Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Carney confides in Jason Smith! not looking good!

Chachi

Lime_Green said:
f**king Matthew Elliott!
Smacks of desperation doesn't it. He'll completely drop the ball with the ton of local talent he has available at Penrith by focussing on his buddies like TC.

Carney won't do himself any favours either by stepping into a new club at the expense of their local juniors.

If he goes to the Panthers we should dead set focus on plundering their juniors if they don't want them.

timmay.05

talk about selling your club short, how many juniors will be out the door cause of 1 major signing?,Top stuff matty, ruin another club, and is the more than petros on?

timmay.05 said:
talk about selling your club short, how many juniors will be out the door cause of 1 major signing?,Top stuff matty, ruin another club, and is the more than petros on?

im predicting none
and for god sakes, get a hold of yourself
if todd goes, it will not go close to ruining the club, we'll kick off to success over the next few seasons with or without todd... the question is does he want to be apart of that and play a vital role in acheiveing success with his mates for his childhood club? Or does he play for $$?

We'll find out before rd 1

timmay.05

im talkin penrith mate, prob should of made that a bit clearer, if he goes were right with herbert and campo...i got full confidence in them

timmay.05 said:
im talkin penrith mate, prob should of made that a bit clearer, if he goes were right with herbert and campo...i got full confidence in them

Fair enough mate, i retract my remarks :)

griffo346

as a panther supporter i dont want todd at our club we have enough juniors coming through we dont need someone who just will play for money (who knows he might just stay while Matty E is at our club) and then piss off again

timmay.05

griffo346 said:
as a panther supporter i dont want todd at our club we have enough juniors coming through we dont need someone who just will play for money (who knows he might just stay while Matty E is at our club) and then piss off again

like if elliott gets turfed half way through the year :D

d-a-z-z-a

Mate.... Carney is a gun player and which ever club gets him should be VERY happy. Your kidding your self if you dont believe that 95-100% of NRL players do it for the money, yeah they love playing, but this is there JOB. When people go to work the money is quite an important factor. If Carney leaves for a better deal with more money and thats what was best for him, you'd be stupid to hold a grudge against him, coz NRL is a business and this is just economics.

griffo346

timmay.05 said:
no worries, do penrith have many noticable juniors?

Mate we have a fair few hence why we are better then our first grade in lower grades sad but true.

but with the sad news of our football recruitment officer leaving to join bulldogs i feel we will lose some tallent to them :fist:

LUKE CLYDESDALE - came down from Scone plays Halfback
LACHLAN COOTE - Windsor Local plays Fullback
WADE GRAHAM - Blacktown Local plays Halfback/Five/Eighth
MASADA IOSEFA - Backtown plays Hooker/ Lock
TRENT ISELIN - came down from QLD plays Five/Eighth / Halfback
MICHAEL MATE - St Clair Junior plays Halfback
MATTHEW MINTO - came down from QLD plays Five Eighth
JOEL ROMELO - came to us from QLD via the Sharks and plays Halfback/Hooker
Greg Waddell - St Marys Junior plays in the Centres ( with his skills could be a Five Eighth option)
ZORAM WATENE - Plays Fullback/Halfback/Wing - comes from Blacktown

So answer that these players are from our 20s side and i dont think we need Todd TBH

Brimmer

Raiders hope Mal can sway Carney
By Brent Read
March 08, 2008 CANBERRA officials are desperately hoping a heart-to-heart with Raiders legend Mal Meninga has convinced half-back Todd Carney to spurn offers from rival clubs and remain in the nation's capital next season.

Meninga, a pivotal figure in the club's halcyon years and still one of the most respected figures in the game, was in Canberra this week in his capacity as Queensland State of Origin coach.

Raiders officials, after reading a story in The Australian last week in which Meninga urged Carney to show loyalty, took the opportunity to arrange a meeting between the pair.

Meninga declined to reveal details of the conversation, although he did admit the pair spoke about Carney's future.

Carney, who has received offers from Penrith and Manly, is expected to make a decision early next week on where he will play in 2009.

Melbourne winger Israel Folau, the other player whose future is attracting early season interest, will also announce his plans prior to the start of the premiership, which begins next weekend.

"I was happy to have a yarn to him about it, about my thoughts and to see where he was with his thoughts, where he sees his future," Meninga said of his chat with Carney. "He's a likeable young fellow. I would like him to stay."

Wherever he elects to base himself next year, Carney will start the 2009 season as one of the highest paid players in the game.

Penrith is believed to have weighed in with an offer which could potentially net Carney close to $500,000 a season, making him one of the top five earners in the NRL.

Even if he stays in Canberra, Carney is looking at a financial windfall.

The Panthers, given the size of their offer and the presence of former Canberra coach Matthew Elliott, were considered the frontrunners to secure Carney.

However, Canberra chief executive Don Furner is optimistic Meninga has helped the Raiders' cause.

"Obviously if Mal speaks, you listen," Furner said.

"He really talked to him about staying loyal, trying to stay at one club.

"I think Mal pointed out that he stayed at the Raiders for less money. He (Carney) listened. I hope it made some sense (to Carney). I think it did."

