Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Arthur Beetson has died

super_coach

massive loss to the league world,best front rower ever by a country mile,tough as teak and the balls skills of a no7 and to boot a great guy. He was not a robot like many of todays players.

My saddest day ever as a kid when he left the tigers for the chooks, he never ever wanted to go but the chooks took him to another level or maybe should I say he took the chooks to another level. Anyway the memories of Junee and Mayes running off Beetson will stay with me for ever.

Sadly its often the good guys who go before their time--RIP ARTIE

Broncomum

Hate to break it to you, but if he wanted them spread anywhere, it would be the SFS - in an east-west fashion.

http://www.triplem.com.au/sydney/sp...best-mate-tommy-raudonikis/20111202-f4jq.html

Arthur Beetson's best mate and great character in league, Tommy Raudonikis joined the The Grill Team in Sydney this morning to pay his respects to the league legend.

"He was the best forward I ever played with and against in my era and I reckon since the game started in 1908 he is the best forward we've seen on a football ground," said Tommy.

"I know this for a fact. His wish is that his ashes be thrown on Lang Park."

Artie is a Queenslander through & through; that's where his passion laid.

Desert Qlder

Hate to break it to you, but if he wanted them spread anywhere, it would be the SFS - in an east-west fashion.

Can we please keep this thread troll free? It's just nice reading all the heartfelt tributes, there's no need for your rubbish.

Not trolling mate. Just reflecting on the fact that Artie was a Rooster through and through as well.

Have a look at Mortar of you want to find a troll, or even yourself.

Mortar

Not trolling mate. Just reflecting on the fact that Artie was a Rooster through and through as well.

Have a look at Mortar of you want to find a troll, or even yourself.

Take your vitriol and f**k off out of this thread you pathetic whinger.

Haffa

Tragic news. Very grateful for all he gave to rugby league and all the great memories he has given.

Seeing him finally run out onto Lang Park in the Mighty Maroon and belting those nswankers was a highlight and his performance that game was one of the most inspirational ever.

There is certainly a case for another statue to go up at Lang Park, fittingly right next to his mate and the greatest the game has ever seen The King.

There should be one outside the SFS too. He was a rooster through and through.

You can attempt to turn it into a state vs state thing but the thing about Beetson is he is loved by everyone regardless of state or club, he may be most rembered for '80 in QLD but he will be remembered for his performances week in week out in the NSWRL especially '75 (greatest club side the game has ever seen) for those of us south of the border.

Desert Qlder

You can attempt to turn it into a state vs state thing

Could you show us in his post where he was turning it into a 'state v state thing'?

The state government of NSW is more than welcome to build statues of whoever they please, there'll be no arguments from the rest of us. But this demonstration of indignation about the prospect of the Queensland Government doing the same for Arthur at Lang Park is really quite disrespectful at this time.

Haffa

Could you show us in his post where he was turning it into a 'state v state thing'?
Maybe I was a little off, I was just trying to point out how Artie is respected across the RL Community.

The state government of NSW is more than welcome to build statues of whoever they please, there'll be no arguments from the rest of us. But this demonstration of indignation about the prospect of the Queensland Government doing the same for Arthur at Lang Park is really quite disrespectful at this time.
Indignation? Tell me where i said I would be against a statue at Suncorp Stadium? I'd be more then happy to see him honored everywhere similarly he played.

Tiger_Tim

Ken Sutcliffe confirmed on Nine News tonight that there will be a statue erected outside Suncorp Stadium

IMO should be unveiled prior to the Brissy Origin game

Parra

I have just returned from the annual achievement awards night at the kids high school. Before we went I made a comment about how they'll have to dig out speech No#6. If you've been to a few of these you'll know what I mean. Same speech, different year.

The principal was going along with the usual plaudits. Then he made the comment that a great Australian had died recently - Arthur Beetson. He then used Beetsons life as an example of perseverance, toughness, rising to meet challenges and achieving greatness with dignity and humility. He had met Beetson and he added personal touches to illustrate Arties humility and compassion for others.

It was a stirring and memorable speech that was a very fitting eulogy and also a source of inspiration for the students and the parents.

A very fitting tribute for an inspirational role model.

Von

I have just returned from the annual achievement awards night at the kids high school. Before we went I made a comment about how they'll have to dig out speech No#6. If you've been to a few of these you'll know what I mean. Same speech, different year.

The principal was going along with the usual plaudits. Then he made the comment that a great Australian had died recently - Arthur Beetson. He then used Beetsons life as an example of perseverance, toughness, rising to meet challenges and achieving greatness with dignity and humility. He had met Beetson and he added personal touches to illustrate Arties humility and compassion for others.

It was a stirring and memorable speech that was a very fitting eulogy and also a source of inspiration for the students and the parents.

A very fitting tribute for an inspirational role model.

I like it.

Does anyone know if the Arthur Beetson Memorial will be telecast on Channel 9 into melbourne?