Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bondi United.

boo_boo

Today whilst watching some trial games at Marcellin Oval one of the team playing was Bondi United which is of course a Roosters junior club.
Over the years i have been involved with RL at this level Bondi United have always fielded a team/s in the senior comps flying the flag for Easts in the Souths Juniors.
Hopefully one day the Eastern Suburbs comp will be resurrected to include more than two or three teams & once again bring healthy competition to grass roots footy.

boo_boo

I was playing against Bondi United today for the Wombats...we were f**ked :lol:

Well Adam over the years i've had a fair bit to do with BU socially & i reckon that it would be a great club to be involved with.
I always manage to have a chat with Big Tommy whenever i see him & most of the committee members are good blokes as well.

I was playing FOR the Wombats, yes in ARs. I played hooker for the first time ever...was a bit different to bludging on the wing...

boo_boo

Sorry mate i misread what you said the first time.
How did BU go despite the fact that the Wombats were so bad.

It was only a half game, 3 way trial.
We weren't that bad, just disorganised mostly. I think Bondi won 3 or 4 tries to 1. Didn't watch their game against Navy, but imo Navy were the better side and had a breather in between games so probably beat them.

We'll improve heaps once we start actually training instead of playing touch :lol:

RWB

There's certainly a bit going on behind the scenes, they held the first vote in a while last year to have a breakaway competition with the 3 easts clubs with a bit of interest from some of our 'stolen' :p clubs possibly coming back depending on terms.

All talk at the moment though...

There's certainly a bit going on behind the scenes, they held the first vote in a while last year to have a breakaway competition with the 3 easts clubs with a bit of interest from some of our 'stolen' :p clubs possibly coming back depending on terms.

It would be a pretty dismal competition with only 4 teams.

What I would like to see is former Easts sides come back under the Roosters banner, but continue to compete in the Souths comp, simply because more competition is better. No one likes a competition where you can barely drag together 6 sides.

The point of this would be to salvage our reputation regarding juniors and have a larger junior nursery to draw from. It would probably cost Easts a fair bit of $ to lure them back, so it will probably never happen because we're perfectly successful without a whole lot of juniors. The potential advantage for Souths Juniors is they would have less teams to fund, and considering they pay all rego costs for every player it wouldn't be a small amount.

Another thing, if the other former Easts clubs are anything like the Wombats, they probably wouldn't want to go back, the whole joint is full of Souths fans :fist:

Bluebags1908

It would be a pretty dismal competition with only 4 teams.

What I would like to see is former Easts sides come back under the Roosters banner, but continue to compete in the Souths comp, simply because more competition is better. No one likes a competition where you can barely drag together 6 sides.

The point of this would be to salvage our reputation regarding juniors and have a larger junior nursery to draw from. It would probably cost Easts a fair bit of $ to lure them back, so it will probably never happen because we're perfectly successful without a whole lot of juniors. The potential advantage for Souths Juniors is they would have less teams to fund, and considering they pay all rego costs for every player it wouldn't be a small amount.

Another thing, if the other former Easts clubs are anything like the Wombats, they probably wouldn't want to go back, the whole joint is full of Souths fans :fist:

But with Newtown Jets being the Roosters feeder club in NSW Cup and Easts having ties with Henson Park (first grade used to play and train there after Newtown left the top grade and the Roosters junior reps play at Henson), there could be a possibility of having a combined Easts/Newtown comp.

With Easts changing their name to 'Sydney' and the Jets beign the feeder team I think the Newtown/Marrickville area should be part of Roosters territory.

silverfox

but the senior club want nothing to do with the juniors so where are they going to get the juniors from? and newtown cant afford to fund junior sides. Souths juniors wont give up the territory bordering the dragons shire

boo_boo

I heard there were teams from Double Bay, Rose Bay, Paddington (Colts not Tigers), Wooloomooloo & North Randwick that played in the East's comp but have folded.
So who were the clubs that Souths supposedly stole from the Roosters ?
This is a genuine question as i'd really like to know.

Fairly sure Moore Park, Kensington, Coogee-Randwick, Coogee Dolphins used to be in the Easts comp...decades ago.

boo_boo

Adam, Coogee Dolphins played their first year (1994) in the Easts Juniors but then aligned themselves with Souths Juniors.
Moore Park i believe were established as a club in 1952 (from memory so dont quote me) & i have always known them to be a Souths Juniors club.
Coogee Randwick were formed in the early 50's i think & once again i have always known them to be a Souths Juniors club.
Will try & find some facts on Kensington but i am more interested in finding out some information from an impartial source.

H.H

Adam, Coogee Dolphins played their first year (1994) in the Easts Juniors but then aligned themselves with Souths Juniors.
Moore Park i believe were established as a club in 1952 (from memory so dont quote me) & i have always known them to be a Souths Juniors club.
Coogee Randwick were formed in the early 50's i think & once again i have always known them to be a Souths Juniors club.
Will try & find some facts on Kensington but i am more interested in finding out some information from an impartial source.
I think you're right on most counts - I guess the point is they play out of areas that are in the Eastern Suburbs as opposed to South Sydney - hence the argument.

I'm quite sure that Kenso was originally an Easts junior club as they were in our old boundary lines. As an example, Ron Coote's old man played for Easts in the 1930's out under the residency rules at the time and the family lived at Kinsgford. When Ron himself came into grade, he was a Souths junior (playing out of Kenso), depite living in the same house the whole time. A sign of the effect the boundary changes of the 1950's had.

Personally, I played in the Easts juniors in the late 80's for the Paddo Tigers. Some of the teams we played against included the current lot (United, Cloey and St Charles) as well as Paddo Colts, Brothers (Marcellin), Wolloommoolloo, Rose Bay, St Marys and Double Bay.

Personally, I see some of these as areas where clubs could be re-born except for Colts unfortunately (what a great club they were).

I'd love nothing more than for the Easts juniors to stand alone, but in today's league climate, I'm not sure that is realistic and to be honest, it's probably not the best outcome.

The club has actually fone a good job from the Super League days when we only have about 200 registered players. Number is closer to 1,000 thsse days but I still think the club could do more. All about money though and until they're willing to spend more if it, I think the status quo will remain.