Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Big Artie Dead

breaking news on ABC24 Live

Big Artie Beetson has passed away

R.I.P big guy.

Latest... Police confirm his death.

Unconfirmed... Artie suffered a heart attack whilst cycling on the Gold Coast.

Artie apart from being a RL Immortal, and a million other things to do with Rugby League, was one of the Sharks Coaches.

Will be sadly missed

p-32-04.jpg

I used to chat with him when he worked at Como pub back in the 90's.

greatest ball playing forward I think I have ever seen.

we'd go down on a sat arvo watch a mates shit band when artie was working there.
3 gtrs no bass?

Don't remember, don't think there were bands playing when i was working there... He was the publican, great bloke on the other side of the bar. Met Laurie Nichols, John Peard Keith Barnes and other famous faces.. One night he drank a whole bottle of black label scotch, that was a fun night to be working the bar NOT!!.. As you know, it burnt down a few years later.

it was very casual ..they all sat down because they couldn't stand up and play their guitars.
My mate sang ....very badly.
They were locals ..I wasn't.

Artie was a grumpie old prick to heaps of people but seemed to be ok to me for some reason.

Latest... Police confirm his death.

Unconfirmed... Artie suffered a heart attack whilst cycling on the Gold Coast.

Artie apart from being a RL Immortal, and a million other things to do with Rugby League, was one of the Sharks Coaches.

Will be sadly missed

p-32-04.jpg

I can confirm this was the case. One of my drivers went past where he was laying at the roadway at Paradise Point. being treated and his bike nearby.

Sad day. RIP Artie.

thats shit

one of the greatest players to lace a boot. an immortal, a legend and a great role model for indigenous players.

also a sharkies coach.

i have his book. theres a great bit in there about he would ask the players where ET was during weights training and they would point to a poster or something and laugh.

RIP big guy

Yes great bloke, sad day.

Had limited resources as Sharks coach but I remember he threw open the invitation for lots of young guys from the country to play with the Sharks, including David Peachey and Craig Greenhill who started with us in 93.

I first saw him playing 2nd row for Balmain against Wests at Lidcombe Oval in 1968.

I also remember him being the publican at the Big House Hotel on Sussex Street, under the Western Distributor in the 1980s whilst coaching the Chooks.

Artie was one of the best forwards I had the pleasure of watching. I was at the Cricket Ground when he ran on in his first test. He only played one half that day but was brilliant. You can see it in the highlights link I'll post here.

http://www.centenaryofrugbyleague.c...yers/centenary102860.wmv&title=Arthur+BEETSON

This was one of my first and funniest memories of the great man. Back in the days when he was definately half a game artie.

THIS IS PROBABLY FUNNY NOW BUT IF YOU WERE A TIGER SUPPORTER AT THE TIME THEN ????

I was a kid of about 13 and went to the old Sydney Sports Ground to watch Balmain take on St George. It was the match of the day, and I dont know why it was at the Sports Ground and not the SCG, but my memory is vivid of this one and it was certainly at the Sports ground. ( the sports ground is now the Sydney Football Stadium )

Artie was definately the old "half game Artie" in those days and I was sitting with some mates directly behind the western goal posts of the Sports Ground. It was late in the first half and St George was attacking the Tigers line and on or near the 10 yard line. Right near to where I was sitting. They were attacking towards the western end.

I knew that Artie was down taking a breather near the halfway line. I think he had missed a tackle and was taking his time to get back to his feet. Someone near me yelled out something like "have a go at Artie".

Beetson had regained his feet and was sprinting back towards his own goal line from half way and was still behind the Saints attacking line. The tackled saints player was in the process of playing the ball and the dummy half had no idea what so ever of what was bearing down on him from behind.

Artie was at full speed and made a bee line for the poor old dummy half who was bent over waiting to pick up and distribute the ball to his own side. Artie dropped his shoulder into the butt of the Saints player and sent him sprawling towards the Tigers tryline. Artie bounced off the poor bugger and continued to take up his defensive position. The ball, well it harmlessly rolled towards the dumbfounded Saints players who stood motionless and bewildered.

Although everyone in the crowd around me could see the humerous side and were in fits of laughter, Referee, I think was Col Pearce just pointed to the dressing sheds and sent Half game Artie packing.

----------------------------------

Of course we all know what Arthur went on to become. You don't become a league Immortal because of this and that, you earn the right to become one over a career. Anyone that watched Artie over a long period of time knew he was a true champion.

And a bloody great character on and off the field too. The game today could do with a lot more like him.

I used to chat with him when he worked at Como pub back in the 90's.

greatest ball playing forward I think I have ever seen.

Me too, Carch- worked on the pub's post mix when he was bar manager!
Top bloke, but the old grog did him no favours- a real honest and modest gentleman!

Snoop Shark

A deadset legend and a champion of a man.

Was fortunate to be involved in numerous charities with Artie mainly involving the childrens hospital at Randwick and seen first hand the work he did for these kids. For that reason my wife and I decided to name our first boy Artie.

I will be heading up for his funeral and so will my little bloke.