Meninga, a former Raiders director, admitted he felt for the club given its current situation.

Canberra has found it tough to attract players, particularly in recent years, and could lose its most promising local product should Carney decide to leave at the end of the year.

"It's the team I follow - that will never change," Meninga said of the Raiders.

"I will never follow another club. If I can do anything for them I tend to do so.

"A lot of other ex-players do it in a similar way. We're very keen for the club to survive and be successful.

"It's very hard to attract a marquee player down there. I went down there and had a fantastic 18 years."

Chachi

Monas has been in his ear too about the pitfalls of Sydney and the benefits of being in Canberra.

This decision will tell us all about the mindset of Todd Carney. If he goes for the big dollars I'm not so sure he's the type of player you want leading your club anyway. It takes a very "special" person to turn their backs on their mates and everyone who has supported them over the years for a few extra bucks. We have offered him by far the biggest contract at the club - and one of the biggest in the NRL. After the crap he's put us through he should feel honoured to be in that position.

It will be great if he stays - more for our reputation as a club than anything else, but if he does go it's not the end of the world.

Bay56

I lean towards full agreement with your sentiments Chachi but I just wonder what would have been the outcome had management not played the "mind games" (as suggested by dubby) and offered the lad a contract that at the time was "too good to refuse".

Did they ?? .... we obviously do not have the answer to that question as none of us were privy to contract negotiations ... I've got my view.

I still think (hope) he'll stay.

An offer of 500k a year, thats well above what we should and will offer
given this change in circumstances, i couldnt be filthy at todd for leaving if he did, that money is too good to pass up, and i certainly wont begrudge the boys in HQ for not getting their man, that price is flat our ridiculous. I think Mangement have handled themselves perfectly, did everything right, have tabled a very good and fair offer for todd to stay, and if not for massive overs offered by penrith, they'd have their man by now.

No fault of anyones here. Still hoping he'll stay but geez 500k a year... cant imagine anyone in the position of TC having it in them to knock that back tbh.

3 things on that...
1. Penrith are merkins, and stupid ones at that. They'll lose a few juniors down the track if Todd signs
2. Big expectations for todd to be an instant success... at that price tag, he's going to be under enormus pressure to perform and deliver the goods consistantly
3. Sydney is a bad career move for todd carney imo, its a big city, easy to find trouble in and he wont get the same hush hush treatment he gets from canberra locals... one slip up, one small arguement with a patron, one drunken stumble and he'll be back page of the tele... he'll have to rein in his antics if he signs

Chachi

Bay, that's a question I guess will never be answered. I too hope he'll stay and I think he's a good chance of doing so...depending of course on the real figures he's been offered.

Would a "knockout" offer work? What would that figure be? $500K a year over 4 years...a ridiculous notion. For me Todd is a $350K player who we would maybe go to $400K for under the circumstances.

The club clearly had a 3 year offer of around $1 million on the table for him last year. Nobody would have seen the Manly offer coming, however I think Penrith were always going to put a bid in. In that situation we'd have been crazy to jump to such a high figure straight off the bat.

IMO Penrith are fools to think a prop near the end of his career and a half who has really proven nothing in 3 seasons is worth nearly a quarter of their cap and is a recipe for success. Petro was loyal to the Broncs and is now cashing in. TC can't even use the "I told you so" motivation to improve his game. It's a disaster waiting to happen for him.

Make no mistake, we have been caught in a Matthew Elliott pissing competition. After a disasterous season the guy wants to prove his worth to Penrith and this is the only way he can do so. In so doing he's ignoring his own juniors just like he did here while watching Monaghan and McLinden walk out the door. Just pathetic.

Getting personal advice from Jason "I'm Elliot's mate and a complete whore" Smith just added to the train crash.

It's a sad sad chapter for our club but it's nice to see guys like Mal, Daley and even Steve Mortimer and Johnny Raper chip in and tell Carney to do the right thing. As 69 said, you can't blame him for taking such a massive offer (if true) but you also can't blame our club for drawing the line in what is after all a TEAM sport.

Chachi

Actually, if TC goes and so does Best why don't we use that money to put a massive bid in for Folou? Herbie/Campo/Zilly can cover the halves easily.

Thats not a bad option Chachi
assuming best, and even Glenn Turner could be off the esl to finish their careers... chalk unlikely to be re-signed imo... no carney, that'd be an easy 450k and more to have a good crack at folau any another decent player

Chachi

You'd think Dobbos money is going into the Carney kitty - so we'd have to ditch him too either way.

It's a long shot but I reckon having Big Mal the QLD origin coach (not to mention Henry) have a chat with young Izzie wouldn't go astray. One could sugget it would be the second coming! :)

That way we could end up with:

1. Goodwin
2. Milne/Kelly/Whoever
3. Folou
4. Monaghan
5. Graham
6. Zillman
7. Herbert

or

1. Zillman
2. Goodwin
3. Folou
4. Monaghan
5. Graham
6. Campese
7. Herbert

Either would go OK in my books. It would at least be nice to let the world know that we have a plan B and TC isn't the be all and end all of this joint. In fact I'd be putting my hat in the ring right now for Folou, no matter what Carney does.