Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ben Hunt requests release from the Drags

Danish

So the rules banning clubs and players from negotiating while contracted are just confirmed out the window, right?

or are the NRL buying that Hunt and the Broncs haven’t spoken at all?

honestly if I were the dragons I’d just drop his ass to whatever the lowest team they have is and force him to play out the season. Fine him if he doesn’t turn up to training or games. They get absolutely zero out of releasing him this year.

maybe even get Rusty in to advise him to become a minister

Generalzod

He wasn’t homesick when he signed a new contract with the Dragons and now he wants to leave so that could have a better chance at winning a premiership.. and going back at the Broncos where they finally have their organisation in order, what’s even more stupid the Bronco’s are allowing it.

Last week the NRL said you can’t speak to a player / manager until a certain time
Didn’t stop the media from reporting multiple clubs being interested and they had clearly made approaches
Somehow the broncos can afford just under half a seasons wages on a million dollar a year player … clubs are required to spend their salary cap no ? Where’d they find this cash ?
They are losing a few players next year so it’s possible they can then but very unlikely right now

I guess the point I’m making is the salary cap is a farce … every team does whatever it wants in regards to signing players
Players can just get out of contracts by forcing a trade essentially

As another poster said , I’d put Hunt into the reserve Grade team and if he doesn’t turn up fine him

surely in their contracts they are required to attend training etc

Last week the NRL said you can’t speak to a player / manager until a certain time
Didn’t stop the media from reporting multiple clubs being interested and they had clearly made approaches

I mean I've got no doubt managers will slime around the regs as best they can definitely, I also have no doubt f**ken Big Man Hoops and Drunky Rothfield et al are ringing around clubs and also straight up making shit up

"Hi Kevvie, it's James Hooper here mate. Yeah that's right, the big fella. Hey mate this Ben Hunt thing, sneaky question, if he got a release would you be interested"

"Well I mean he's a good footy player so if he's available I'd have to check with the footy dept..."

Next day "Hunt to Broncos!!" is in the Tele

Vibing

So the rules banning clubs and players from negotiating while contracted are just confirmed out the window, right?

or are the NRL buying that Hunt and the Broncs haven’t spoken at all?

honestly if I were the dragons I’d just drop his ass to whatever the lowest team they have is and force him to play out the season. Fine him if he doesn’t turn up to training or games. They get absolutely zero out of releasing him this year.

maybe even get Rusty in to advise him to become a minister
Short of phone tapping , how could the NRL know for sure ?
Hunt has gone public on his desire to return to QLD , the Broncos have said they have the space to take him for the remainder of 2023 if hes available ... & both parties will say thats all they know

the Dragons will get $400K if they release him
thats hardly.... absolutely zero !

Danish

Short of phone tapping , how could the NRL know for sure ?
Hunt has gone public on his desire to return to QLD , the Broncos have said they have the space to take him for the remainder of 2023 if hes available ... & both parties will say thats all they know

the Dragons will get $400K if they release him
thats hardly.... absolutely zero !

$400k well worth it to f**k him over as far as I’m concerned. Throw him down to reggies and let him dodge park footballers looking to take out tve big dog for a few months.

they also don’t get to pocket the $400k. Clubs have to spend their cap every year so it would just be money they have to reallocate elsewhere to players that absolutely do not deserve it.

some11

Any way you dice it, the optics of the best player in the lowest ranked side leaving mid season to play for the top ranked side, well they aren't great.
Yeah it stinks. The NRL should have a rule against it but they don't.

It'll be stopped at some point, maybe even next year.

Vibing

$400k well worth it to f**k him over as far as I’m concerned. Throw him down to reggies and let him dodge park footballers looking to take out tve big dog for a few months.

they also don’t get to pocket the $400k. Clubs have to spend their cap every year so it would just be money they have to reallocate elsewhere to players that absolutely do not deserve it.
Or spend it on a mid season signing or 2 themselves ... I'd say their recruitment staff are looking around rn

They won't drop him , they will release him. Its fine for clubs to sack players willy nilly when they're not happy , I have no probs with players evening the ledger.

SBD82

Or spend it on a mid season signing or 2 themselves ... I'd say their recruitment staff are looking around rn

They won't drop him , they will release him. Its fine for clubs to sack players willy nilly when they're not happy , I have no probs with players evening the ledger.
We already have money to spend and haven’t filled our roster. We’re struggling to attract players. After all this shit we’ll be even less appealing.

So what’s the point of having an extra $400k? Maybe we could front end the contracts of our other good players? Oh wait.

Vibing

We already have money to spend and haven’t filled our roster. We’re struggling to attract players. After all this shit we’ll be even less appealing.

So what’s the point of having an extra $400k? Maybe we could front end the contracts of our other good players? Oh wait.
less appealing after this shit & you think making a top player run around in the NSW cup will help that ?

Flanagan signing on is big & the effect of that will have a flow on ...

SBD82

less appealing after this shit & you think making a top player run around in the NSW cup will help that ?

Flanagan signing on is big & the effect of that will have a flow on ...
Maybe. But that flow on isn’t happening now.

We aren’t buying anyone of quality this year. He has a contract for two more years. We can release him from those two years and let the little sook play reserve grade for the rest of this year without losing anything. This year is shot anyway.