Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

chance t williams might stay.....

junior009

while we're still in the mix, we play our best side, if that means tony williams so be it.

if our year goes pearshaped and we cant make the finals, he gets sent out the wenty's bench
100% right.

I just cant get past the fact that any of our 20's squad that they thought had potential to be a first grader should have been locked up beyond this year THE VERY SECOND the Toyota cup was announced. We are a club that produces a heap of juniors. There a several out there who survive by poaching other clubs juniors. That's not a shot at them but it's true. The Toyota cup was always going to showcase our best youngsters....they should have been locked up mid last yeard to minimum 2 year deals. The situation with the Keatings earlier in the year should have been sorted last season. We've been caught sitting on our hands and it appears it's about to bite us.

Can I just put this out there, not saying something either way, but just something I remember from the first discussions with either Delboy or newmanj about the Contract Tony has signed with Manly. I can not find the posts quickly here but IIRC.

Tony's Deal with Manly is supposedly for $ 150,000 for 2009.
Yet I remember that Jumps to over $300,000 for 2010.
Then back down to $200,000 for 2011.

I would also assume that has clauses. But what if the problem we have is not the extra $95,000 this year. What if it is the extra $245,000 in year two. Now I am sure we would increase our money as well during the course of the contract, but this is now the bigger question. I think people looking at this as a simple issue of $95,000 are looking at this deal a bit too one dimensionally.

Can I just put this out there, not saying something either way, but just something I remember from the first discussions with either Delboy or newmanj about the Contract Tony has signed with Manly. I can not find the posts quickly here but IIRC.

I would also assume that has clauses. But what if the problem we have is not the extra $95,000 this year. What if it is the extra $245,000 in year two. Now I am sure we would increase our money as well during the course of the contract, but this is now the bigger question. I think people looking at this as a simple issue of $95,000 are looking at this deal a bit too one dimensionally.

fairpoint...however if Tony is anywhere near the 300 mark in 2010, than I just find that incredibly intrigueing, I would imagine that he's contract is heavilly incentive based.

junior009

Is he eligible for the Kiwis?????
If so he probably has a bonus for playing test footy that lets face it is a hell of a lot easier to do for NZ.
Personally I think he's the sort of player that you come up with the cash for and if it means we're over the cap by a bit, pay the damn fine. We wouldn't be the first club to do that.
Our club doesnt seem to operate like that, which is admirable, however sometimes I think you just gotta do what you gotta do. I'm proud that we play by the rules and don't cheat or bend the rules...I just think this kid isworth some bending.

AlexTheEel

Is he eligible for the Kiwis?????
If so he probably has a bonus for playing test footy that lets face it is a hell of a lot easier to do for NZ.
Personally I think he's the sort of player that you come up with the cash for and if it means we're over the cap by a bit, pay the damn fine. We wouldn't be the first club to do that.
Our club doesnt seem to operate like that, which is admirable, however sometimes I think you just gotta do what you gotta do. I'm proud that we play by the rules and don't cheat or bend the rules...I just think this kid isworth some bending.

I see ur point. $50,000 - $100,000 can be the difference between retaining a key player yet the NRL gives repeat offenders like the Melbourne storm and Brisbane Broncos no more then a slap on the wrist.

Hutchy86

I tend to agree with you mate... I feel as though the conservative, 'traditional' nature of our club places a step behind the innovative opposition. There's a reason clubs like Melbourne and Roosters can keep so many great players.. it's cos they cheat the cap a little and pay up on the handslaps they receive.
We need to be a little more ruthless if we're gonna compete with the top sides in the years to come

mickdo

If those figures are even remotely close to being true then it would have been an utter disgrace by our front office if we had tried competing for his signature. If Manly want to pay double (or even triple or quadruple) what he is worth for a guy who only just debuted then they will suffer the consequences in time.

fish eel

If those figures are even remotely close to being true then it would have been an utter disgrace by our front office if we had tried competing for his signature. If Manly want to pay double (or even triple or quadruple) what he is worth for a guy who only just debuted then they will suffer the consequences in time.

of course, those figures, especially the 300 for year 2 may have big incentives built into it which he may not get. if of course, that 300k is right

Hagan's article of a few or two ago stated that they were signing no more incentive contracts as they made the salary cap to hard to manage and forward plan.

It is I agree but he would not get $300K just off the bat. It must be incentive based. For instance if he plays for NSW, Australia, etc. In saying that I would prefer if the club didn't give me bullsh*t excuses. I would prefer if they did not try and insult our intelligence and just say that they do not think that he is worth that much. I can live with that but don't always go around and blame the cap, pokies tax and the contracts of Inu and Hayne for not signing one of our most promising juniors.

On another note doe anyone know what this press conference is about on Tuesday assuming there is one. If it is about Hauraki and Oake..........big deal.

if there is one i'm betting it's to try and fool us into thinking something good has happened despite losing Williams on that same day

fish eel

Hagan's article of a few or two ago stated that they were signing no more incentive contracts as they made the salary cap to hard to manage and forward plan.

yeah, thats us, I'm talking about this 300k year 2 figure bandied around in regards to williams at manly.

TheRam

If it is incentive based, then who gives a sh*t if his contract is higher as he reaches those incentive. That will only justify us keeping him and giving him what he is worth. Then they can also get rid of the players that haven't performed as well or are dead wood. Either way we win. Fu*k the salary cap, others do. Life is full of incentives, and our club just gives up on it. What a bunch of amatures.

All well run business need to juggle their wages v revenues. It's the good ones that are sussesfull though no matter what the obtacles are, Fitzy.

oh come on El D ... I didn't state it as f'n fact

better edit suity's quote of my post too :lol: :lol: