Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bird the next Wally??

Qld-Sharkie

Accolades for Greg Bird

Matt Marshall and Dean Ritchie
October 19, 2007 12:00am

LEAGUE Immortal Wally Lewis last night gave Greg Bird the seal of approval as a born Test player.
Filling in at five-eighth for injured Broncos champion Darren Lockyer, 23-year-old Bird was stunning on debut against New Zealand in last weekend's trans-Tasman romp in Wellington. The performance was such that it drew comparisons to "King Wally", one of Australia's greatest players.
Former NSW star Laurie Daley said he saw a lot of Lewis in Bird's dynamic Test debut against the dismal Kiwis – which came on the back of another man-of-the-match performance in Origin III earlier this year.
"I thought Greg Bird was absolutely brilliant against New Zealand," Daley said last night. "He displayed a lot of the attributes that made Wally Lewis great.
"They have similar builds and are both exceptionally strong and powerful.
"I'm certainly not saying Greg is another Wally Lewis – players like Lewis come along every few decades – but Bird cut so many holes in the Kiwi defence, much as Lewis used to do for so many years.
"They both have good running games. Bird will be a representative player for years to come.
"He was also great when he came in for State of Origin III for NSW. He really gave us some authority."
Lewis said Bird and the other first-gamers could hold their heads high for their brilliant efforts at Westpac Stadium.
"I remember when Steve Mortimer scored his first try for Australia, he was very happy," Lewis said.
"I saw Bird was just hysterical when he got to celebrate his Test debut with a great team try. I'm sure he's very happy. It was the biggest day in his career."
It is understood that Bob Fulton, another Immortal who was also a five-eighth, also sees strong similarities between Bird and Lewis.
"I know Bob Fulton has mentioned this in the past," Roos coach Ricky Stuart said.
"He isn't comparing Bird to Lewis but he sees similarities."
Former NSW and Australia five-eighth Brett Kenny – Lewis's long-term sparring partner – agrees.
"They have similar running styles," Kenny said. "They aren't that quick but they can go if in the clear. They also have the same physique and both are defensively very good."

Can we please get pictures of Wally in his prime & Bird now.

FMD their physiques are about as close as Quigs is to Paris Hiltons.

One was 6'2 the other is 5'10

samshark

Dont know Reefy. I think they are similiar builds and style of 5/8's.
Both solid strong builds but not necessarily rippling muscles.
Bird probably has bigger legs and Lewis is a touch taller but he is not 6'2.
I stood next to Lewis many times on the 94 Kangaroo supporters tour and I was slightly taller and I am just on 6ft.

Chest Pain

Sign him for life. He has been steadily improving for three seasons. (Not another overnight sensation). Passion and drive to succeed make him the next Sharks Captain IMO. Dumb things in the past were over-enthusiasm.

Watch out, the stinking dirty Knights will be desperate to get him back.

blacktip-reefy said:
Can we please get pictures of Wally in his prime & Bird now.

FMD their physiques are about as close as Quigs is to Paris Hiltons.

One was 6'2 the other is 5'10

And one has a lot more brains (debateable) and one is a better root.

There that should just about cover it.

And I take umbridge if you ever compare me to that other Paris - the Reserve grader.

Pssst and I dont think Wally is 6ft 2. I met him a few times on the 1990 RLW supporters tour. His old man Jimmy was in our group.

Declared Idiot #88
Quigs.

Qld-Sharkie

Up here in "Wally World", I stood next to his statue and he was f**king 12-13ft tall.....
I dont compare Wally/Bird to each other, all I know is Bird has blossomed under sticky. And sticky can see that... and by putting him in the Australian side it will benefit Sticky, Bird, Sharks and the fans......

You wern't the bloke that painted it (the statue) Blue were you Qld.

Declared Idiot #88

Qld-Sharkie

Quigs said:
You wern't the bloke that painted it (the statue) Blue were you Qld.

Declared Idiot #88

I wish Quigs.....I do praise the saviour who coloured him blue.
Does it count if I butted my smoke out on Wally's boot???

Arrh that'll get you brownie points, but you would of kicked a goal if you could of pissed on it.

Had a mate visit me up here years ago. Took him out to the Resort north of Yeppoon - in those days it was called Iwasaki's - Old Joh gave the Jap all this land for zonks etc etc. including wetlands to build his own international airport. two golf courses etc etc - Johs son ended up on the board of directors in a paying position - say no more. The old Jap made all his millions and millions out of wwII. very shonky deal to say the least.

And Just before I arrived up here some 21 years ago a local dynamited the building as it was getting constructed ... blah blah blah.

Well my mate that visited me (still lives in Kirrawee) and I were walking back to the carpark after having a few ales. It was still broad daylight, and as you are probably aware sometimes you need to relieve yourself...... as we were walking along the path we came across a newly erected plaque honoring the great work Mr Iwasaki had done in creating his empire in CQ.

My mate looked at me and I looked at him and without muttering a word we both pissed on Mr iwasakis plaque. Our women folk were very embarrased but we struck a blow for the Peoples Front of Judiah.

Lifes Good

Declared Idiot #88

carinashark

Let Bird get on with the job and make Gallen captain. Oh and dose'nt anyone here remember how bad Birdy can play? He is great now but think back when.

The Popper

I was thinking Bird seems similar in style to Wally Lewis in parts too. The way his career is going makes me think of John Sattler. Started off crazy but became one of the best players of his era. I think Bird's doing a bit of that too, but there's still a way to go. I wouldn't swap him for anyone on cuurent form.

Snorkleburger

I delighted the way Birdie has developed and matured, but when he arrived from the Hunter area with Paul Franze, I thought Fonzie would have been the one to go futher. One of our much too few sucess stories!!

Card Shark

I reckon he will be our best player since ET. The game breaker we haven't had for soooo F..ckin long.
I could not believe the way he dominated that game last week - he is a bit like Wally. Lets hope he is 1/2 as good as him & we will be laughing.

sh*t....ya just have to leave him at 5/8. A standout in SOO & test in that position - make it his own.

The pressure on Bird is now enormous.

It's all very well to shine on the big stage, which in the test was clearly not NRL standard, but now he's got to do it week in, week out for his club. The club who could easily of dumped him years ago when he was clearly off the rails both on and off the field.

He owes the Sharks, the fans and Sticky BIG TIME.

bluey

It was only a year ago we were all into raper about playing bird at 5/8.
Most of us said lock is his best position and i still think that.

I'm with you Bluey. I think a running lock like Bird gives us an extra player. A hard running and tackling forward who also has some ball skills. He can also smash opposition backs that dare run at him.

And I agree Cap'n, he does owe everyone big time. I personally think he'll repay us in 08 as well as giving NSW that something that we've been lacking. Bird under Sticky will blossom further but then also having time under Bellamy at Origin level will be something else.

I just hope the ego stays in check.

FTR

When Bird first came here I thought 5/8 was his best possy.

That said it just was not working, but perhaps that was the partner he had - Kimmorley.

He moved to the forwards and started playing much better.

Thus I wanted him there.

Perhaps he and Seymour can make it so.

Interesting........

Mr Angry said:
FTR

When Bird first came here I thought 5/8 was his best possy.

That said it just was not working, but perhaps that was the partner he had - Kimmorley.

He moved to the forwards and started playing much better.

Thus I wanted him there.

Perhaps he and Seymour can make it so.

Interesting........

Good point Angerman. Noddy could stop a bullet in mid flight. Greatest momentum killer to of worn the BB&W. He kills other players momentum. He's killed the club's momentum. He's even killed his own lately.

I also think Noddy dropped the bomb on Hiroshima.