Coffs Harbour :lol:
Stories like that will keep the Reds out of the NRL. Maybe they should join Group 2.
i love the hate we generate!
and vossy - stfu! you're not doing us any favours with your whining.
someone has to put these merkins in there place
sharks - 42 years and counting
reds - 2 years and bust
last time i checked 42 years is longer then 2
Another short sighted introverted post from Loudstrat...
I'm from coffs originally, and there are a lot of tallented players who are overlooked. Most have to prove themselves in one game in front of a tallent scout or travel to Sydney or Brisbane to trial for a club.
When the Bears are readmitted and the Central Coast tallent pool is dried up, in NSW places like Port Macquarie, Coffs, Byron Bay, Lismore, the Riverina, Kempsey will be much more seriously looked at as nurseries for teams like the Storm, Reds et cetera.
I actually think this is a very smart move from the Reds. By 2050, the NSW population sustainability plan (in SMH in about april 09 from memory) wants to see Kempsey, Coffs Harbour and the Ballina-Byron Bay areas populations more than double. This area would have a large untapped population, although spread over northern NSW. So not able to support a club, but an area full of football fans and players which would be prime for associations with NRL clubs.
Active involvement and association with an NRL side would benefit all parties.
Bravo Zulu to the Rabbitohs involvement in Coffs, too. Great to read their involvement in the community when they were up there. People in country centres are Rugby League mad, but are very neglected generally because of geography. NSWRL seems to do next to nothing except fund the comps on a shoe string. That organisation must be a huge junket.
City Country is good at taking the game to a town for a weekend, but weak at strengthening areas that are truely NRL heartland.
Also, don't knock Group 2. Its a great comp. Go the Comets
Gee, you would have thought someone would have used the North Coast as a resource for players before this. Like, say, since 1908????yeh you'd think for a country lad he'd be happy at someone giving the boys from the bush a shot at getting noticed. But its Loudy and he has a chip the size of the Uluru on his shoulder about Perth so expect little else.
LOL! Right, LU is to blame. At best, a case of shooting the messenger. And a tad paranoid.
Either way, you're wrong. The forum administrator is a Parra supporter. Last time I checked, LU's NRL forum has two Parra supporters and a Wests Tigers supporter as moderators.
The news website content is managed by a whole range of supporters, mainly Knights and Bulldogs - but well represented by most clubs. IT manager is a Knights supporter. Webhost managers are Titans supporters.
So you couldn't be further off the mark.
And like you, all are entitled to their opinion.
If you're worried about me, I'm happy with the folks that put in their time for free and I've long since moved on to off-site matters.
Sirshark, if you're fair dinkum, you can always join the website content team. There are a few Sharks supporters that have access to those areas. You enjoy posting on forums, so perhaps you'd be happy to help make a difference on a truly independent rugby league site.
Can't be helped by the fact Manly fans can't read and write or even spell;-):lol:
Take the rampant Sydney haters out of the poll......Out of the two polls ive done there defantely is high opinion that the Sharks
would be better served elsewhere.. Perth or a hole in the ground.
Comon Gallop.. get to work.
Take the rampant Sydney haters out of the poll......
Like the ones who reckon the North Coast has ben totally ignored as a player production line for the elite. Except of course for those who signed the likes of Rocky and Mark Laurie, Danny Bedurus, Scotty Hill, Ben Harris, Greg Inglis, Matt King, Gary Bridge, Mark O'Meley, Mal Cochrane..........
Back on topic, yes it would be nice for the NRL if Cronulla went away, but we learned the lessons of SL... no forced removals mergers or relocations. Let the Sharks die naturally. Its just a pity if it happens the clubs assets can't go to the NRL or another club to strenghten the game
nearest club maybe?
It takes, what, 300k to support an NRL side? The mid north coast will be this big within 20 years.
The Bears and Reds will most likely be back within 15 years, meaning Central coast can't be used by Newcastle/Melbourne/Perth et cetera for juniors. I was simply saying it is a smart move on the Reds part to think longer term by looking at Coffs Harbour, and not something to scoff at as Loudstrat was.
Yes, blokes like Inglis get noticed, but there are a lot of good players who don't get picked up, where players of equivelant skill get a run if they live in the Shire or Penrith. Thats all I was saying.
So Red, don't read too much into my post, and Loudstrat, get over your Reds hate. Both clubs will be back sooner or later.
Back on topic, yes it would be nice for the NRL if Cronulla went away, but we learned the lessons of SL... no forced removals mergers or relocations. Let the Sharks die naturally. Its just a pity if it happens the clubs assets can't go to the NRL or another club to strenghten the game.
Nah. The Sharks can still be the Dragons NSW Cup team and play out of The Swamp mate.
Least we could do really.