Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bulldogs sponsor vents fury at David Gallop

cyberdj

Storm shouldn't be allowed to earn any points this year, even if they trim the salaries to the cap or off-load people. If they had complied with the cap, then a player or two would be at other clubs, and we could of had entirely different results for other clubs. In a perfect world they should be barred from playing this season, but TV Rights deal might have issues with that. Not playing for any REAL reason, will we see any games where they fix the result to ensure in-the-know punters make a killing? They cheated the cap, why couldn't they do that too? I would hate to see them throw the last game of the season if the opposition was battling it out for the minor premiership.

I don't know the answers on how to fix this monumental f-up by Storm, all I know is I won't attend another game this year, after regular attendances since their inception, including interstate travel. I'll be back next year when they tow the line... I like the idea of a reduced salary cap equivalent to what they went over by... even if it means supporting them next year with them fighting to stay off the bottom of the ladder.
If any of the players knew of the rorting, they should be sacked and unable to register to play at another club next year. All officials involved should be sacked with a life-time ban from an involvement at a club in the NRL.

What a waste of money Mr Jaycar...

Signed,
A disgruntled Storm supporter, just as p!ssed as many of you.

seaeagle sam

Hi all,
The sponsor has every right to say and even advertise what he believes. It's just in this case his belief is a bunch of bollocks.
I, like many, would like to see the Storm play for points from the point in the comp they get under the salary cap but it's not going to happen. You just can't sack Finch because he put them over the cap as that is obviously wrong.
As it is they have to drop over a million bucks worth of talent between now and the start of next year. Then the Storm will have to replace at least some of the lost players with others at a cost of at least 55k each just to make up a squad. That's a big ask but they haven't got a choice if they want to be in the comp.
A very big job. Once they dismantle this squad, I can't seeing the Storm being competitive for at least the next five years.

The penalty is neither unfair or to harsh it just equates to the crime.

Oh, and Gould really is a bullying, arrogant knob.

Hey look, Roosters fans trying to defend the Storm.

I wonder why?

I'm not wondering why Sharks fans are happy with Storm playing for 0, that much is blatantly obvious.

Also, point out one single place in this entire forum where I ( I assume you're referring to me, I don't recall any other Roosters fans in this thread) defended the Storm.

chrisD

Once again, if you just looked at the arguments you will see that they explain it. I have explained it in other posts but now you suddenly say that I haven't.

You mean that explanation that had players being forced off contract mid-season when no-one has any room to move under the cap (or the cash if they do)? That furthers the Storms' players from the regular normal legal player market? The one that proposes the movement of players prior to the completion of investigations that started yesterday? Opening the door for the rot to spread and infect this season even further as well as potentially devaluing innocent players. The one where you somehow manage to not notice that handing the clubs already beaten by the storm free wins unfairly disadvantages the rest of the comp who would have to play them for their points? Not to the mention the disadvantage for teams who have actually already beat them. And the plan that is inconsistent with the punishment handed down to the Bulldogs? And allows a team who attempted to cheat this season the chance to win this season. That plan?

For the sake of brevity we'll just call it Plan F.

Springs

You mean that explanation that had players being forced off contract mid-season when no-one has any room to move under the cap (or the cash if they do)? That furthers the Storms' players from the regular normal legal player market? The one that proposes the movement of players prior to the completion of investigations that started yesterday? Opening the door for the rot to spread and infect this season even further as well as potentially devaluing innocent players. The one where you somehow manage to not notice that handing the clubs already beaten by the storm free wins unfairly disadvantages the rest of the comp who would have to play them for their points? Not to the mention the disadvantage for teams who have actually already beat them. And the plan that is inconsistent with the punishment handed down to the Bulldogs? And allows a team who attempted to cheat this season the chance to win this season. That plan?

For the sake of brevity we'll just call it Plan F.

