Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane2 Bid News

Which Brisbane2 Team Name?

lturner

I think the best idea for a new Brisbane team would be to go for a really traditional football club identity.

Maybe a simple name like Brisbane City RLFC, or Brisbane Football Club. Don't have the nickname of the club in the official name, but let the supporters develop it over time. A nice simple jumper in 2 or at most 3 colours. Perhaps a monogrammed logo similar to the old Valleys VFC or Carlton CFC. Ah yes.

This is what footy clubs in the country used to be like before men in pink ties with advertising degrees named Julian decided that Australians actually wanted garish imitations of American football "franchises" shoved down their throats.

That's what I'm talking about, this is what the people want.

Or maybe it's just me.

Good on JT for backing Perth there bound to come in at this rate with the amount of approval the bid is getting from everyone. 2nd Brissie in it a showdown with Ipswich,CQ, and CC interesting times ahead.

juro

Yeah, I thought:
1. Ipswich - the floods are over and the town will be back on its feet soon. Everyone has their hard times. Didn't Brisbane flood too? What relevance will this have in 2013 or whenever the NRL decide to expand?

2. Central QLD - what other sport is seriously looking to move there??

3. Thurston - does he realise 2 teams would be introduced or does he want 2 teams in Perth?

4. Searle - doesn't want any competition. What has he said about Ipswich?

Based on the headline, I thought they would come up with more critics of the bid than just the immediate opposition and a footballer with his headgear on too tight.

I don't think this proposed new Brisbane team will be called the Jets.

This Craig Davison fella is an old Newtown fan.

BuffaloRules

Ive got a feeling that there is going to be a sh*t fight from the other clubs in agreeing to any expansion at all in 2013...

Here is what Searle is saying...

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...-least-six-years/story-e6frg7mf-1225995760309

No new NRL team for 'at least six years'

ANY player looking to join an expanded NRL competition will have to wait at least six years, according to Michael Searle, the architect of the Gold Coast Titans and the league's new independent commission.
Searle was responding to news that a consortium was well advanced with plans to establish a second Brisbane team in 2013
Searle said the earliest a new team would be added to the competition would be 2017.

"With seven potential suitors, from Port Moresby, Rockhampton, Ipswich, Central Coast, Perth, Wellington, New Zealand and now Brisbane, it is hard to frame a market in such a congested field," he said. "But they will have to be in it for the long haul and have a real passion for the game.
"What I don't want to see happen with three rival bidders coming out of Queensland is for them to pull down the Broncos temple.
"The Titans have shown since we first came into the league in 2007 that we are built on a sustainable business model.

"Not once have we asked for a handout from the NRL, while the AFL is propping up the Suns and the Giants in western Sydney with $20 million handouts.
"Rugby league has shown itself to be sustainable in a challenging marketplace like Queensland."
Craig Davison, 53, yesterday quit his post after eight years as chairman of the Thoroughbreds, a Broncos-aligned coterie, to be the public face of the second Brisbane bid team.
Davison, who has built an outdoor furniture empire from scratch, says he can use the business model to establish a second rugby league team in Brisbane.

Davison, along with fellow Broncos minority shareholders John Geaney and Tony Scanlon, had sought a seat on the board of the publicly listed company, but they were apparently unsuccessful.
The three Queensland business identities own a combined 25 per cent stake in the team and are now looking to sell the stock.
Shares in the Broncos have traded between 40c and 26c in the past year and closed yesterday at 32.5c, valuing the company at $31.3 million.
"The shareholding that we own in the Broncos in three separate bundles has been in the marketplace since late last year," Davison said.
Yesterday The Australian saw a draft document outlining the Davison consortium's plans for the second Brisbane club to play at Suncorp Stadium.

It linked former Origin greats Wally Lewis and Mal Meninga as ambassadors for the new Brisbane bid. But Lewis and Meninga, in Sydney last night to play in an Origin legends fundraiser for Queensland flood victims, denied having any contact with the Davison group.
"What you've seen is a draft piece of paper with their names added first without speaking to them. But all will be revealed at a media conference in Brisbane on February 21," Davison said.
Crucially, the Brisbane franchise will be privately owned, as opposed to the rival southeast Queensland bid based in Ipswich.

The 10-page Powerpoint presentation titled "NRL expansion bid ownership opportunity" states that 40 shares will be issued at a cost of $500,000 each, guaranteeing the club $20 million to help set up its operations.
The club would play at Suncorp Stadium, but is in negotiations on a training facility.
The document provides a proposed timeline of 2013 for NRL expansion, something not confirmed by NRL chief executive David Gallop.

Searle is just concerned that their crowds/memberships would drop. How the 3rd largest city in Oz does not have a 2nd team based out of Suncorp is baffling. We can thank the self righteous Broncos for that. The NRL agreed to give them a massive headstart, time to even the paying field.

3 teams when we expand ???

bobmar28

I'm sure the affiliates for Channel 7 and Channel 9 are currently sponsoring the Bears bid. So there must be some value in it.

True a 2nd brisbane team would be a ratings bonanza in Brisbane, but there's no reason the Bears can't do the same thing in NSW.

It's not the extra viewers that these teams will bring in. It's the same viewers gettign to watch an extra game. And on that count, both bids would be the same in their respective states.

What rubbish. Are you saying the TV networks would rather see the Bears get a franchise ahead of QLD? Channel nine would love to have an extra QLD game for their schedule.

bobmar28

I will ask again, what the hell is a diehard??

I know the old logo was that of a titan/spartan looking lad, but surely they can't go down that path now with the titans down the road???

valleys.jpg

I thought it was a movie.

bobmar28

A 2nd Brisbane team should of being there in the first place I hate the fact that the Broncos wanted to monopolized it all to themselves which is selfish on there part and not thinking of other factors such as the non-broncos fans in Brissie who wouldn't supported them despite being the only show in town.

Now for the 2nd Brisbane to be successful it needs to differentiate itself from the Broncos in every way possible geographically,colors,demographics,etc. 2nd Brisbane should be based in the south to create the obvious north/side divide between the two teams while sharing Suncorp as a common ground.

Expansion wise Perth is a shoe-in for me I'm torn between Central Coast & 2nd Brisbane hopefully more detail on the 2nd Brisbane bid comes to light because I seen the evidence for CC bid. Both are capable of being successful just where to go is the question.

Where the fish are. That's what David Gallop said when talking about expansion to QLD.

Ipswich sooking about the new bid is starting to look pretty pathetic. A lot of people said they had no substance, and judging by the way they sh*t themselves as soon as a Brisbane2 bid was announced, we were right.

I just had a quick re-read of the Ipswich bid thread, you're spot on Adam.

otori

Brisbane Marlins would be a good name and is also an Australian animal.
Brisbane Gallahs haha

Red&BlackBear

What I dont understand is if you come out saying that your bid is gonna represent the southside of Brisbane why the hell would you set up shop in Chermside? (as North of Brisbane as you can get?). That's like the JETS saying we're gonna represent Ipswich but we'll have our HQ in Redcliffe...

I'm bemused.

Smiley

What I dont understand is if you come out saying that your bid is gonna represent the southside of Brisbane why the hell would you set up shop in Chermside? (as North of Brisbane as you can get?).

The foundation meeting was at Davision office at Chemside. I suggest they buy crushers leagues club.

QSAC could easily be used for their training base too.