Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bird Contract

The lurker is full of sh*t. That article is complete rubbish.

Maloney is on a lot more than 650k.

Maloney will be here for longer than his current contract.

Chad can leave for anything more than 600. He doesn't even kick goals. That's a B grade half back right there.

Chad does kick goals but has only ever been a part timer. Currently kicks at 60%.

shaggs

Chad does kick goals but has only ever been a part timer. Currently kicks at 60%.
Chad was a better in the 20s when he kicked more regularly.
Goalkockong is definitely something you need to do in games often to be good at. Part timers tend to have a week or two with 3 from 3 then have heaps of weeks of 0 from 1.

snout

Why would he?

Obviously getting the money he wants.
Obviously been promised the 6 jumper
And he wouldve been told of players on their radar. Bulldogs are shopping a few around to clear the decks for cronk.
Graham is one.
Plus pongia is on his way.

I reckon he will go. He sees himself in the halves.
Nobody else does.
Except for Nathan brown.
Wonder if brown sees beale in the centres.

perception is a funny thing. Nobody gave a damn when our winger & his manager was demanding to play a specific position & a ridiculously large pay packet. Actually the exact opposite happened. People planning on boycotting the club if he wasnt signed.
I still remember after one of his shockers at a game I attended last year. I had this grown man nearly in tears when I suggested he should be flogged off to Roosters in return for Tupou. I had to buy him a scotch to stop him shaking.

2012....Sharks Year

Wonder if there is any chance Bird and Lewis could end up at Newie? Lewis on a 1 yr special...
Doubt it....Lewie had an option for 2 years at Newie last year -stayed with us for 1. Doubt Sharks will let Gal, Lewie and Heino go in one hit and Lewis most likely will get 1 more if he holds his form.

Yep Good luck to him, Well the way he left St George left a sour taste amongst St George fans, now he is doing to the Sharks fans.
Well i dont begrudge him if he takes the money.
I want him to stay and it sounds as if he doesn't want to leave.
Unfortunately in professional sport money talks and the Knights are offering him Thurston-like money.
If he goes I'd be more than happy to shake his hand and say thanks for the time and effort he has given to our club.

I for one am all over this is he, isn't he crap. It's farcan April for ferks sake.

I'm with BBB on this one. I've been to the mountain so I don't care for the games anymore.

If they put on the black white and blue and play during our 51st season I will cheer, scream, yell abuse.

Just do it.

2012....Sharks Year

I for one am all over this is he, isn't he crap. It's farcan April for ferks sake.

I'm with BBB on this one. I've been to the mountain so I don't care for the games anymore.

If they put on the black white and blue and play during our 50th season I will cheer, scream, yell abuse.

Just do it.
Done!

Ads

perception is a funny thing. Nobody gave a damn when our winger & his manager was demanding to play a specific position & a ridiculously large pay packet. Actually the exact opposite happened. People planning on boycotting the club if he wasnt signed.
I still remember after one of his shockers at a game I attended last year. I had this grown man nearly in tears when I suggested he should be flogged off to Roosters in return for Tupou. I had to buy him a scotch to stop him shaking.
Probably because he is an obvious choice for fullback. Bird isn't an obvious choice for any position other than centre.

No one should have anything bad to say about Bird when it becomes official that he is leaving the Sharks.

Like BBB said he is being offered Thurston money and who couldn't knock that back especially that there is no guarantee how long his career will be.

Bird has always given his all at the Club and the way he played on in the GF last year will always be fondly remembered by every Sharks fan. If he doesn't play on then there's every chance we lose the GF.

He will be missed and I wish him all the best with his future footy career.

Seems to quite like the big games and the popularity that comes with all that.

He bailed on the Dragons to get to that with us.
He played first grade
He won a comp
Played origin

As far as career moves go ...Going to the Knights seems a bit like a backward step if you ask me.
What if he sucks at trying to lead the team from 5/8?

Money is great and all that I suppose.

Good luck to him.