Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brett Morris - the most likeable player in the NRL era?

Really gutted for the bloke, really wish he'd played his career out at the Dragons but also happy he found success elsewhere.

Really wish Fox would stick their change room cameras where the sun don't shine showing the post game stuff.

Couldn’t agree more. And I’m with Wayne Bennett. The dressing rooms should be off limits to cameras until / unless they are invited in before n after a game. It should be just for the team.

When Latrell Mitchell was upset last year and consoled by Bennett... that should be a private moment... like the Morris twins last night.... I don’t need to know or see any of that yet Fox and 9 “demand” more access for their broadcast deals....

As for Yvonne Sampson, yes as said by @The Mad Hatter .... always looking at angles and does it with insincerity. She lost me last year when she said she didn’t believe Ben Hunt was injured in a game against the Warriors where he hobbled around the field all 2nd half..effectively attacking his integrity n suggesting it was faked. I have no time for her whatsoever since then...

Without the injury he could have run Ken Irvine’s record close. Would have finished the year about 20-25 short, still good enough to pick up another year or two at a lower club (someone would have offered him a contract to give him the shot). One of the best finishers this side of the millennium

Not even close for me. Don't get me wrong, legendary winger and probably a good bloke off the field, but to me he always came off as a bit of a sook on the field. Prefer the Trbo bros over him & his bro as I don't have a bad thing to say about them. Still, it's devastating what happened to him last night and I wish him all the best.

Sphagnum

Why don’t they just clone him again like they did to create josh? Call it Phillip Morris and let it have an exclusive sponsorship with benson and hedges

giphy.gif

Not even close for me. Don't get me wrong, legendary winger and probably a good bloke off the field, but to me he always came off as a bit of a sook on the field. Prefer the Trbo bros over him & his bro as I don't have a bad thing to say about them. Still, it's devastating what happened to him last night and I wish him all the best.

Sook?

Never heard anything like that before. Got an example/examples?

Someguy

For me personally it’s Tohu Harris but given the longevity of the guy and never once could I remember him being a merkin I have to say Brett is possibly the most likeable player of the modern era.

Absolutely, as well as the best winger of the past 15 years (and right up there in history, tbh). Horrible way for a magnificent player to bow out.

you’d have to go back to someone like Lote/Dell to find a better winger IMO. Maybe Hayne if he stayed their his whole career. Prior to that you’re potentially going back to players like Grothe Snr.

Funnily enough I can still remember his first try. Friday night footy in 2006, right on fulltime to tie the game up against Broncos. Gorrell converted from the sideline to win. It was a string of games where the match was won in the final 2-3 minutes of the game. Never thought at the time he was going to be playing in 2021, let alone chalking up dozens of origins and internationals, bagging north of 170 tries and winning multiple premierships. Fair play to the lad.

Rhyno

Nathan Hindmarsh would have to be the most popular player
No one has ever said abad word about him

Sook?

Never heard anything like that before. Got an example/examples?

They love a good milk, appealing to the refs etc after playing the ball. I'm sure I could dig up multiple examples if I tried but honestly couldn't be bothered. It's just that they're so widely loved by the rugby league media that a lot of it goes unnoticed. Certainly not questioning his/their ability.

Danish

Best winger I’ve ever seen play.

a lot of these modern wingers love their gymnastics to stay above the line? Well Brett Morris could simply will the line out of existence and just forever be ruled in.

was destined to score 200 tries if not for this injury.

Hutty1986

you’d have to go back to someone like Lote/Dell to find a better winger IMO. Maybe Hayne if he stayed their his whole career. Prior to that you’re potentially going back to players like Grothe Snr.

Funnily enough I can still remember his first try. Friday night footy in 2006, right on fulltime to tie the game up against Broncos. Gorrell converted from the sideline to win. It was a string of games where the match was won in the final 2-3 minutes of the game. Never thought at the time he was going to be playing in 2021, let alone chalking up dozens of origins and internationals, bagging north of 170 tries and winning multiple premierships. Fair play to the lad.
Great memory, that try was a ripper! Took him a few games to settle in at origin level, he had a stormer in Game 3 in 2012 and was very reliable in the sky blue from that game onwards. Was unstoppable when saints were flying in 09/10 when Soward and Boyd were at their peak, and very unlucky to miss out on the CCM in that 2019 grand final too. His dad was a teacher at my high school and got to interview him a few times-gem of a bloke...that was just before Josh debuted for nsw from memory