Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane3 - What is needed to make it a successful bid?

Hey you guys

Fiji super rugby side get money off Aussie govt but besides that are making a killing financially

Could work with Tonga and Samoa

Depends of png are hugely successful since then

Can’t see Mel2 being successful unless it’s in Geelong
Are the Drua attracting sponsors?

Vlad59

I’d like to see..

- 18. Perth 2027
- 19. PNG 2028
- 20. NZ2 2030
- 21. Brisbane3 2032
- 22. Adelaide 2032
- 23. Melbourne2 2038
- 24. NZ3 2038
I like that progression. It’s logical. I’d just question when Adelaide would be ready. It’s a rugby league desert there.

Nrl has shown no interest in adeliade sadly. In fact they are little more than opportunists and have done little to grow the game anywhere outside its current footprint. If an opportunity arises out of Adelaide they might be interested but the odds of them doing anything proactive to actually grow rugby league ready for a nrl club there are slim to none.

Vlad59

Nrl has shown no interest in adeliade sadly. In fact they are little more than opportunists and have done little to grow the game anywhere outside its current footprint. If an opportunity arises out of Adelaide they might be interested but the odds of them doing anything proactive to actually grow rugby league ready for a nrl club there are slim to none.
I think NRL vic run operations out of there now. Good luck with that. The comp has been a hard slog for a long time. Their junior numbers are shite.

Red&BlackBear

They already have shown some interest hence State of Origin being played there.

There’s various ways to grow something and sometimes putting on your flashiest, biggest show piece event (as a stamp of what the end result is) is one way to go about it to begin to gauge interest and as a starting point for an admittedly long road/project towards one day having a full time presence there.

I’d also say that once Perth is up and running then it’ll be destination Adelaide where clubs take games interstate.

From a commercial point of view maybe what holds SA/Adelaide back the most is that it just isn’t a progressive city like Sydney Brisbane Melbourne or Perth. Well, not from a big business and corporate perspective compared to those other 4 capitals. However a thing that is interesting is that when it comes to watching NRL Adelaide’s metro viewership numbers aren’t far off Perth’s metro viewership numbers. Perth will instantly jump when the team is going, no reason Adelaide couldn’t either.

@Vlad59 is correct though their junior numbers are low at the current. NRLVic probably needs to concentrate on their own state development and pathways and maybe helping NRLSA is a bit too much workload. Maybe NRLWA (once they are better resourced) with some assistance from CRL/NSWRL is the best way forward with SA pathways. That’s just a dart throw guess.

Overall, yes it’s a slow burn but it’s a burn nether the less. That’s why I got them potentially coming in 2050/60. Quarter of a century to get things up and running and be in a position to entertain a fulltime club is very achievable.

Vlad59

You reap what you sow, like I said nrl has done very little to grow the game nationally in the last 20 years.
And according to the peanuts here that’s the fault of the underfunded states who apparently are to blame for the lack of juniors coming through.
Victoria’s growth spurt has been through pure hard work of a small number of dedicated administrators and DOs. Perth’s junior numbers are a minor miracle given the funding provided. SA has feck all players and Tassie has none.

Vlad59

There’s various ways to grow something and sometimes putting on your flashiest, biggest show piece event (as a stamp of what the end result is) is one way to go about it to begin to gauge interest and as a starting point for an admittedly long road/project towards one day having a full time presence there.

I’d also say that once Perth is up and running then it’ll be destination Adelaide where clubs take games interstate.

From a commercial point of view maybe what holds SA/Adelaide back the most is that it just isn’t a progressive city like Sydney Brisbane Melbourne or Perth. Well, not from a big business and corporate perspective compared to those other 4 capitals. However a thing that is interesting is that when it comes to watching NRL Adelaide metro viewership numbers aren’t far of Perths metro viewership numbers. Perth will instantly jump when the team is going, no reason Adelaide couldn’t either.

@Vlad59 is correct though their junior numbers are low at the current. NRLVic probably needs to concentrate on their own development and pathways and maybe helping NRLSA is a bit too much workload. Maybe NRLWA with some assistance from CRL/NSWRL is the best way forward with SA pathways. That’s just a dart throw guess.

Overall, yes it’s a slow burn but it’s a burn nether the less. That’s why I got them potentially coming in 2050/60. Quarter of a century to get things up and running and be in a position to entertaining a fulltime club is very achievable.
Some years ago a Win tv executive told me Tassie had 10000 nrl viewers per week. Not huge but that wasn’t counting fox of course. Viewers are one thing. Bodies on the field are another.

