Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Arthur Beetson has died

He was my favorite player of all time. Only once have I seen a single player dominate the code as much as Artie did in '75 - and that was Joey in his prime. I also have never seen a ball playing forward remotely come anywhere near him. For those who never saw him, think Feliti Mateo - with no mistake rate - playing for 80 minutes and line bending like Webcke. Then double it.

The best thing about him was that he loved League more than he loved himself. He never wanted to bow out a winner and pander to his ego. I remember a pic of him being chaired off in his last game - with the biggest smile you would ever see - and it was in reserve grade.

Finally, as much as he was a Queenslander, he was a New South Welshman too. He loved Sydney, and gave much back to the 4 clubs he served.

Every Australian flag should he at half mast tomorrow.

May God bless your soul Artie. We can never thank you enough.
Exactly. Origin wasn't meant to work when it was first played in 1980. When Artie belted Mick Cronin ..........
:lol: that is the biggest urban myth in the game. Artie never punched Crow. He did hit a few forwards, like Paul McCabe and Wally Wynn. Press reports of the day will tell you that he once tackled Cronin with a bone jarrer - which is usually called a "hit" of course, but from there the embellishment grew wings.

I changed my avatar to honour the great man. I reckon it would be a great tribute if we all did the same, I guess until the funeral.

Desert Qlder

This has been a very upsetting day, I've not been able to think straight this arvo.

Although Wally was a massive presence for us kids growing up in the eighties, Arthur Beetson was like a Godfather figure who was always a level above. I guess it's because we never got to see him play and it was all about the stories of the older blokes. The thrill of him returning to Queensland was there to see when old eyes would twinkle upon retelling of the story.

As the years have passed Artie's influence has grown even larger, especially so considering the role he's played with the indigenous community in recent years. He is one of a few the term 'Legend' can be adequately applied to.

One last thing, everyone thinks he loves his pies, well my one encounter with him was at a kebab store on Adelaide Street. I guess he was a fan of the garlic sauce as well.

RIP Fella.

Moffo

R.I.P BIG FELLA
gal_111135822-600x400.jpg

Good call oneye

A legend departs, but the legacy will live on. Mortality is but a thing for mortals...Artie was destined for immortality long before he was named one

Vale Sir Beetson

Mortar

Tragic news. Very grateful for all he gave to rugby league and all the great memories he has given.

Seeing him finally run out onto Lang Park in the Mighty Maroon and belting those nswankers was a highlight and his performance that game was one of the most inspirational ever.

There is certainly a case for another statue to go up at Lang Park, fittingly right next to his mate and the greatest the game has ever seen The King.

RABK

Your Immortality in league surpasses your mortality in life. Legend of our great game, RIP Beety

POPEYE

Being one who's passing will be less significant than the shifting of a grain of sand I salute you Arthur as one being a memory as long as the game is remembered

thoughts go out to his friends and family
a sad passing for the RL world, and we are poorer today for it

RIP Artie

Broncomum

All Stars trophy to be named in Beetson's honour

http://www.nrl.com/all-stars-trophy...-honour/tabid/10874/newsid/65555/default.aspx

Pick any trophy in Rugby League, you could attach his name to most of them in some way really.
;-)

And now we wait to see if a State funeral will be held. After which, his ashes will be spread across the Cauldron.
:)

Hearing some of his mates' comments brings a sad chuckle to the face. Things like Mick Cronin :" All bikes in Australia will be letting out a sigh of relief now".
Alfie: " Unlike Artie to miss out on a BBQ lunch".

Sadly missed but fondly remembered Big Guy.

All Stars trophy to be named in Beetson's honour

http://www.nrl.com/all-stars-trophy...-honour/tabid/10874/newsid/65555/default.aspx

Pick any trophy in Rugby League, you could attach his name to most of them in some way really.
;-)

And now we wait to see if a State funeral will be held. After which, his ashes will be spread across the Cauldron.
:)

Hearing some of his mates' comments brings a sad chuckle to the face. Things like Mick Cronin :" All bikes in Australia will be letting out a sigh of relief now".
Alfie: " Unlike Artie to miss out on a BBQ lunch".

Sadly missed but fondly remembered Big Guy.

Mark_Arbib_normal.jpg

SenMarkArbib Mark Arbib

And two scholarships in Artie's name RT @NRL: All Stars trophy to be named in Beetson's honour. #NRL #RugbyLeague bit.ly/sOm241

11 minutes ago https://twitter.com/#https://twitter.com/#https://twitter.com/#https://twitter.com/#