Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

calories...losing weight etc

mr_sharks

just make sure you aren't stuffing yourself with food three times a day, then letting your blood sugar levels drop a couple of hours later (if you did this you'd be much more likely to binge eat).
In terms of greens, cook heaps with dinner and take some to work with you for a snack. It could be asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower - it doesn't have to be "green", just healthy. Carrots are good too.

shadow grinder

great...i love carrots!!!!

Thanks for that Saab.....now i know what you mean by it is going to take a fair bit of effort. But im up for it :)

shadow grinder

hopefully this is the last question for awhile....

how about potato? is that a good or bad thing to be eating?

also what about potato wwedges...not cooked in oil, these ones are birds eyes low fat, no cholestarol ones...they sweet to eat?

On occasion yes.
You cant eat celery sticks all the time, but just eat the wedges in moderation.

mr_sharks

Like everything, moderation. Potato is OK, just don't go eating heaps late at night as it is a carbo - you need to burn it off. Not too keen of wedges if you are seeking to lose weight - especially if you are loading sweet chilli and sour cream on top. It's ok it you've only got a few on your plate with vegies and a bit of meat. MODERATION, today's key word.

shadow grinder

cool.

i just had like 6 wedges with tomato, lettuce and carrot. i dont eat them all the time but coz its low in fat and stuff i thought they would be alright.

northey

Over the past 2 days ive only had like 2 glasses of coke

i haven't had any fizzy drinks for about 6 years now, and i feel so much better.

i find that you have to 're-train' yourself, so when you feel hungry instead of going to the kitchen for a packet of chips e.t.c grab some fruit.

shadow grinder

thing is tho guys...with the 6 small meals...will i be hitting 2000 calories or there abouts? It seems alot of the healthy foods and foods that i need to eat have sh*t all cal...meaning ill prolly have to eat more right?

Like today already...i doubt i would have even reached 200 calories and its 1 in the arvo.

Dont worry about counting calories too much. It will do your head it.
Eat smart, medium portions for the 3 major meals and smaller portions for snacks. Exercise almost daily and you will see change.
Muscle weighs more than fat so dont always judge your progress via the scales.
Perhaps take a picture of yourself now (shirt off) and another in december and see the change

skeepe

If you're really worried about the calories you're consuming, there are plenty of places around that will design a menu for you and even deliver the food to you. For example, I'm on the Lite 'N' Easy 1500 calorie programme, so I know I'm getting roughly the amount I should be to lose the weight I need to.

Couple that with exercise and it's great. You don't need to worry about portion sizes because it's all taken care of. The added bonus with this is that it's completely balanced as well making sure you get all the nutrients you need each day.

A lot of these places can be expensive though, so it depends both how much it matters to you to count the calories, and how much you can afford. If you find you're doing fine without it, then you're doing something right. The trick is sticking with it.

shadow grinder

yeah mate i already checked with lite 'n' easy coz i liked what they had to offer but they are far to expensive for me.

Thomas

Mate, when I started hitting the gym and working out, I gained a couple of kgs.

It was pretty disheartening until my missus pointed out that I had bulked up with muscle.

Another tip is don't weigh yourself regularly...do it once every 2 weeks or so. That's when you'll notice the change.

If you keep weighing yourself you'll get annoyed because you'll only be dropping a little bit. Eat right...exercise and when you weigh yourself in a couple of weeks time, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

balmainbenny

I've had a look at this thread and thought that it's very positive to have so much helpful advice.
Have you tried the CSIRO diet?

TooheysNew

Another tip. Don't think of it as a diet. You're less inclined to keep to a diet if you call it such.

It's just eating healthy.

SSFC Hitman

Shadow I know what you are going through. I weighed 119kg and I am down to 110kg in 3 weeks. I feel fine but I am worried i am losing too much weight too fast if possible.

Here is what I generally eat:

Breaky- Cornflakes/Sultana Bran with low fat milk and an apple/banana.
or toast with vegemite (very little butter) with an apple/banana.
Sometimes I just have two apples and a banana (but that's when I don't have much time)
'
Lunch- Tuna Salad or tuna and salad sandwich. OR soup (either vegetable or tomato)

Dinner- Vegetable Soup OR grilled fish and salad or veges OR chicken and slad.

Snacks- Apples, Watermelon and bananas etc

Drinks- water only.

Is this good or not? Also as a rough guide how long would it take to lose about 40kg (and keep it off) with the above eating plan and exercise EVERY day for an hour at a medium to high intensity. BTW the only exercise I really can do because of ankle ligament damage is on the exercise bike and I vary rding length from between 30 and 40km rides.