Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cameron McInnes

Who’s the better dummyhalf for ‘22 & ‘23?

• Cameron McInnes

Votes: 46 54.8%
  • Ben Hunt

Votes: 38 45.2%

Dragons22

Further reflections on this whole situation...

The summary that Mary put out via the SMH on Cam was on the money. He's a guy that certainly gives his all both on the training paddock and on the field, which will be a big distraction initially and ultimately a big loss for us as a club.

However, as much as Cam may have been lighting up the stats sheets throughout these last two years, as a leader & captain of the club unfortunately he also needs to shoulder some of the blame for the poor overall performances of the team. He's showing a bit too much love for the old regime in my view - and this is not what we need to move forward as a club. Consequently, whether it was by his choice (due to his loyalty to Mary & the old regime), the club forcing his hand, or a combination of factors - he is now on his way out the door and good luck to him !

Those who have come out on social platforms in the last 24 hours criticizing the club for the timing of McGregor being moved on and the subsequent hiring of Hook need to give themselves a massive uppercut !!

The club, or more specifically the football team and the top to bottom operations around it, need MASSIVE change and Hook is the perfect guy to drive that change. No doubt the guy is going to ruffle a few feathers (particularly some of the players who have needed to face some harsh realities for a long time coming). Some of the decisions that will be made are going to come from left field, they probably won't make sense, and they are probably not going to be popular (as we've now seen). In the short-term, some of these decisions are going to cause massive noise and unrest among the club and its supporters. But ultimately we will be much better off in the longer term as a result.

My best advice to most fans is to stop having loyalty towards any individual player and focus on the bigger picture of how the team performs overall as Cams performances, as good as they have been, certainly haven't been good enough to improve the overall performance of the team in the last two years. I stopped having loyalty towards individual players after Gasnier more or less screwed us over by leaving his contract early, not once but twice !!

I don’t think that’s only what the SMH article said. The club failed to offer him long-term security. And so he left. It is mind boggling to me that the club couldn’t even offer the guy a long-term contract. Been the best player for the last 2 years, and is the club captain. He deserves respect. What a slap in the face to him after all he’s given this club.

I believe Mary’s departure eventually had to happen. But. I’m not sold on Hook. I wish I was and originally was willing to give him a chance. Everything I’ve heard about recruitment is mind boggling. Absolutely bizarre. He couldn’t offer McInnes a long-term deal? Is refusing to re-sign Dufty (who I think will leave because of the disrespect shown to him). Wanting to sign McCullough or Peats, two hookers which have definitely past their best. I seriously cannot comprehend these decisions.
He is ruffling feathers with the wrong people mate. He should have moved on Norman. NOT McInnes.

And what he has said about team selections confused me too? He is give a rap to Corey Norman? The most overpaid dud I have ever seen. He wants a Norman Hunt halves combination. That is a failure and it will never work. Hunt needs a real 5/8, and Norman doesn’t work, and never will.
Everyone says Hook brings up youth, which is true. So why not forget giving Norman raps and start pushing for Sullivan and Clune.
Yes the season hasn’t started yet. But he’s constant praise of Norman is very concerning.

Maybe Hook will shock me. I have an open mind. But I fail to see 2021 as a good season and think the team will not improve at all, and might even get worse as other teams get better. I want this club to succeed, and if they do I will give credit to Hook. But I’m not confident unfortunately.

With premiership winning coaches like Bennett, Bellamy and Flanagan free from 2022 onwards, I would have waited until then to hire a coach.
It’s all about the long-term.

borat

What you have is a player that wanted an offer form the club & didn't get one so the took the early opportunity to secure his next 4 years.

Nothing wrong with that from either party.

Young Host was in exactly that same position wanted an offer didn't get one so left the club he loved to secure his future.
You don’t find it alarming we have lost arguably our best 2 players in 7 months?

borat

It seems like there were very few people in your league universe that thought Mary could coach but McIness was a card carrying disciple.

I don’t mean to rude, but based on results and decisions, that was not the best call and I fear it was emotion and mateship over reality.

We all saw Mary choking up at press conferences when his name was mentioned while Friz had to tough it out at the conferences when he had a bad game.

