Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Aussie Slang

Hi all;

Just interested if any of you use particular phrases ???...don't hear the like of "fair dinkum" or "struth" much any more.

Do you guys have any favorite sayings ??.

Garts

Hi all;

Just interested if any of you use particular phrases ???...don't hear the like of "fair dinkum" or "struth" much any more.

Do you guys have any favorite sayings ??.

They used to be Alf's favourites on Home and Away, probably still are.

Spike

bob's your uncle
dunny budgie
brown eyed mullet
As mad as a cut snake
choke a darkie
multicolour yawn

Nuke

I'm one who uses 'fair dinkum' a bit.

Like most of us, I use the common 'no worries' and 'she'll be right' ones quite regularly too.

TooheysNew

The one above god
I get strange looks for saying Cheers instead of thanks or bye.

And for some reason, some poms think g'day can be used at the end of a conversation.

1: Hi mate how are you.
2: Good thanks, yourself?
1: Fantastic. Listen, i'm just heading out. I'll talk to you later, ok?
2: No worries, g'day.

Misanthrope

Well, g'day does mean 'Good day'. It could work in that context, but I don't hear it often.

As for me, I say 'No worries' a lot as well as 'No dramas'. I've also taught a bunch of Americans and Canadians here to use 'Lower than a dead dingo's donger'.

Joker's Wild

Im known to throw the odd 'crikey' out here and there.

Among other favs are:
Tommy sauce
That's gold
She'll be right

Vossy

the following slang i use:

g'day
no probs
no worries
fair dinkum (usually followed by f*ck sake)
crikey (depends on the situation)