Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Burns signs with Cowboys

circling eagle

Shame to see him go, heres hoping it doesnt come back to bite us, he has a lot of fire in the belly and is gunna be a great pick up outside Thurston

lockyno1

Difference- Lockyer was already a playmaker at fullback. Lyon is a ball runner, not a ball player. And his defence is Super League-like, ie. non existant half the time!

Beavers Headgear said:
Not that fussed about him leaving

In 3 games this season Lyon has shown more skill and potential in attack at 6, and is a better defender than Burns too.

Lyon will be a far better 6 than Burns in 5 years time

All the Lyon will never be a 5/8, get him back to centre talk is very reminicent of what i heard for about 6 months about Lockyer, lucky the people with the footy knowledge than ran the club stayed with it instead of listening to the fans
Lyon will be 130kg's in 5 years time.

Zeke

SOULS 04 said:
great signing i reckon and you gotta laugh at the clown who thinks the manly 1679 are better.... but at least it was just 1

Yeah they are heaps better, that's why Manly are ahead of the Cowboys on the ladder - goose, or should I say geese, there are a few of you on this forum, all supporting teams well below Manly!:lol:

Stewart is equal to Bowen in attack, and better defensively (especially under the high ball). Lyon is better than Burns, Thurston is better than Orford, and Ballin is a star in the making and will be better than Payne when he is in the 9 jersey next year.

Downie

Guest Moderator
Zeke said:
Stewart is equal to Bowen in attack

Even as a Manly fan I'd say this is definitely not true. Bowen absolutely rips it with the ball in hand and his support play is just as good as Stewart's. In defence, yeah, though Stewart has gone a bit soft in the 1-on-1's this year. Last year he was unbeatable.

Pigskin

MSIH said:
1. Stewart
6. Lyon
7. Orford
9. Ballin

Is better, and why Burns left.

This is an unbelievably funny statement

Try looking at things objectively and you'll realise none of the above would make the Cowboys starting side ...

:lol: @ Manly .... Monaghan/Burns > Orford/Lyon

Oink !

Downie

Guest Moderator
Pigskin said:

Try looking at things objectively and you'll realise none of the above would make the Cowboys starting side ...

Oink !

Agreed. Scott Minto is so much better than Jamie Lyon :sarcasm:

Zeke

Pigskin said:

Oink !

What I find funny is that if they are so good, why didn't they even make the eight last year and are behind Manly again this year??? Please explain Einstein ??

Bowen is sharp no doubt, but his defence lets him down, Burns does not know how to feed his outside men (something the Cowboys will learn soon enough), Payne is solid and is a good player, but Ballin will be special in the coming years. Thurston, yes he is awesome, but overall, he is the only one I'd have over the Manly counterparts, and comparing the team's performances over this year and last year supports that.

Disco

Burns may not be a cliffy lyons in terms of putting people through gaps, but !%^& i love him as a player, really sad to see him go, but thats life i spose

He'll go very well for the Cow's whilst its now time for Manly to fast track Groom

Buckshot

Its incredible there are still half wits who are bagging Bowen for his defence and ability under the high ball.

Have a look at any game this year and you will see the improvements have been incredible (especially 1 on 1 tackles )

Stop living in the past and give the guy some credit .

S.S.T.I.D

MSIH said:
1. Stewart
6. Lyon
7. Orford
9. Ballin

Is better, and why Burns left.

Aaaaahhhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Garts

wittyfan said:
Burns said on 10 News that the Cowboys are set for a premiership in the next few years, unlike his current club.

lol, im sure he said exactly that you idiot.

I have no doubt he would have said they are set for a premiership but I dont believe the end bit.

Billybob

who here actually watches Bowens defence this year

geez you cant all live in the past

if his defence has not improved out of sight im not here

and if he is sooo bad at the high ball why dont teams kick the ball up in the air to him
it doesnt make sence

he'll get about 12 bombs a year

why???
if he has a weakness attack that weakness

sounds like a stereotyped cop out to me

Oh and good signing by the cows
hopefully they can get some good years out of this team before the salary cap pulls it apart

miccle

Cows looking awesome for 08 IMO. Burns is SUCH a good signing (I hoped that we would snag him, but Wallace's signing is still great) and he could form a deadly combo with Thurston next year.

If Thursto keeps up this sort of form, the Cowboys have plenty of speed in the backline, great organisers in Burns and Payne to take some pressure off JT coupled with a very well-oiled pack.

On first glance, they will take some beating.

effnic

MSIH said:
Souths beat you. Tard.
Uber Pwned biatch.
Good signing by the cowboys, they will/should win a premiership in the next 3 years................but we all said that about the saints and there perfect on paper team. Im glad he went to the cowboys there probably one of a few team i dont mind, probably because they have about 3 fans on lu less to piss me off.