Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brett Stewart - Has a go at David Gallop

Frailty

Gallop is a wanker, the NRL is one of the worst run national sporting leagues.

You don't get out much do you? It's not the best run, but definitely not "one of the worst".

Stewart and Manly need to man up and get over it. They are bringing this issue up at any stage possible - fact of the matter is Stewart who was the face of the game got drunk at a club function that was used to promote the game. It is the equivalent of me turning up drunk to meetings outside my normal work hours.

He was given a just ban... Unfortunately the likes of Watmough never are - that's where Stewart should be focusing his anger.

Nice Beaver

Being pissed is is what started it all. The face of the game getting hammered in a club function - and that's Gallops fault? If Manly and Snake had some brains to start with none of this would have happened.

Carrying on after 2 years - f*ck what a bunch of spoilt brats. Typical yuppies who never had their toy Ken doll confiscated for not feeding the cat.

And the Gallop haters - lol. Any thread like this flushes out the grubs from under the log.

I guess we are lucky the NRL CEO is not Leo Wanka.........

In all seriousness, can you list for me what Gallop has done that warrants such fierce protection of his honour?
Completely irrespective of the whole Stewart situation (where both parties need to move on) I'd like to know what other people see in this blokes administering of the game that I don't.
I honestly find him incomptenent for the most part. If he was the CEO in a company I owned shares in I'd be selling out real fast. Unfortunately given he runs the game I love I don't have that luxury. I won't stop watching the sport because of him.

But a few examples of his (in my opinion) incompetence are:

1. In his time in charge of the NRL has there ever been a document released that shows perhaps a 5 year plan or at least gives a general outline of where his administration sees the game going and where he wants it to go? Nothing. IN this day and age where a game like the NRL is worth millions if not billions of dollars this sort of thing is truly ridiculous. Its not like the NRL is chook raffles and pie drives for God's sake.

2. I guess adding to the above point, he still has no idea where or even IF there will be more teams introduced into the NRL in 2013. This is despite the biggest TV deal in rugby league history being negotiated in the next 6 to 9 months. How the hell can he not know where new teams will be to pitch to TV networks the relative dollar value of the new teams to advertising (dependant on location)??

3. His complete inaction on getting answers from the Melbourne Storm players for the rampant rorting that went on down there. Sure the administrators were found out, but please. Does anyone seriously think the players involved at the highest levels of the rorting didn't have any idea what was going on. At a minimum they should have had their testimony on the record. It has left a bad taste in a lot of supporters mouths.

4. Letting this Independent Commission process drag on like a wet week. Yeah yeah there are a number of administrations involved in nutting out the finer details. But his silence on the whole issue has been bloody defeaning. Guess he figures he's got a job lined up either way, so what does he care?

I could get into the nitty gritty of how poorly he has handled certain individual situations also but won't as it jsut leads to more stupid posts from people. But for a person in charge of one of the biggest sporting bodies in Australia his management and leadership skills are woeful if you ask me.

This is nothign to do with personal club allegiences either. This is from someone who loves Rugby League and wants it to be the number 1 sport in the country. WIth Gallop in charge I do no see that happening.

Honkiest_Honky

Good, Gallop's a farkwit. His justification for banning Stewart is complete and utter nonsense.

Yh destroying a $1mil ad campain and bringing the game into disrepute because you were so drunk you couldn't remember what happened was definitely an over reaction.

1. In his time in charge of the NRL has there ever been a document released that shows perhaps a 5 year plan or at least gives a general outline of where his administration sees the game going and where he wants it to go? Nothing. IN this day and age where a game like the NRL is worth millions if not billions of dollars this sort of thing is truly ridiculous. Its not like the NRL is chook raffles and pie drives for God's sake.
Post the link to BHP's 5 year plan please.

He's a ceo answerable to 6 members of a joint venture. 5 years plans would more appropriately be the duty of the companies who own the game.

2. I guess adding to the above point, he still has no idea where or even IF there will be more teams introduced into the NRL in 2013. This is despite the biggest TV deal in rugby league history being negotiated in the next 6 to 9 months. How the hell can he not know where new teams will be to pitch to TV networks the relative dollar value of the new teams to advertising (dependant on location)??
Its not up to him ffs. Again, thats up to the NRL board, ir the mooted IC.

