Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brett Stewart found not guilty of sexual assault

Dude, the Mainly Daily gets delivered into every letterbox in Frenchs Forest everyday (bar sunday). Stewart has been on both the front and back covers of these too many times to count in the last few years.. They don't read the paper? Even look at it.. :crazy:

hahahaha dude.. I can only laugh at you! I never insinuate he planned any of what you said..

Ah the free daily paper - ours is only weekly, but gets rounded up off the ground when I put the bins out, and gets chucked in without being read.

I think you did invite the inference about it being some sort of a setup.

Totally agree.
I did do a brief search for a definition: http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/nsw/consol_act/ca190082/s61i.html

however I did not believe that to be the case here, and was under the impression that it covered a wier range.

I wish the police would issue a clarification.:(

Yeah that is very vague isn't it. I'm sure that there would be classifications for sexual assault.. sexual assault just seems a broad term used in the media but there would be specific charges once investigated. In this case for example, only once investigation was complete could the police charge him with a specific charge. So using the broader term of 'sexual assault' makes sense for the time being I spose. Hell, I don't even know if the term 'rape' is actually a legal term, perhaps someone could help with that?

nz eagle

On the Manly website, they ask you to join the Screaming Angels.
Maybe Snake was simply on a recruitment drive.

Quite poetic, but a possible catchcry could be "Become Scum".

What are you doing looking at the membership options on the manly website ronny?

Thinking of joining a real club? not an imaginary one?

sneagle

Dude, the Mainly Daily gets delivered into every letterbox in Frenchs Forest everyday (bar sunday). Stewart has been on both the front and back covers of these too many times to count in the last few years.. They don't read the paper? Even look at it.. :crazy:

hahahaha dude.. I can only laugh at you! I never insinuate he planned any of what you said..

Whilst I can (grudgingly hehehe) concede he may not have known who Brett Stewart or Manly were, given the high level of coverage on the Northern Beaches for the last 6 months (at least), I do think that there is a good chance that there was some form of recognition that he was or at least could be someone famous.

I haven't heard anyone blatantly infer that they moved there with the off chance of securing $$$$ as a result of a setup. But I will say in our society there has been and seems increasingly so, there are those who will take advantage of any situation that arises and spin it to their own benefit. Happening here? Can't say for certain, given the allegations of this father's history he must have a knowledge of the court system and seems no stranger to obtaining $$$$ by deception. (Alledgedly of course:oops:)

And?
Not everyone gives a flying tomato about sport. My brother has worked in Brookvale for 20 yrs and he wouldnt have a clue who Brett Stewart is if i showed him his picture.
All are not league nut cases like us!

That reminds me of a story from a few years ago. I was in Cronulla visiting a friend and we were going for a stroll looking for somewhere to eat, and (I cannot remember which player it was) and a Sharks player I recognized approached her and said 'hey how are you going' etc, brief 2 minute chat.

I asked her 'do you know "such and such and well?"'

She replied 'who'

I replied, 'you know 'such and such', the guy you were just speaking to'.

She just replied, 'Oh is that what his name is, I only know him as the guy who comes into my work and has a chat when he buys his lotto tickets every week'.

sneagle

Yeah that is very vague isn't it. I'm sure that there would be classifications for sexual assault.. sexual assault just seems a broad term used in the media but there would be specific charges once investigated. In this case for example, only once investigation was complete could the police charge him with a specific charge. So using the broader term of 'sexual assault' makes sense for the time being I spose. Hell, I don't even know if the term 'rape' is actually a legal term, perhaps someone could help with that?

I couldn't find a definition for rape solely - it seems to be included with sexual assault.
I did find another definition of 'sexual assault' - as per the Rape Crisis Centre NSW http://www.nswrapecrisis.com.au/Information Sheets/Understanding-sexual-violence.htm

sneagle

Okay - I think the Watmough issue will continue for sometime.

The sponsor in question Paul Durrazza claims Watmough was harrassing his daughter...