Hook will decide when players play and in what position. Blessed by the board and Webby.

And let’s be honest, the shake up is overdue. Players generally got worse under Mary. Hunt, Norman Vaughn, Aitken...

Why couldn’t Cam see the big picture?

Why was he blubbering and in tears on Marys last day? It was unhealthy.

The club was dying, he was captain, he should have sensed the havoc and how you guys felt.

Mary had better back the club in all this.

Mary wasn’t the reason he left. We wouldn’t offer the long term deal he wanted, which at the reported value I find extremely short sighted

Dragons22

The revelations today have changed what Hook's mate Hadley said.
Hadley the bed-wetter attacked McInnes and spread lies that McInnes was still having a sook about Mary.
Of course many of us on this forum seemed to believe that was the case.
But it wasn't. So it was all about the club not offering him a long-term deal. And I back McInnes. He deserved a long-term deal. Club disrespected him. Cannot fathom why they did this.
Surely you cannot defend Hook and the club's actions over this.
We should all be gutted by the loss of the club's captain and best player over the past 2 years. He always put in 100%.
Yet again the Dragons miss out.

You don’t find it alarming we have lost arguably our best 2 players in 7 months?
Whether I find it alarming or not or for that matter whether you do is not the question at hand.

The actions taken by all parties is understandable and not unreasonable.

This is a business where players ply their trade for $$$ and certain conditions etc etc and where clubs look at the players and their wants and requirements and work out whether they consider them in the clubs best interests.

Far too many people getting wedded to the player and thinking that if they have played for St GI and we want them that they should stay for ever and they and / or the club are scum bags if they don't.

We all have an opinion as to who should be in our roster and who should be let go and that is what makes this place tick but at the end of the day we are neither the coach nor the administrative arm that have to make it all work.

So am I disappointed personally re some players coming / going for sure I am but I am understanding of the fact that those in charge have tough decisions to make and I for one am glad that we now seem to have people at the helm capable of making them and only time will tell if they get them right or wrong.

If you looked at the old regime signings of Korbin Sims, Patrick Kaufusi, Corey Norman, Isaac Luke, Williame, Fuimaono and similar type signings and extensions and then a new regime not rushing in and looking at an expression of interest in Folau (talking football only) then I know which team has the better thought process.

Sure we lose a few good players (always upsetting for supporters) but that is part of the daily process of the NRL but we need to concentrate on who we bring in and how we develop what we have and thus far in Hook I trust.

epDragon62

I am relaxed about the whole situation and I fully expect that Cam will give it everything this year.

Four years is understandably not ideal from the club's perspective and we all agree what has been dished out under McGregor is not good enough and that change is needed; guess what? This is change and I feel we open the door for a more dynamic hooker by this outcome.

As for the suggestions that Norman and Hunt should have been got rid of first, stop and think about it... Norman is on contract for exactly the same time as Cam and no one else is buying, Hunt has two years and both may yet show their talent under the new regime.

redv13

I don’t think that’s only what the SMH article said. The club failed to offer him long-term security. And so he left. It is mind boggling to me that the club couldn’t even offer the guy a long-term contract. Been the best player for the last 2 years, and is the club captain. He deserves respect. What a slap in the face to him after all he’s given this club.

I believe Mary’s departure eventually had to happen. But. I’m not sold on Hook. I wish I was and originally was willing to give him a chance. Everything I’ve heard about recruitment is mind boggling. Absolutely bizarre. He couldn’t offer McInnes a long-term deal? Is refusing to re-sign Dufty (who I think will leave because of the disrespect shown to him). Wanting to sign McCullough or Peats, two hookers which have definitely past their best. I seriously cannot comprehend these decisions.
He is ruffling feathers with the wrong people mate. He should have moved on Norman. NOT McInnes.

And what he has said about team selections confused me too? He is give a rap to Corey Norman? The most overpaid dud I have ever seen. He wants a Norman Hunt halves combination. That is a failure and it will never work. Hunt needs a real 5/8, and Norman doesn’t work, and never will.
Everyone says Hook brings up youth, which is true. So why not forget giving Norman raps and start pushing for Sullivan and Clune.
Yes the season hasn’t started yet. But he’s constant praise of Norman is very concerning.

