Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bears discussion 2015

Matrix

I know they were playing the defending premiers but were the Bears really awful? Or just completely outclassed?

Out of the team was there any Bears players at all who were solid and tried hard?

Also mate did Aaron Gray play?

A lot of players from last week didnt play,Gray,Millard,Taukafa,Grant,McInnes all didnt play and that certainly made a huge difference and penrith were very good,but it was still a very poor effort from norths,imo.Brown was about the only one who stood out.

rabbitohs95

A lot of players from last week didnt play,Gray,Millard,Taukafa,Grant,McInnes all didnt play and that certainly made a huge difference and penrith were very good,but it was still a very effort from norths,imo.Brown was about the only one who stood out.

Cheers mate. Unfortunate the Bears didn't get the luxury of those players, I reckon if they did they would've been a fighting chance against the Panthers who of course had a lot of NRL experience in their side including Api.

mean_maori_mean

Cheers mate. Unfortunate the Bears didn't get the luxury of those players, I reckon if they did they would've been a fighting chance against the Panthers who of course had a lot of NRL experience in their side including Api.

Yeah probably but not the right mix of players in the squad either.

Rabbitohs have heaps of fringe NRL & NYC backrowers made available to the bears.
Also a couple of ex-rabbitohs signed to the bears.

eg.
11. Brock Gray
12. Scott Sorensen
13. Cheyne Whitelaw

Then Matt Hyland has always been a backrower.

We are the halves n hookers for depth.

Even if they are grooming cheap replacements for mqueen - is Tulsa Saumaomao one of the best for the NYC side?? Alot of the backrowers are just soild no ex-factor.

Also if Souths players dont play cup are rabbitohs mgmt happy for them to have no game time.

Matrix

Yeah probably but not the right mix of players in the squad either.

Rabbitohs have heaps of fringe NRL & NYC backrowers made available to the bears.
Also a couple of ex-rabbitohs signed to the bears.

eg.
11. Brock Gray
12. Scott Sorensen
13. Cheyne Whitelaw

Then Matt Hyland has always been a backrower.

We are the halves n hookers for depth.

Even if they are grooming cheap replacements for mqueen - is Tulsa Saumaomao one of the best for the NYC side?? Alot of the backrowers are just soild no ex-factor.

Also if Souths players dont play cup are rabbitohs mgmt happy for them to have no game time.

I guess its tough with these 4pm sunday kickoffs because souths need to keep a forward and a back for any last minutes injuries but surely McInnes could have played for the bears with Grant and Millard on standby for 1st grade.

mean_maori_mean

I guess its tough with these 4pm sunday kickoffs because souths need to keep a forward and a back for any last minutes injuries but surely McInnes could have played for the bears with Grant and Millard on standby for 1st grade.

Yeah but I think Souths need to keep McInnes in the mix.
Because if the dont he will walk and easily pick up a spot some where imo.

Have to give hima a game or two.

A lot of players from last week didnt play,Gray,Millard,Taukafa,Grant,McInnes all didnt play and that certainly made a huge difference and penrith were very good,but it was still a very poor effort from norths,imo.Brown was about the only one who stood out.

Cheers.

mean_maori_mean

They are not going well.
Probably issues in the halves.

Well Warriors have won 3 out of 4 games this year.

So Norths did pretty well couldnt get to the game but heard Norths got robbed.
That was from a Warriors fan too. Three or 4 dodgy call in the last few minutes apparently.

Aaron Gray in the centres was decent and scored two tries.
Norths had a few Kiwi boys that went well.

Sam Manulelua was good on the wing, and bench hooker Friend was a stand-out.
I assume guys like Roberts & Neale would of gone good with family in the crowd.

rabbitohs95

Well Warriors have won 3 out of 4 games this year.

So Norths did pretty well couldnt get to the game but heard Norths got robbed.
That was from a Warriors fan too. Three or 4 dodgy call in the last few minutes apparently.

Aaron Gray in the centres was decent and scored two tries.
Norths had a few Kiwi boys that went well.

Sam Manulelua was good on the wing, and bench hooker Friend was a stand-out.
I assume guys like Roberts & Neale would of gone good with family in the crowd.

Cheers for the update MMM

I did hear Gray went pretty well with his double. Reckon he's ready for grade? He seems to be too good for NSW Cup from what i've seen.

Bears are also missing Souths players that Maguire makes 18th, 19th and 20th man.

I did hear Gray went pretty well with his double. Reckon he's ready for grade? He seems to be too good for NSW Cup from what i've seen.

Bears are also missing Souths players that Maguire makes 18th, 19th and 20th man.

My fingers are crossed that he will be a late inclusion on Friday. That's if he is fully fit. Southsport said he wasn't spotted training with the 1st grade squad.

Madge may move Millard to the wing as well.

Ed Murphy who Souths signed from the Bulldogs on a 1 year contract has recovered from a broken foot (happened in pre season boot camp at Holsworthy).

Murphy is named at centre for the Bears this week.

Gray isn't named. Southsport said apparently Gray is in a knee brace which isn't good at all. Gray seems to keep getting injured regularly.

Taukafa is at fullback with Manuleleau on the wing.

rabbitohs95

Ed Murphy who Souths signed from the Bulldogs on a 1 year contract has recovered from a broken foot (happened in pre season boot camp at Holsworthy).

Murphy is named at centre for the Bears this week.

Gray isn't named. Southsport said apparently Gray is in a knee brace which isn't good at all. Gray seems to keep getting injured regularly.

Taukafa is at fullback with Manuleleau on the wing.

Best bet is that Sam Manu gets a late call up on the wing.

mean_maori_mean

Gray seemed to have good footwork probably a little small.

Sam M definately improving but should get his debut sooner rather than later.
Perhaps competing with that tuakafa heard good things about him

Question I followed Tulsa Sumamao I thought he would be playing NSW Cup by now.
Three years at NYC isnt good for your development.

rabbitohs95

Good to hear, cheers for that.

I agree with the point about Saumamao, definitely thought he'd get his debut this year but looks more likely he might get a spot in NSW Cup if he improves. He looked barnstorming last year in the NYC. Perhaps he just needs a little time.

Hellray

Gray isnt small, he is listed the same size (1kg heavier) than Walker and he handles the big time with ease.