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,25165668-2,00.html:shock:

It seems a tad conflicting as it states he is considering pressing charges then adds he isn't holding a grudge just wants to set the record straight??

Lambretta

Originally Posted by Lambretta

Reports in the media today suggest that Brett Stewart "crash tackled" the girl who was standing outside his apartment.

Now is it just me or is the Brett Stewart thing looking more and more like a mountain out of molehill scenario?

My position on the Brett Stewart thing is that I want to know more information before I stand him down. I know that sounds wierd - but the whole thing has sounded suspicious from the outset.

I think drawing parallels between the gang rape of a disabled person and what very well may be a drunken practical joke with no malice that has gone wrong does nobody any favours at all.

No. No. No. No.

If he has crash tackled or been lude towards a 17 year girl that he didn't know at all then he will get what he deserves.

Being drunk is no excuse.

Now excuse me for being a bit dim - but it would appear to me that ....

....you're denying that there is a report in the Daily Telegraph about Stewart crash tackling this girl? Hhmm, I must be seeing things

You're also saying that if true that he did tackle the girl then that's every bit as serious as sexual assault

You're also stating that you believe you can make judgements in full without needing to know all the information?

Finally, you're saying that a drunken joke gone wrong is every bit as serious as the gang rape of a disabled person

WOW - The Land that Common Sense Forgot is alive and well between your ears. Congratulations on a rare and interesting discovery.

;)

If Players don't get into situations for trouble to occur this won't happen. I don't go for them but the way the Tigers do functions is the best. Have a few drinks with fans/sponsors at the League's club. Then go as a team home or to a team mates house for a BBQ and a few more drinks.

If there's always a team mate their worse case an incident occurs ie a fight getting picked watever. There is a witness to say what happened. EPL, NFL players don't go out except to team mates owners house etc. It's easier to stay out of trouble

That's such a sensible idea. I'm surprised the NRL hasn't pinched it off the Tigers and promoted it to other clubs (who all experience these troubles from time to time) as best practice and something to be followed.

Originally Posted by Lambretta

Reports in the media today suggest that Brett Stewart "crash tackled" the girl who was standing outside his apartment.

Now is it just me or is the Brett Stewart thing looking more and more like a mountain out of molehill scenario?

My position on the Brett Stewart thing is that I want to know more information before I stand him down. I know that sounds wierd - but the whole thing has sounded suspicious from the outset.

I think drawing parallels between the gang rape of a disabled person and what very well may be a drunken practical joke with no malice that has gone wrong does nobody any favours at all.

Now excuse me for being a bit dim - but it would appear to me that ....

....you're denying that there is a report in the Daily Telegraph about Stewart crash tackling this girl? Hhmm, I must be seeing things

You're also saying that if true that he did tackle the girl then that's every bit as serious as sexual assault

You're also stating that you believe you can make judgements in full without needing to know all the information?

Finally, you're saying that a drunken joke gone wrong is every bit as serious as the gang rape of a disabled person

WOW - The Land that Common Sense Forgot is alive and well between your ears. Congratulations on a rare and interesting discovery.

;)

Excuse me for being a bit dim... but are you saying it's perfectly acceptable to randomly crash tackle someone potentially half your own bodyweight. Fair dinkum, you may have some good points in your argument, but you've thrown them out the door in your illogically written post.

Prank or no prank, if you crash tackle someone unexpectantly they could hit their head on cement, suffer major internal bleeding, and either die or face long term injuries. I don't think there's a funny side to a 'prank' like that.

Excuse me for being a bit dim... but are you saying it's perfectly acceptable to randomly crash tackle someone potentially half your own bodyweight. Fair dinkum, you may have some good points in your argument, but you've thrown them out the door in your illogically written post.

No he isnt. Its in plain english what he is saying. He says it repeatedly.

