Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji Barba

Card Shark

I thing what keeps Gordon an important member of the team is his high quality goal kicking!

Not much quality atm!

Now we are scoring tries, we need a capable goal kicker. At 1 stage last night, we were 2 from 5 - 2 sitter penalties from in front.

Since 73

Basically Gordon has had his turn.

We bought him to the club to do a job which he has not been able to do.

Defence not bad, goal kicking WAS very good, but his hands and attack have let him down.

He tries hard - but so would I.

Now we have this ridiculous situation where an attacking weapon - Val - who is actually SELECTED at fullback and WEARS the number 1 DOES NOT get the chance to run in open play until we are out of our own 80!!

Ludicrous.

Gordon is over so just do it Flange. Like watching a slow death.

The team is finally playing some football - Getting Gals hand OFF the ball and Ennis's ON it have been instrumental in that. Val at 1 will take that to another level.

Barba...we paid big bucks but the truth is he ain't ready. The drop of the easy bomb last night? Spoke volumes. His hesitancy?...not yet.

Put Val at 1. Gordon on the wing. Barba ....hhhmmm

Inferno

I wouldn't be dumping Gordon.

I'm happy to have he and Val do their thing at the back. Barba can stay on the bench, be injected when necessary and also cover injuries for the backs and Ennis.

Special K

I'm happy for Gordon to get a shot at 4. Beale gives his winger great service and early ball and is solid in defense. Imho Gagan is an outstanding prospect and we need to fit him in when he is fit but that looks 6 or so weeks away if he is a month from returning he will need some time in NSW cup.

Barba looked like a different man last night. I thought the benching was going to ruin him. As mentioned he scored 1, set up Heighnos try but he also almost scored 2/3 others. That 1 one on one strip, the Ennis grubber that hit the post and another I can't remember were almost tries. He was playing with the vision and instincts he had years ago. He also handled being put on the wing for Holmes like a pro. My concern was if Barba played 1 it would limit Holmes but it didn't at all.

If Barba plays like that last night he has points in him. As do Bird, Holmes, Gagan, Feki etc... We just need to work out how to fit them all together.

Card Shark

Really enjoying his footy at the Sharks it seems & that is reflecting in his game.

Was great to see him score last week, get the big grin on his face & contribute to a win.

Has backed it up with a stunning display against the Cowboys.

He is going to be a great strike weapon for our charge to the finals. He still has speed & evasiveness.

webShark

I'm happy for Gordon to get a shot at 4. Beale gives his winger great service and early ball and is solid in defense. Imho Gagan is an outstanding prospect and we need to fit him in when he is fit but that looks 6 or so weeks away if he is a month from returning he will need some time in NSW cup.

Barba looked like a different man last night. I thought the benching was going to ruin him. As mentioned he scored 1, set up Heighnos try but he also almost scored 2/3 others. That 1 one on one strip, the Ennis grubber that hit the post and another I can't remember were almost tries. He was playing with the vision and instincts he had years ago. He also handled being put on the wing for Holmes like a pro. My concern was if Barba played 1 it would limit Holmes but it didn't at all.

If Barba plays like that last night he has points in him. As do Bird, Holmes, Gagan, Feki etc... We just need to work out how to fit them all together.

Gagan won't play any Footy this season.

Card Shark

I think I saw it advertised a couple of days back that Barba will be the special interview on "Sterlo On The Couch" tonight.

7.30 Fox Sports 1, I think.

Card Shark

Bump

How good is he going now!

Scoring tries, saving them, catching bombs & his positional play at the back has been exceptional - much like the Barba of his heyday.

Found a home with us, that's for sure.

Madsharkie

Going great! Amazing what can happen when you're happy, injury free, and given a chance.
Certainly going better than the dragon's 'Benji'!

Click2000

Yeah and thank f@rk we didn't sign the other Benji !!!

Barber killing it, great to see and such an exciting player to watch - if we can stay relatively injury free this year than I reckon we're as good a shot as any

Surely

Proved me wrong I thought his best was behind him.

Chad's another who I didn't think was good enough but he's going great, better than Maloney.

McLovin

Never in doubt. Should have been there last year... Had to please old mate Gordon I guess...

Click2000

Chad has been very good..... I thought he was useless last time he played for us , certainly returned a much better player.

The fact he's a local junior is a bonus too , always good.

What I like this year as well is that there is loads of depth in the backs , Nu Brown, Gagan , Brown etc all good back ups and we still have Beale there as well ! What the hell is going on with him ?? Is he injured or can't find his way back into the team ??