3. His complete inaction on getting answers from the Melbourne Storm players for the rampant rorting that went on down there. Sure the administrators were found out, but please. Does anyone seriously think the players involved at the highest levels of the rorting didn't have any idea what was going on. At a minimum they should have had their testimony on the record. It has left a bad taste in a lot of supporters mouths.
It was Gallop and GALLOP ALONE who stripped the premierships. News Ltd are up to their ears in that rort - blame them.
4. Letting this Independent Commission process drag on like a wet week. Yeah yeah there are a number of administrations involved in nutting out the finer details. But his silence on the whole issue has been bloody defeaning. Guess he figures he's got a job lined up either way, so what does he care?
Again, it's not his job
I could get into the nitty gritty of how poorly he has handled certain individual situations also but won't as it jsut leads to more stupid posts from people. But for a person in charge of one of the biggest sporting bodies in Australia his management and leadership skills are woeful if you ask me.
Cool. We wont ask you then.

This is nothign to do with personal club allegiences either. This is from someone who loves Rugby League and wants it to be the number 1 sport in the country. WIth Gallop in charge I do no see that happening.
:lol::lol:
It already is you dumb f*ck!

BuffaloRules

Yes, Gallop is a fantastic CEO doing his utmost best to talk up the NRL at every opportunity...

Who can forget Gallop's TV negotiation rights acumen...

The AFL has teams in more states and draws crowds more than twice the size of ours," Gallop said in a statement. "Television is sold on the basis of five capital city audiences and we do not have that footprint. It also isn't a solution for us to simply throw a team in those areas where we have limited interest in our code.

"Also, the AFL has an extra game on free to air; its games go for 20 per cent longer than a league game and (it follows that they) allow for greater advertising revenue

Nice Beaver

Post the link to BHP's 5 year plan please.

He's a ceo answerable to 6 members of a joint venture. 5 years plans would more appropriately be the duty of the companies who own the game.

Its not up to him ffs. Again, thats up to the NRL board, ir the mooted IC.

It was Gallop and GALLOP ALONE who stripped the premierships. News Ltd are up to their ears in that rort - blame them.
Again, it's not his job
Cool. We wont ask you then.

:lol::lol:
It already is you dumb f*ck!

Wow. What a venomous f*cking turd you are. Tried to ask a question in a pretty civil manner and get your hillbilly bile in return.

OK, first up, here's the link to BHP's Exploration and Development report

http://www.bhpbilliton.com/bbConten...opmentReportForTheQuarterEnded31March2011.pdf

Heres another to an investor presentation

http://www.bhpbilliton.com/bbContentRepository/docs/110504MhMacquarieConference.pdf

I take your point on the Independent Commission. Although I still think he should be pushing for a quicker resolution to it all as he can't negotiate any TV rights deals until its up and running.

Wow, it was Gallop's decision alone to strip the premierships off the Storm. What a huge effort!! What other choice was there??? The Dogs were stripped of all points when they rorted the system and so in turn a premiership (or would have been if they'd won then it was discovererd). There was no other choice. A monkey could have made the same decision. My point was that he did not as the head of the NRL step in and demand the players make sworn statements as to their knowledge and involvement. Why the f*ck would News Ltd be responsible for that?
I can't fathom how you think its not his job to step in when something like that happens. He chooses to step in and preside over other aspects of clubs decisions so why not that one given it was the biggest scam of all time in rugby league?

And how have you measured that the NRL is the biggest sport in Australia? On your "redneck scale of awesomeness"? Certainly not by membership numbers, crowd numbers, revenue numbers, sponsorship dollars or TV rights income.

So thanks for the really constructive feedback YOU DUMB F*CK. :D

MSIH

I'm sure Brett Stewart cares what a bunch of goobers who had him pegged as a rapist for 2 years think. Some of whom still do.

Haha can't believe there are still morons falling for the "he was too drunk to remember anything" line. Thank you Daily Telegraph.

Keffola

I'm surprised the NRL felt they needed to respond at all, I had no idea what that post try celebration was until the paper reported it.... thought he was riding a motorbike or something initally......

Hanscholo

Stewart - lemon sucking twerp and a dick head
Des "the scarecrow" Hassler: Its not 1986, and your not mel gibson and please dont try to be funny.

Cant stand either of them, and i agree with Gallop 100% It only goes to show how immature stewart is that he cannot get over something that people barely remember.