to get to work, or from what they do to maintain themselves in order to do their job (pretty much what any contractor does). As part of their contract they also have to fulfill club sponsor obligations after their club ones - this means in their free/ family time & often means there's no such thing as a weekend-type break most people get.
The higher the profile, the higher the demands & while you guys seem to think they all swan around after a couple of hours at the gym and 80mins of playing a game, the reality is the bulk of them earn their pay.

I suggest you try actually talking to a teacher before you make the classic "they get 12 weeks off a year" rant.

Most teachers actually have to do a f**k-load of work throughout those holidays aswell as constantly study "up to date" online/physical courses on new teaching techniques, child behaviour studies, social media awareness ect.

Not to mention that teachers also barley get to have weekends. The amount of preparation that goes into a weeks worth of teacher will probably surprise you, not to mention that on most weekends they also have to grade tests (try marking the same 3 page test 35 times on your Saturday arvo)

* Like to mention, I'm not a teacher, just know a couple, plus this topic actually came up in class back when I was in year 12 with one of the better teachers
I suggest you try actually talking to a teacher before you make the classic "they get 12 weeks off a year" rant.

Most teachers actually have to do a f**k-load of work throughout those holidays aswell as constantly study "up to date" online/physical courses on new teaching techniques, child behaviour studies, social media awareness ect.

Not to mention that teachers also barley get to have weekends. The amount of preparation that goes into a weeks worth of teacher will probably surprise you, not to mention that on most weekends they also have to grade tests (try marking the same 3 page test 35 times on your Saturday arvo)

* Like to mention, I'm not a teacher, just know a couple, plus this topic actually came up in class back when I was in year 12 with one of the better teachers whom explained that the only time she gets a 'real' holiday is when she takes long service leave.

P.s. They also have to pretty much let little pieces of shit walk all over them and allow complete cockheads to distract classes because yelling at a student could hurt their feelings and thus tramatize them. There's a website called Reddit, and there's a section called "AskReddit" where users ask random questions and people from all over the work give there answers. There's one regarding teachers and student punishment. It's gotten so outta hand that so many teachers are literally having mental breakdowns.
Have a few mates who are teachers for the exact reason of the extra time off

Have a few mates who are teacher for the exact reason of the extra time off

insert.pause

Like everyone else these guys have to pay taxes. Unlike the average person their tax rate is almost 50 percent (including medicare in that) of their income because the bulk of it is over $180K. So someone on $500K gets about $250K per annum. Out of that they have to pay their club for use of gym, rehab etc of which they can offset a small portion only with their personal expenses to get to work, or from what they do to maintain themselves in order to do their job (pretty much what any contractor does). As part of their contract they also have to fulfill club sponsor obligations after their club ones - this means in their free/ family time & often means there's no such thing as a weekend-type break most people get.
The higher the profile, the higher the demands & while you guys seem to think they all swan around after a couple of hours at the gym and 80mins of playing a game, the reality is the bulk of them earn their pay.
What?

Nice Beaver

What???

The players pay the clubs for use of gym and rehab??

If that's correct then I'll happily retract this statement - what a pile of bullshit!!

And oh no - they have to work on weekends and go to corporate functions. Wow.

RockWheel

Someone on 500k gets just over 300k after tax, little bit more than 250k.

insert.pause

What???

The players pay the clubs for use of gym and rehab??

If that's correct then I'll happily retract this statement - what a pile of bullshit!!

And oh no - they have to work on weekends and go to corporate functions. Wow.
It's like working at a sweatshop and having to pay to use the sowing machine, I wonder if they have to pay for skills classes with the trainers?