Well I answered your posts more politely than the rubbish you just spilled out. You have heard it all before so why should I say it again? You just ignored basically all of my arguments. It doesn't matter about clubs not being able to compete for signatures. What about Finch? Is itnot fair on the English clubs that were the only ones going to sign him? Geez complete the player investigations then, I'm sure they are going to affect the comp a lot in reserve grade.
There is a difference between playing a legal team and an illegal team. The teams would get two points because they played an illegal team, the other teams that played them would be playing a legal team. This causes no more problems than the current situation where all clubs are cheated of two points. And the teams that beat them already, god they beat an illegal team what more do they want? They got two points they cannot be disadvantaged, they already have the max reward.

And oh yes, the current situation I am sure is identical to the Bulldogs. Hang on, weren't the Bulldogs allowed to play for points even with an illegal side (which is worse than what I am suggesting) and then allowed to keep that very same squad and win a premiership two years later. Yeah, exactly identical to this situation, right chrisD???

A publicity stunt for sure. I'd never heard of Jaycar until I saw this thread. Now I know the name.

Evenflow

A publicity stunt for sure. I'd never heard of Jaycar until I saw this thread. Now I know the name.

You should really get out more. Or at the very least watch more footy given the Jaycar name is plastered across the front of the Dogs jersey :eek:

Ike E Bear

Storm shouldn't be allowed to earn any points this year, even if they trim the salaries to the cap or off-load people. If they had complied with the cap, then a player or two would be at other clubs, and we could of had entirely different results for other clubs. In a perfect world they should be barred from playing this season, but TV Rights deal might have issues with that. Not playing for any REAL reason, will we see any games where they fix the result to ensure in-the-know punters make a killing? They cheated the cap, why couldn't they do that too? I would hate to see them throw the last game of the season if the opposition was battling it out for the minor premiership.

I don't know the answers on how to fix this monumental f-up by Storm, all I know is I won't attend another game this year, after regular attendances since their inception, including interstate travel. I'll be back next year when they tow the line... I like the idea of a reduced salary cap equivalent to what they went over by... even if it means supporting them next year with them fighting to stay off the bottom of the ladder.
If any of the players knew of the rorting, they should be sacked and unable to register to play at another club next year. All officials involved should be sacked with a life-time ban from an involvement at a club in the NRL.

What a waste of money Mr Jaycar...

Signed,
A disgruntled Storm supporter, just as p!ssed as many of you.

Great post. I agree with you.

I think playing for no points is actually consistent with the Bulldogs penalty ... the point is to ensure they won't be able to qualify for the finals. They could have just as easily given them -37 points - same result.

I still think it would be worthwhile to force the Storm to reduce their playing roster to a level that brings the team under the cap.

Even that, though, raises issues since some teams would have played against an "illegal" team and others a team under the cap - which they could reasonably argue they should be compensated for.

It is a massive mess and I appreciate that, as a Storm fan, you grasp who is to really blame for that mess.

You should really get out more. Or at the very least watch more footy given the Jaycar name is plastered across the front of the Dogs jersey :eek:

I'm not a Dogs supporter obviously, nor do I give a flying f**k about doing my car with up so it's completely irresistible to 16 year old girls hanging outside North Parra Maccas. Maybe they're a big name in the Canterbuyry district. But in Western Sydney they are not.

Glenn

So the sponsor by virtue of his letters for the fans condones cheating.
Why should Melbourne be playing for points when they are over the cap?

Storming Norman

I respect this guy for putting his $$ where his mouth is. Supporting the game is something that we need more businesses to do. However, what his talking about is crap. It's not helping and just being more divisive.

Everyone just needs to face the facts.

Melbourne Cheated the game.
Melbourne Cheated the other clubs.
Melbourne Cheated the other players.
Melbourne Cheated the fans.

There is no easy way to fix this that will appease everyone.
There is no method of getting Melbourne to comply to the rules this year that will be fair to all other clubs, their players and their supporters. Someone, some group, somewhere will feel slighted and dudded.

This is not the fault of David Gallop.
This is not the fault of the NRL.
This is not the fault of the other 15 clubs.

It is the sole fault of the Melbourne Storm.

I argree FULLY with everything until the last sentence.

The question I ask you is what has the Storm fans have to do with rorting the system? I am a innocent party and the rest of the Storm Fans are innocent.