From a commercial point of view maybe what holds SA/Adelaide back the most is that it just isn’t a progressive city like Sydney Brisbane Melbourne or Perth. Well, not from a big business and corporate perspective compared to those other 4 capitals. However a thing that is interesting is that when it comes to watching NRL Adelaide’s metro viewership numbers aren’t far off Perth’s metro viewership numbers. Perth will instantly jump when the team is going, no reason Adelaide couldn’t either.

@Vlad59 is correct though their junior numbers are low at the current. NRLVic probably needs to concentrate on their own state development and pathways and maybe helping NRLSA is a bit too much workload. Maybe NRLWA (once they are better resourced) with some assistance from CRL/NSWRL is the best way forward with SA pathways. That’s just a dart throw guess.

Overall, yes it’s a slow burn but it’s a burn nether the less. That’s why I got them potentially coming in 2050/60. Quarter of a century to get things up and running and be in a position to entertain a fulltime club is very achievable.
State of origin has been played there, and in perth as the state govt has been willing to pay millions of $’s to host it. Nothing at all to do with some nrl growth strategy. Like I said they are opportunists.

they could have a hundred years but until the nrl takes a serious interest in investing in growing the game there nothing will change. It won’t just happen. A sporadic nrl game won’t make it happen. It needs a concerted long term strategy and investment, and nrl has shown zero interest/vision for such a thing anywhere.

Red&BlackBear

You reap what you sow, like I said nrl has done very little to grow the game nationally in the last 20 years.
Previously there has been no genuine capital, equity and funds to be able to properly service interstate comps to the degree some including yourself wish.

The game has only had proper capital to even start contemplating making financially beneficial moves post covid recently, very recently actually.

What money there was had to be spent on the states that produce the players that create the product now. Sure maybe tad more of what was available could have gone into interstate systems to prepare for 20/30 years down the track but the reward (aka the NRL quality players produced) would have still been very minimal. Double edged sword.

End of the day the game live and dies based on its product and the product is based and resourced from the players that come through the NSW and QLD systems (even majority of pacific heritage players come through these systems).

Previously there has been no genuine capital, equity and funds to be able to properly service interstate comps to the degree some including yourself wish.

The game has only had proper capital to even start contemplating making financially beneficial moves post covid recently, very recently actually.

What money there was had to be spent on the states that produce the players that create the product now. Sure maybe tad more of what was available could have gone into interstate systems to prepare for 20/30 years down the track but the reward (aka the NRL quality players produced) would have still been very minimal. Double edged sword.

End of the day the game live and dies based on its product and the product is based and resourced from the players that come through the NSW and QLD systems (even majority of pacific heritage players come through these systems).
Convenient excuse.

Red&BlackBear

Convenient excuse.
So you’re counter arguing that 1) it doesn’t take money to resource intestate footy development and 2) what funding there is shouldn’t be spent on NSW and QLD where 90% of the players come from systems wise?

Do you understand how silly you sound? How can something be funded when there’s not enough to fund it to a degree you deem satisfactory?

SirPies&Beers

Clearly perth reds thinks the game doesn’t need to put importance on nsw and qld where majority of player pool is. clearly he thinks you can buy a house without having the cash to do it. maybe real estate will take sand as payment. clearly he is now expert on finances and junior rugby league across the nation, must be from all those coffee dates he had

So you’re counter arguing that 1) it doesn’t take money to resource intestate footy development and 2) what funding there is shouldn’t be spent on NSW and QLD where 90% of the players come from systems wise?

Do you understand how silly you sound? How can something be funded when there’s not enough to fund it to a degree you deem satisfactory?
I think it’s an excuse for lack of vision of growing the game beyond its traditional heartlands. In real terms funding for the so called ‘affiliated states’ has gone backwards in Relation to nrl revenue over the last decade plus.

If the nrl took just half the revenue they get from those states buying events and invested it back into these areas funding would be quadrupled and we would see a very different landscape for the game outside nsw and qlnd.

WARL funded and started up a sg ball program that had started to produce nrl players, nrl closed it down when they took over the WARL.
Like I said you reap what you sow.

Red&BlackBear

I think it’s an excuse for lack of vision of growing the game beyond its traditional heartlands. In real terms funding for the so called ‘affiliated states’ has gone backwards in Relation to nrl revenue over the last decade plus.

If the nrl took just half the revenue they get from those states buying events and invested it back into these areas funding would be quadrupled and we would see a very different landscape for the game outside nsw and qlnd. Like I said you reap what you sow.

The revenue goes back to the clubs and players that produce the product. No product = no events.

Now that the game is finally in the midst of rebuilding its coffers to a point it can start investing properly I think you’ll start seeing more streaming into affiliated states.

