Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best pack in the comp?

thommo4pm

macavity said:
He has lost 3 kgs since he got here and is running with the backs over 30m.

I reckon he is gunna go well now he is finally under a real coach.

He always had the speed...that was never a problem.
He was not involved in games last season.
he went missing in action far too many times.
That has nothing to do with the coach, that's what's inside the player.
There were plenty of times he should have stood up for us when we had a very inexperienced side on the field, and he didn't.

He needs to lose another 10-12 kg after losing that 3kg.

steven_tiger

Might as well do a proper Tigers one.

8. Payten
9. Farah
10. Galloway
11. Heighington
12. Teo
13. Fulton

14. Halatau
15. Harrison
16. Payne
17. Gibbs

Got O'Hara, D. Galea... I'm sure there is more but I can't think of any ATM.

The Engineers Room

There are a lot of quality packs out there.

There is more to the pack than sizes nowadays. Sometimes more agile forwards will get the job done. Sometimes the bigger packs will overpower the smaller ones.

macavity said:
I agree that is a good pack - Picker and Pato though? different style of player - obviously im happy to have Pato, but I think Picker might have a better work-rate but Pato is more dangerous with the ball (and leaping for it, for that matter). Havent seen heaps of Picker though.

Spot on but as mick said, Picker will become as important to us as Pato is to you blokes, two of the best young 2nd rowers coming through, Picker is more a Brad Clyde style of player, Pato is abit more early days Nathen Hindmarsh imo

macavity

TBH the player Pato reminds me most of is SBW, without the shoulder charge. just needs to put a bit more beef on him, still got chicken legs.

The Engineers Room

I predict that by the end the season the Parramatta pack will be:

8. Cayless
9. Riddell
10. Paulo
11. Hindmarsh
12. Hauraki
13. Mateo

15. Cordoba
16. Moi Moi
17. Robinson

They have plenty of potenial.

aqua_duck

I think if guys like TLL and in particular weyman have injury free years canberra can be very competitive, very solid pack, good halves, and William Zilman. Unfortunately i think their backline is abit weak

The Engineers Room

They have a lot of lanky outside backs with little beef on them. I think they are young and quick but can they exploit this strength without being bashed and barged?

macavity said:
TBH the player Pato reminds me most of is SBW, without the shoulder charge. just needs to put a bit more beef on him, still got chicken legs.

Not sure if he is as explosive either but fair call. Pato will be one bloke im keen to see in 08
If TLL has an injury free season, he'll be playing SOO in 2009, he's that good, when on the park, match fit and healthy, he's an absolute machine... weyman im not sold on anymore, 2 years ago sure, but with the amount of injuries he's had, even when he's fit he doesnt look the same player anymore... maybe a good off season this year will turn it around for him.

Hanscholo said:
I dunno man that is a pretty nice pack still. One wonders where Mason was fiting into that back row anyway? I also rate Kouparitsis and Armit extremely highly...Armit in particular will play for Australia i have no doubt.

As for dominating packs, id be looking for a pack with more youth and athletisism, the game is moving toward fast play the balls again.
:lol:Are you serious? Armit would have to be close to the worst starting prop in the comp in '08, and his mate Hickey wouldn't be far off either. They offer very little IMO.

macavity

Raider_69 said:
Not sure if he is as explosive either but fair call. Pato will be one bloke im keen to see in 08

perhaps not - but SBW is a once in a generation player.

If TLL has an injury free season, he'll be playing SOO in 2009, he's that good, when on the park, match fit and healthy, he's an absolute machine...

I think if he was a QLDer, for sure, but he is a NSWelshman isn't he? At any rate, its pretty hard to represent from Canbraaaaa... ;-)

weyman im not sold on anymore, 2 years ago sure, but with the amount of injuries he's had, even when he's fit he doesnt look the same player anymore... maybe a good off season this year will turn it around for him.

did f**k all last year. I reckon this year is his last chance.

macavity said:
perhaps not - but SBW is a once in a generation player.
True, but hey at least Pato isnt as injury prone as SBW

macavity said:
I think if he was a QLDer, for sure, but he is a NSWelshman isn't he? At any rate, its pretty hard to represent from Canbraaaaa... ;-)
Not sure, it still seems to be a bane of contention, i remember when he signed for us it was said he would potentially be Blue but early this week there was a report on his pre season linking him to QLD again... it is hard to represent from Canberra, particually for NSW, but i honestly think if he has an injury free year, his form and ability will force which ever state he's elligable for to pick him

macavity said:
did f**k all last year. I reckon this year is his last chance.
Me too, he's had 5 years in top flight footy now, its make or break for Mick weyman, the early mail is he'll probably start the season for Souths-Logan, Henry wasnt impressed with his 07 season and unless he 1. has a reasonably good year injury wise and 2. gets some form back, i dont know if henry will re-sign him

im curious as to what happened to Tim Weyman actually, i thought tim was a better prospect then Mick, but one off season he just disappeared from our lower grades :?

aqua_duck

Hanscholo said:
I dunno man that is a pretty nice pack still. One wonders where Mason was fiting into that back row anyway? I also rate Kouparitsis and Armit extremely highly...Armit in particular will play for Australia i have no doubt.

As for dominating packs, id be looking for a pack with more youth and athletisism, the game is moving toward fast play the balls again.
Whatever your smoking I want some.

Armit is hopeless, no mongrel, no impact, I don't even think there'd be any dogs fans who honestly think the guy is rep quality

philstorm

yobbo84 said:
LOL. I'd take Souths pack over Sydney's wannabes and has-beens anyday.

8. Peter Cusack
9. Issac Luke
10. Roy Asotasi
11. David Kidwell
12. David Fa'alogo
13. John Sutton

14. Dean Widders
15. Luke Stuart
16. Manase Manuokafoa
17. Michael Greenfield
18. Scott Geddes
19. Jaiman Lowe
20. Eddy Pettbourne

Quality, variety and depth.

Gun pack. Very under-rated. Love the front row and back row - and they've also got a pretty handy little hooker to boot.

Would probably be my number two pack after the Storm

White
Smith
Kaufusi
Crocker
Hoffman
Johnson

Lima
Blair

Iafeta

lol aside from Big Mick who is at least looking at other teams, this thread has turned into "name your starting pack and bench forwards for 2008".

Butters

philstorm said:
Gun pack. Very under-rated. Love the front row and back row - and they've also got a pretty handy little hooker to boot.

Would probably be my number two pack after the Storm

White
Smith
Kaufusi
Crocker
Hoffman
Johnson

Lima
Blair

You seem to be forgetting Jeremy Smith but i dont blame you its hard to remember all the guns in our pack