Fui!!!

Cronk said none of the players are going to leave.

So even if the NRL lets them, they are not going to get down under the Cap this year.

Discussion Over.

LazyDreamer

The last line of the ad does it for me:

"I don’t endorse what Melbourne did but I love watching the football they play!"

So the end justifies the means?

Merkin. And he wasted $25,000 doing it! :crazy:

chrisD

Well I answered your posts more politely than the rubbish you just spilled out. You have heard it all before so why should I say it again? You just ignored basically all of my arguments. It doesn't matter about clubs not being able to compete for signatures. What about Finch? Is itnot fair on the English clubs that were the only ones going to sign him? Geez complete the player investigations then, I'm sure they are going to affect the comp a lot in reserve grade.
There is a difference between playing a legal team and an illegal team. The teams would get two points because they played an illegal team, the other teams that played them would be playing a legal team. This causes no more problems than the current situation where all clubs are cheated of two points. And the teams that beat them already, god they beat an illegal team what more do they want? They got two points they cannot be disadvantaged, they already have the max reward.

And oh yes, the current situation I am sure is identical to the Bulldogs. Hang on, weren't the Bulldogs allowed to play for points even with an illegal side (which is worse than what I am suggesting) and then allowed to keep that very same squad and win a premiership two years later. Yeah, exactly identical to this situation, right chrisD???

I wrote a long post taking you to task on each point but I lost it and can't be assed to rewrite it, but I'll summarise.

I replied to your last nonsense post in that thread and here you are yet again claiming plan F is infallible and no-one can show otherwise.

• Can't just snap our fingers and have the investigations be concluded.
  • Finch situation was far from ideal, not the situation we should be trying to repeat, let alone force on behalf of a cheating club. Situation made worse given the Storm players have been illegally witheld from the market through Storm cheating.
  • Clubs don't have cap space to sign players mid season.
  • Storm players are on contracts, mutual agreements must be reached for players to be released.
  • Clubs will have trepidations signing a Storm player about to have an auditor crawling up their arse.
  • Storm players may go to another club, play, and then be found involved, further infecting the comp.
  • Storm players may be found to be involved who are playing for Storm when they re-enter playing for points.
  • Bulldogs sh*t was nonsense. The Bulldogs were handed a punishment assuring that they would finish last in the season they attempted to cheat the salary cap, completely in line with that of the Storms punishment for the same offence. They can take 37 points away from the Storm and let them play for points if you really insist on arguing semantics, I don't care.The NRL have admitted and learnt from their Bulldogs mistake with regards to breaking the team up.
  • A free 2 points for having lost to the illegal Storm is not at all equal to having to compete with a "legal" Storm team for 2 points. The teams who beat the illegal Storm deserve something to show for the difference in their result to that of the teams who lost.

i agree you would think any team thinking of signing a storm player would have plenty of clauses in their contract to protect them from unforseen circumstances

chrisD

i agree you would think any team thinking of signing a storm player would have plenty of clauses in their contract to protect them from unforseen circumstances

A clause in a contract can't replace a player instantly or halt negative publicity. It'd be a big punt, and it'd be reflected in the players price, which is completely unfair on an innocent player.

Lambretta

Never shopping at Jaycar again....

Wanker!!!

I have not seen one intelligent comment from a Dragons fan on these forums since this whole thing blew up.

My god. A man puts forward an opinion that the salary cap is flawed (as thousands have said before him) and that the CEO of the NRL needs to address the situation (as thousands have said before) and all we get is comments like that.

My god 1999 must burn you lot so f**king hard.

YOU LOST THE GAME. Melbourne didn't cheat you out of it.

You're total lack of insight on the issue is purely down to jealousy. Melbourne build a winning culture based on developing their own players.

How did St George build that 11 Premiership run their fans are so proud of? Buying all the best players and bribing referees (if the legends from the Wests camp are to be believed).

And all we hear from you lot is calls of cheat, cheat, cheat.

Its been noted that people in glass houses shouldnt throw stones. I suggest you put that f**king great big rock down cos your World is made of glass :p