Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best rock intro ever...

DJ Raida

Sorry guys but IMO that song blows dog, awesome intro, you even think its gonna sound kick ass then all of a sudden........... same old boring new chilli peppers, that song made me cry because of all the potential it had but never delivered, the chillis are a retired unit and they sound like a bunch of old croners in modern times, no more hard edge!
WHAT- rhcp are in thier prime atm- they are making perfect music- btw was thier best album ever by far. Californication wasnt far behind

Ron Jeremy

Easily Poison by Alice Cooper, his opening riff and main riffs throughout the song are just sensational.

I also Reckon Dreams by Van Halen would have to be held in high regard aswell Message in a Bottle by the Police.

incredible_holc

Sorry guys but IMO that song blows dog, awesome intro, you even think its gonna sound kick ass then all of a sudden........... same old boring new chilli peppers, that song made me cry because of all the potential it had but never delivered, the chillis are a retired unit and they sound like a bunch of old croners in modern times, no more hard edge!

yeah song isnt the greatest but we are only talking about the intro, and its a great intro.

I love the chili peppers btw

CliffyIsGod

The bass intro is awesome. Just about the best live intro I have heard, especially being about 8 metres away from the flea!

One, Fade To Black and Enter Sandman by Metallica have some really strong intro's

ledzep

welcome to the jungle has my vote
also whole lotta love, especially the live version

Not the greatest but Dire Straits' "Money for Nothing" with the drums and guitar slowly waking up, then just at its peak dropping back to just the guitar riff, the rest of the band following after a few bars. I like.

LESStar58

The intro to "Dirty Man" by The Living End is wicked! Its liked a giant sized stadium rock anthem!

Slappy

Sonic Youth - teenage riot (long version)
Pink Floyd - Run like hell
GNR - welcome to the jungle
GNR - paradise city
Led Zep - Nobody's fault but mine
ACDC - it's a long way to the top..
The Church - Tantalised
Cure - burn
Fishbone - Sunless Saturday
Rolling Stones - Gimme shelter
Led Zep - No Quarter
Led Zep - In the evening
Motley Crue - Dr Feelgood
Ozzy Ozbourne - no more tears (check out the middle8 guitar solo)
Screaming Trees - nearly lost you there
The Smiths - headmaster ritual
Yes - owner of a lonely heart
Metallica - Wherever i may roam

When I read the thread title, the rock riff that popped stright into my head was...

Queen - One Vision

Not saying it's the best ever, but it just popped into my head and I think it's worth a spot somewhere?

Munky

With all the GNR I'm surprised nobodies mentioned Rocket Queen, which IMO is probably the best intro of the non hit songs.

strewth_mate said:
Not the greatest but Dire Straits' "Money for Nothing" with the drums and guitar slowly waking up, then just at its peak dropping back to just the guitar riff, the rest of the band following after a few bars. I like.

"Telegraph Road" is better.

I'm disappointed that there isn't any Pink Floyd here. I'd throw "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" and "Echoes" into the equation as well.

As a bit of an obscure one, for the oldies here who have seen the movie 'Eddie and the Cruisers', the into for "Season In Hell" is pretty good too. I think the bulk of the music was by John McCafferty and the Beaver Brown Band.