Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Calling to ALL Parra Fan's

Utey

This is a calling we need your saturday and we need to fill PARRA Stadium. I forget what it feels like with a full house. Comon 11000 was good against Manly and imagine what the boys can do with 15-20K. Raise your flags and chant your team on to 3 straight.

The one game all year I want to be at......... and the wife puts her foot down. Not exactly but her work has had this dinner planned for two months and I have been told we need to go. Oh well...........

:(

Guys,

From someone who has only been to Parra once in my whole life (should made the most of it as single bloke and jumped on a plane more often), why is it that the crowds at Parra aren't that great....is Pay TV the major reason??

It seems that Penrith (even prior to their flag), Manly and Tiges can pull a crowd but I would have thought that with an area the size of Parramatta we would go close to packing out the stadium whenever we play (results aside).

Would we pull better crowds with arvo games as opposed to night??

eels_fan

I'll be there cheering my lungs out! You should have bought season tickets Colonel..then you could have said "look Hunny, i cant waste the tickets...i've paid for em!" always works when my girlfriend says "you're always at the bloody footy!" :lol: :lol:

eels_fan said:
I'll be there cheering my lungs out! You should have bought season tickets Colonel..then you could have said "look Hunny, i cant waste the tickets...i've paid for em!" always works when my girlfriend says "you're always at the bloody footy!" :lol: :lol:

Naaaaah I get free tickets! ;-)

My mate has my season ticket now and he hardly goes..... :roll:

Colonel Eel said:
The one game all year I want to be at......... and the wife puts her foot down. Not exactly but her work has had this dinner planned for two months and I have been told we need to go. Oh well...........

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm glad I'm not the only one under the thumb!!!...but hey! atleast I'll be released from detention for a few hours on saturday.........I think :oops:

Belly in Brisvegas said:
Guys,

From someone who has only been to Parra once in my whole life (should made the most of it as single bloke and jumped on a plane more often), why is it that the crowds at Parra aren't that great....is Pay TV the major reason??

It seems that Penrith (even prior to their flag), Manly and Tiges can pull a crowd but I would have thought that with an area the size of Parramatta we would go close to packing out the stadium whenever we play (results aside).

Would we pull better crowds with arvo games as opposed to night??

eelavation said:
Colonel Eel said:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm glad I'm not the only one under the thumb!!!...but hey! atleast I'll be released from detention for a few hours on saturday.........I think :oops:

Actually the boss comes to most of the day games with my son but this week....... :roll:

Belly,

You pose an interesting question, one that has always bewildered me as well.

The obvious answer is that despite a HUGE following generally, we have fickle fans. That is a thought that I don't like to entertain, but maybe it is true.

I also wonder at the changing demographics and why that hasn't helped our atteneances. When I went to the old Cumberland Oval as a kid, the crowds were nearly always huge. Considering the population growth in the area since then, you would think that crowds may have increased accordingly. There are over a million people in Sydneys west, with really only three teams to support - Tigers, Panthers and Eels.
I know that kids like to grow up following a winning team, and therefore many kids in the area may have taken a liking to other teams like the Knights, Roosters etc.....

But I am still bewildered, and have been for many years, why Parramatta cannot regularly attract 15-20 000.
Marketing, prices, success, entertainment value..............???????

Or just fickleness??

Who knows.

WTF happened to my post?

Anyway, Suity said exactly what I was thinking.

We have one of the largest supporter bases. However, we also deem it necessary not to attend the games if we are struggling.

Personally, I always like to attend - maybe more so when we struggle. I like it when the crowd (as on Sunday) gives the players their support and helps lift them.

And don't worry about me - I'll be there will bells on.

To quote the memorable Mask, "SOMEBODY SSSSSSSSTOP ME!!!!!"

Freak

I believe it is a combination of many factors.
The biggest element being the introduction of Pay TV. Especially on Saturdays.
Why go to the ground pay your way in, when you can either go to your local pub or stay at home and watch not 1 game but 3!!

Like most clubs our crowd size grows substantially with success. If we were in the top 4 at the moment we would get minimum 15g their this weekend.
However if we can get 12g I think that would be considered a good result!!

Freak said:
I believe it is a combination of many factors.
The biggest element being the introduction of Pay TV. Especially on Saturdays.
Why go to the ground pay your way in, when you can either go to your local pub or stay at home and watch not 1 game but 3!!

Like most clubs our crowd size grows substantially with success. If we were in the top 4 at the moment we would get minimum 15g their this weekend.
However if we can get 12g I think that would be considered a good result!!

I know pay TV has had a significant impact on crowds. But a game of this stature, and in our current predicament, 25 years ago would have still attracted 18 000, to a ground that was not much better than the local tip.

Where has the enthusiasm and passion gone amongst the masses??
It is still there with the hard core, but why not the fringe supporters??

Another point Freak,

Average crowds have actually increased since the introduction of Pay TV.
So maybe it hasn't had the detrimental effect that we might think.
Therefore, there must be other, not so obvious reasons.

Isn't that what part of being a supporter is about?

Obviously you want to see your team win.

But I think a big part of the reason to go watch the footy is to do your bit and be as loud and suportive as possible.

Some people argue that that doesn't help.

Watch the game against Manly, where the crowd RANDOMLY (OK, sometimes the announcer started it, but a lot of the time the crowd started it on their own) started the "Parra *clap* *clap* *clap*" chant, and the boys did lift.