But again how much do you actually spend if the only return is going to be a dozen players born in those states filtering into the NRL? There’s a vastly complex bigger picture that goes beyond your pout posts.

As for you reap what you sow comment, genuine question mate why do you even follow the game? All you seem to do is throw out little snarky comments like this time and time again. You know what the game has reaped? Biggest profits and revenue, participation numbers, viewership numbers, crowd attendances, merchandise sales, general growth of the game has ever seen. I’d say that’s a might fine sow.

Vlad59

Clearly perth reds thinks the game doesn’t need to put importance on nsw and qld where majority of player pool is. clearly he thinks you can buy a house without having the cash to do it. maybe real estate will take sand as payment. clearly he is now expert on finances and junior rugby league across the nation, must be from all those coffee dates he had
What he and I are saying is that to call the game truly Australian you need to invest outside traditional markets in order to truly expand. It’s not a difficult concept. Until you try and build the best game in the world with a funding base of $20000 a year, (which is what my league was given to develop league and run comps in a state with nearly 500000 people) you won’t understand how small the vision of the nrl has been and the countless opportunities it has lost to grow its profile, player base, tv viewing potential and sponsorship. It’s as simple as that. I typed that slowly to give you time to understand it.

SirPies&Beers

The revenue goes back to the clubs and players that produce the product. No product = no events.

Now that the game is finally in the midst of rebuilding its coffers to a point it can start investing properly I think you’ll start seeing more streaming into affiliated states.

But again how much do you actually spend if the only return is going to be a dozen players born in those states filtering into the NRL? There’s a vastly complex bigger picture that goes beyond your pout posts.

As for you reap what you sow comment, genuine question mate why do you even follow the game? All you seem to do is throw out little snarky comments like this time and time again. You know what the game has reaped? Biggest profits and revenue, participation numbers, viewership numbers, crowd attendances, merchandise sales, general growth of the game has ever seen. I’d say that’s a might fine sow.
Yeah but is it enough? what about Perth reds 3 juniors from glenelg that will be nrl ready in 2076. better start investing millions right now for those 3 players in 50 years time

Vlad59

I understand what you are saying but the fact is the fumblers aggressively attacked our markets 30 years ago with the same financial base. We sat back and did nothing. I’m not talking about just creating top level clubs. I’m talking about ensuring the product was shown live or even at all in states like mine. I’m talking about trying to have even a marginal presence in markets like mine. Whether we like it or not despite all the excuse making they were ambitious and seriously believed in their game. We hid in the trenches. You can’t win a war by staying enclosed in your borders. I think we can agree things have improved but there is a bloody long way to go.

Red&BlackBear

I understand what you are saying but the fact is the fumblers aggressively attacked our markets 30 years ago with the same financial base. We sat back and did nothing. I’m not talking about just creating top level clubs. I’m talking about ensuring the product was shown live or even at all in states like mine. I’m talking about trying to have even a marginal presence in markets like mine. Whether we like it or not despite all the excuse making they were ambitious and seriously believed in their game. We hid in the trenches. You can’t win a war by staying enclosed in your borders. I think we can agree things have improved but there is a bloody long way to go.
You’re right, I agree with everything you’re saying. But that isn’t what I’m debating. I’m making a point that the game just didn’t have the funds to try dictate terms and grow interstate like Perth Reds has it in his head that it should have.

Yes it did go backwards in those states but considering a fair few of the clubs weren’t in great financial positions and the game lives and flourishes off its available resource pool there’s absolutely nothing wrong in them staying back and fixing their own back yard first.

Now that it has and has cash in the coffers it can finally move forward again. To what degree though remains to be seen. Unfortunately this isn’t a convenient excuse, it just was what it was.

Vlad59

You’re right, I agree with everything you’re saying. But that isn’t what I’m debating. I’m making a point that the game just didn’t have the funds to try dictate terms and grow interstate like Perth Reds has it in his head that it should have.

Yes it did go backwards in those states but considering a fair few of the clubs weren’t in great financial positions and the game lives and flourishes off its available resource pool there’s absolutely nothing wrong in them staying back and fixing their own back yard first.

Now that it has and has cash in the coffers it can finally move forward again. To what degree though remains to be seen. Unfortunately this isn’t a convenient excuse, it just was what it was.
I agree except our major competitor was brave enough to take its god awful game and promote itself to new markets and we didn’t. Their approach was completely different to ours not forgetting they had clubs going to the wall and wholesale opposition to expansion by traditional markets. They changed their structure, tyrannised the clubs into submission and acceptance of change and went out to spread the gospel. We can argue forever about how successful that’s been regarding tv viewers but in terms of sponsorship, profile , participation and crowds they have gone ahead of us.