Maybe Hook will shock me. I have an open mind. But I fail to see 2021 as a good season and think the team will not improve at all, and might even get worse as other teams get better. I want this club to succeed, and if they do I will give credit to Hook. But I’m not confident unfortunately.

With premiership winning coaches like Bennett, Bellamy and Flanagan free from 2022 onwards, I would have waited until then to hire a coach.
It’s all about the long-term.
Just checking. You would have kept McGregor for 2021??

Adolf_Spritzer

The revelations today have changed what Hook's mate Hadley said.
Hadley the bed-wetter attacked McInnes and spread lies that McInnes was still having a sook about Mary.
Of course many of us on this forum seemed to believe that was the case.
But it wasn't. So it was all about the club not offering him a long-term deal. And I back McInnes. He deserved a long-term deal. Club disrespected him. Cannot fathom why they did this.
Surely you cannot defend Hook and the club's actions over this.
We should all be gutted by the loss of the club's captain and best player over the past 2 years. He always put in 100%.
Yet again the Dragons miss out.

Do you think the continual carry on over Mary’s sacking is considered loyalty to the club he captains?He has disrespected the club in action and attitude. Bigger men move on from things like this, he couldn’t.. even in the article today he was still carrying on about him.

If you’re to believe what has been stated by himself and the media, the decision was months in the making so I think that somewhat justifies Hook because it was before his time. Apparently he was back at training for a week before informing everyone.

And a few members have stated there is more to this than meets the eye, some more credible than the next but I have faith in this forum and the eventual truth it uncovers.

It’ll be interesting revisiting this topic with some hindsight in a year or two.

Adolf_Spritzer

He put in such mighty efforts because he felt bad for his mate and the fact nobody listened to his game plans, and was made captain because of it.

As for Frizz, I think he’d be ruing his decision considering all the noise up in Newcastle.. it’s amazing the difference a year makes

getsmarty

remote.axd

McInnes: 'I will leave on great terms'

DRAGONS

I'll be a leader whether I'm captain or not: McInnes
Author
Brad Walter NRL.com Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 3 Feb 2021, 12:51 PM
walterbrad-head.png

Share on social media
Cameron McInnes wants to continue to captain the Dragons in his final season at the club and would welcome the opportunity to play alongside former Queensland hooker Andrew McCullough.

McInnes, the club's back-to-back player of the year, revealed at his first media conference since signing with Cronulla from 2022 onwards that coach Anthony Griffin had given no guarantees about the captaincy or his future when he took over at the end of last season.

Star fullback Matt Dufty and other off-contract players were told the same thing as the new coaching staff wanted to assess their form before making decisions about the make-up of St George Illawarra’s roster in future seasons.

Under Griffin, there is no leadership group and he has made no call on his captain for 2021.

“When 'Hook' [Griffin] came in he said to all of us players, ‘Don’t want worry about leadership groups, captaincy or what-not, let’s just rip into training and start to build something, then we will talk about that when footy comes’,” McInnes said.

remote.axd

Sims: Hook's a straight shooter

“We haven’t had those discussions. I’d love to be captain but if the club need to go in another direction for the future I completely understand, and I will be doing everything I can to help that person and just being a leader in my own right.”

McInnes is the only remaining member of St George Illawarra’s leadership group from just 18 months ago, with Tyson Frizell joining Newcastle this season and Gareth Widdop and James Graham moving to England last year.

The departure of the 27-year-old may just be the start of a shake-up of the Dragons roster, with 11 other players off contract at the end of this season and the club refusing to be rushed into re-signing any of them.

Throughout the whole process the club has been really honest with me and open, and I respected that because the club has done a lot for me

Cameron McInnes
However, Griffin does have two roster spots to fill before March 1 and McCullough continues to be lined with a move from Brisbane to St George Illawarra.

While there had been speculation that the interest in McCullough, who Griffin previously coached at the Broncos, was a factor in McInnes leaving, he is joining the Sharks to play lock and would be happy to do so at the Dragons.