Kiki

yeh but footy players shouldnt have to just hang out with their team mates or friends all the time. i mean sometimes u wanna go out and socialise with new people and meet people and whatever. i would go mental if my entire social life was having BBQs with my friends.

thats okay if ur like in ur 30s with kids, but most of these guys are young and wanna actually live their lives. they just need to learn how to behave properly. they shouldnt be hermits.

as for the Eagles Angels...i think maybe some of you don't realise that the connection alot of female fans feel to their team is quite different. its a different 'relationship' than male fans have to the players.

i know with everyone at Errol we almost feel like they are our little brothers or children or something. when something goes wrong it IS distressing. i know it probably doesn't make sense, but emotions usually don't.

as for the actual Brett Stewart case...I'm not a Manly fan but the whole thing makes me want to cry.

yeh but footy players shouldnt have to just hang out with their team mates or friends all the time. i mean sometimes u wanna go out and socialise with new people and meet people and whatever. i would go mental if my entire social life was having BBQs with my friends.

thats okay if ur like in ur 30s with kids, but most of these guys are young and wanna actually live their lives. they just need to learn how to behave properly. they shouldnt be hermits.

as for the Eagles Angels...i think maybe some of you don't realise that the connection alot of female fans feel to their team is quite different. its a different 'relationship' than male fans have to the players.

i know with everyone at Errol we almost feel like they are our little brothers or children or something. when something goes wrong it IS distressing. i know it probably doesn't make sense, but emotions usually don't.

as for the actual Brett Stewart case...I'm not a Manly fan but the whole thing makes me want to cry.

Eagles Angels...please...character references ??.

This is the biggest joke I have heard !!...:roll::lol:

WhiteWesWelker

I see Roosters players out all the time. They can socialise with the public and with each other without getting blind drunk.

But Manly deserved to be able to celebrate their win in England and of course the GF. They celebrated their GF win privately and there is nothing wrong with what they did there.

But at the season launch its wrong.

Kiki

oh im not talking about the character reference. im just saying you guys were taking the piss our of them for being distressed and im just trying to say they aren't the only women who feel that way.

sneagle

You know I'm not entirely convinced there was any crash tackling at all.
It just seems odd that it has onlycome to light about 3 days after the alledged incident. And if there were those supposed shocked onlookers then why wasn't anything mentioned earlier and why did the initial reports only mention the altercation between the father and Stewart?
It's all very muddy.....
Does it make it any better if it is true?
Maybe in charges and possible sentence and I guess the intent behind it?
Was it a joke gone wrong? Was there mucking around (nonsexual) before hand - you know ducking and weaving sidesteps etc.... Anyway it boarders on stupidity.

I think the difference comes down to the intent and I do think (not sure) that penalties for that as opposed to outright sexual assault would be much smaller. (Just my guess only).

Look I've done silly things (including tackling a smaller male) which thankfully haven't but could have resulted in someone else's injury. At the time I considered it fun but after I realised the possible ramifications.. From age comes wisdom... (well it's bound to catch up with me sometime xxx fingers...

Kiki
I do think that female fans (esp. the older ones such as myself do have a different attitude toward the players and yes I will admit I felt like crying also when this allegation was first brought to light.

they just need to learn how to behave properly.
Amen.

But repeatedly these guys seem to show they are incapable of achieving that by themselves. It damages their employer's reputation (and on occasion sponsorship revenue), it damages the whole game's reputation (and by extension crowd figures, media coverage, sponsorship revenue, cost of pulling and re-editing advertising campaigns).

Sport (unfortunately) is a business these days. Not just a young man's way to pass his spare time. And these guys get bib bickies for playing NRL level - time they acted like it. Any employee earning that much ($55K+ minimum) whose actions put their employer and tehir industry's reputation and revebnue at risk woul dbe punted fair and square.

Despite the whinging about public life etc, these guys don't know how lucky they have it! But as we know the game can't afford to keep paying them in the manner they are accustomed to anyway as it is - and especially if their behaviour keeps turning potential paying customers away from games and TV sets.