Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

BULLDOGS v BRISBANE *live updates & discussion* LET'S GET IT ON!

Stewie Griffin

maybe i did.. but then im very tired right now and thinking about watching the EPL for the next 5 hours is getting me through...:D

GO MANUTD!!!!:lol:

salivor

I heard Asotasi had no lateral movement at the moment but he looked to be moving pretty well in that drill they showed on the Footy Show.

salivor

Stewie Griffin said:
maybe i did.. but then im very tired right now and thinking about watching the EPL for the next 5 hours is getting me through...:D

GO MANUTD!!!!:lol:

Now you're on the right track, go the Red Devils!

Stewie Griffin

sad to hear giggs and park gone for 3 weeks and 3 months respectively... a sad couple of months in the mids department up ahead... i thought in the champions league match against celtic manu got torn up in the mid... could of been patched up by park, but not ole, who played wing or richardson...

Jumper jinxed: Bulldogs prop Asotasi
Sunday Sep 17 17:59 AEST

Injured Bulldogs prop Roy Asotasi's chances of taking on Brisbane in Friday night's NRL preliminary final against Brisbane will be determined by a visit to a knee specialist on Tuesday. His chances of running out in his usual No.10 jumper appear slim either way.

Asotasi is convinced No.10 is cursed, believing it ruined former Bulldogs skipper Steve Price's finals campaign in 2004 and almost put paid to his dreams of finishing his stint at the club with a grand final win.

The South Sydney-bound prop hasn't played since suffering a grade two medial ligament tear in the round 24 loss to the Broncos, but looks set to complete a remarkable recovery and take to the paddock for Friday night's re-match.

Lock Reni Maitua also looks likely to play after his knee also worked fine during this morning's training session.

"I feel pretty confident at the moment but it's still a 50-50 chance," Asotasi said.

"I've got to see the specialist. He's the main guy that is going to give me the green light.

"The medical staff's pretty confident, I'm confident in myself that I could be a late inclusion for the end of the week."

Anyone in doubt as to Asotasi's determination to play need only have turned up to Belmore Oval over the past couple of days.

While the rest of his teammates were given Friday and Saturday off, Asotasi continued to work through his recovery, running up and down the sidelines at the Bulldogs training base as an under 13s game was played.

He said he would be happy to start or come off the bench against the Broncos, as long as he didn't have to wear the No.10 jumper.

"I definitely don't want to be wearing the No.10...Pricey had it and it was jinxed before so I don't want to be wearing that," said Asotasi, referring to the knee injury which rubbed Price out of the club's 2004 grand final triumph.

"I have worn it for a while but Pricey wore it last time in the semi-finals and that didn't do him any good.

"I wouldn't want to wear it, I'll be letting Folksy know I do not want to wear it, but if we do get to the grand final I'd definitely like to wear it.

"I think it's just a superstition...I don't care, any (other) number will do me."

Coach Steve Folkes said he would be guided by the specialists report on Tuesday but backed both Asotasi and Maitua to overcome their injuries.

"If I was a betting man, which I'm not, I'd say they'll both play," Folkes said.

"Reni's more a chance than Roy.

"They're both confident and the mindset's really important, they did some agility stuff this morning and came through that really well and Roy's really positive, no-one knows his body better than him."

Folkes said he was unsure how to accommodate both Maitua and Asotasi into his pack with Sonny Bill Williams set to be retained in the forwards after playing most of the season out in the backs.

AAP 2006

:lol: Stewie mate... :arrow: While you still look stupid. Please.

salivor

Apart from Liverpool though there's not too many tough matches in the next couple of months in the EPL so we should be right.

Stewie Griffin

while i still look stupid?? the only people who said i was stupid were you and salivor, but you are still arguing... hmmm get my drift??

Stewie Griffin

Darren Lockyer's 55th-minute try moved him to 1464 points and ahead of Michael De Vere at the top of the Broncos' all-time pointscorers' chart. Asked if he felt honoured, Lockyer said: "I'll swap you for a premiership."

what a champion!!!! :) :) :)

Stewie Griffin

bah... not making significant transfers during the transfer season apart from "carrick", who in my opnion is not worth 18mil pounds, is kind of bad cause manu is not a club always short in the mids, but you look at our mids now, sure they are a very good, great midfield, but no huge umphs get be said about them... desperately needed huge signings...T.T

Timmah said:
gee i hope Roy makes it back

i hope so as well, it would be great to have him back, on a positive note he was on the footyshow and he was doing well training with, the rest of the squad, he should be training tomorrow as well, i just hope he convinces his doctor on tuesday that he will be okay for the game on friday

renouf

Even if he does play he won't make that big of a difference.. not while his knee is still 50-50.. I know when Webcke played with a similar injury last year and the year before he struggled.

Our hopes aren't reliant on him but he's a massive plus if he does play. Maitua's return is good enough for me... based on how well we played in the conditions against Canberra, especially Sherwin and O'Meley... I just think we have a good contest coming up. It will definitely go down to the wire.

stuh

salivor said:
1. Karmichael Hunt
2. Darius Boyd
3. Brent Tate
4. Justin Hodges
5. Tame Tupou
6. Darren Lockyer
7. Shane Perry
8. Shane Webcke
9. Shaun Berrigan
10. Petero civoniceva
11. David Stagg
12. Sam Thaiday
13. Tonie Carroll

14. Brad Thorn
15. Ben Hannant
16. Corey Parker
17. Casey McGuire

3 reps on the bench, how good is that side? We could make it 4 if we replaced Hannant with Carlaw.

I think they will replace Hannant with Carlaw, they bloody well should anyway.
I also think that Thorn will start again, and Stagg will probably play off the bench. If Thiaday gets in trouble, Parker should start I reckon, but I tend to think he should start every week. This would bring Hannant back in.