“I want the club to be successful so if Andrew McCullough was to come I think he would add a lot to the team with his experience and his toughness,” McInnes said.

“He has played for Queensland and he has played in grand finals, so I would love to play with Macca for sure. In terms of playing hooker I don’t care.

“To be honest I have signed with the Sharks as a lock so I wouldn’t be going somewhere for four years if I wasn’t happy to play that position.

remote.axd

2021 All Stars teams announcement

“If the Dragons want me to play lock I am 100 per cent ready for that and if they need me to play hooker I’ll do that too.”

A strong supporter of previous coach Paul McGregor, McInnes insisted that he also had a good relationship with Griffin and understood why the new mentor wanted to assess his players before committing to new contracts.

“Throughout the whole process the club has been really honest with me and open, and I respected that because the club has done a lot for me,” McInnes said.

“There was nothing about ‘we don’t want to keep you’ or anything like that, it was just the timeframe. I wanted it done as early as possible. They were honest in saying the time frame doesn’t work for us to happen that quickly.

“I love the club but we can’t get away from the fact that the last few years haven’t been great so the club needs to look at what they need to do for the future.

“We finished 15th and 12th the last two years so I understand their situation. They are trying to build the club for future success.”

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2021/02/03/ill-be-a-leader-whether-im-captain-or-not-mcinnes/

Coffs dragon

Good on Cam for his interview & explanation. He seems a real straight shooter & that may have been part of the problem & solution, as Hook certainly is a straight shooter as well.
Maybe both being so honest & straightforward, they both made tough decisions with those straight lines not meeting.
I feel Cam will give his all and best for the Dragons in 2021 & Hook can plan for the teams future.

redv13

Personally I think that 5 min interview of how much he loves the club and timeframes is the biggest crock of shit that I’ve heard since Mcflop was on board.

Talk of respect and love for the club, wanting to stay, club wanting him to stay.... yeah righto CAPTAIN!!

It’s quite obvious that you were dirty and signed with Cronulla which I’m sure didn’t just happen over the weekend. I’m sure if McInnes and his agent went back to Saints and said we have offer xyz on the table from club x something could have been sorted out for both Cam and Saints a little quicker.

His loyalty to Mcflop is nearly on par with Darius and Wayne.

TruSaint

Good on Cam for his interview & explanation. He seems a real straight shooter & that may have been part of the problem & solution, as Hook certainly is a straight shooter as well.
Maybe both being so honest & straightforward, they both made tough decisions with those straight lines not meeting.
I feel Cam will give his all and best for the Dragons in 2021 & Hook can plan for the teams future.

Time will tell mate.

If its all about just wanting to secure his future, then i am ok with it. I would have liked him to stay tho.

If the love by CM for Mc Fookknuckle was so strong then you would be silly to not ask why didn’t Mc Fookknuckle return it and get him an upgrade and extension at the beginning of 2020 long before the rot set in for the coach.

Oh that’s right Flanno was in the picture by then and where do we think Flanno might be going next year?

Remember all the “upbeat” posts about Flanno being good for the club well I thought he was an over rated grub and wouldn’t be surprised he played some role in all of this too.

Forbes Creek Dragons

Yeah after hearing his explanation I’m less inclined to want him to leave early seems he will play out the season in good faith. I still hope it’s at lock though. 9 is such an important position these days I’d like to build some combos with the halves, 9 & 1. I’m more than happy for him to play lock as with JDB possibly coming back and Bird getting match fit we might actually gain something in late 2021/2022 rather that starting from scratch with a new hooker in 2022. I also feel there are more potential locks around atm than really good 9s.

redv13

If the love by CM for Mc Fookknuckle was so strong then you would be silly to not ask why didn’t Mc Fookknuckle return it and get him an upgrade and extension at the beginning of 2020 long before the rot set in for the coach.

Oh that’s right Flanno was in the picture by then and where do we think Flanno might be going next year?

Remember all the “upbeat” posts about Flanno being good for the club well I thought he was an over rated grub and wouldn’t be surprised he played some role in all of this too.

It was no surprise that Flanno was sent packing nice and early by Griffin and deemed as excess garbage

Forbes Creek Dragons

Flanno is an absolute slimeball.