Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Changes NSW must make.

Frailty

Holy f**k some people are dumb. There is no way known Moylan should be dropped. He is straight up the most skillful player we have. If Reynolds isn't available, move him to the halves. Watch the way he plays for Penrith: he is more of a half than a fullback anyway. Just don't restrict him to one side of the field. Frankly I'm surprised Hook hasn't shifted him yet.

Outside of Channel Nine telling you how good Moylan is, can you please tell me how he is a dominant player in any capacity.

Penrith's play is rarely generated from him outside of the occasionally tap on from a backline movement. However, he is frequently outmuscled by defensive lines, so much so that he rarely actually runs the ball (which makes him even easier to defend).

In game one, he had the perfect opportunity to sneak through a gap and score, but instead tried a pass to Mansour which was knocked down. On top of that, he is shaky under the high ball.

I don't think Tedesco is the saviour that will magically make NSW win, but I think he poses more questions of the Queensland defence even if he is a biscuit.

NSW key problem is the speed of the ruck. Service from dummy half is already slow with Farah (never seen a hooker who apparently can't pass straight from the ground), but then the game plan tries to use forwards as ball players at first receiver. By the time the halves and outside backs get the ball, there is no space to work with.

dubbo teacher

Everyone wants Tedesko brought in ...!!! I was at Leichhardt when they played Melbourne and fair dinkum with the game in the balance you needed to send out a search party to find Tedesko - great if his side is dominating and he has his tail up but that's not the nature of Origin. If he was in the Blues side and they won by 30 he'd be MOM but in a grinding dour game he would not be sighted. Moylan might look like a pretty boy but he has more ticker than Tedesko will ever have.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

I'm glad to see the Walker selection isn't clouding all Manly players from selection for most of you. Both of the brothers should be there next year. I was stunned Jake didn't play this year. He is the only forward who is actually putting from Manly forwards. I reckon we would have got the spoon without him last year. Tom shouldn't be picked for this game. He isn't fit and should be on the table for surgery by now from all reports.

Fulton has to go. He is way past it. Daley should fall on his sword. On MMM this morning it was said he has a contract for 2017 and will be coach. No... Pride alone, he needs to move along for everyone, or be pushed. The whole selection process and people need an overhaul. Until it is done, and fresh thinking is brought in, we won't win much.

By fresh thinking I mean, no Barrett, Daley, Fittler, Bozo or anybody else has been involved in NSW for the last 11 years.

The selection of the next coach needs to be out of the norm. It needs to be someone who doesn't put up with shit efforts. Someone who will drop out of form players, and will not put reputation ahead of the need for success.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

Outside of Channel Nine telling you how good Moylan is, can you please tell me how he is a dominant player in any capacity.

Penrith's play is rarely generated from him outside of the occasionally tap on from a backline movement. However, he is frequently outmuscled by defensive lines, so much so that he rarely actually runs the ball (which makes him even easier to defend).

In game one, he had the perfect opportunity to sneak through a gap and score, but instead tried a pass to Mansour which was knocked down. On top of that, he is shaky under the high ball.

I don't think Tedesco is the saviour that will magically make NSW win, but I think he poses more questions of the Queensland defence even if he is a biscuit.

NSW key problem is the speed of the ruck. Service from dummy half is already slow with Farah (never seen a hooker who apparently can't pass straight from the ground), but then the game plan tries to use forwards as ball players at first receiver. By the time the halves and outside backs get the ball, there is no space to work with.

But then we waste important tackles in the set with two 10m runners in Gallen and Woods. I think Woods had a reasonable game, but he has modeled his game straight off Gallen. A lot of that is on Farah for giving it to them... On tackles 3-5 in the opposition half, the ball should not be dished up to a 10m straight running forwards unless it is off the back of a decoy runner. It is a waste of tackle.

Everyone wants Tedesko brought in ...!!! I was at Leichhardt when they played Melbourne and fair dinkum with the game in the balance you needed to send out a search party to find Tedesko - great if his side is dominating and he has his tail up but that's not the nature of Origin. If he was in the Blues side and they won by 30 he'd be MOM but in a grinding dour game he would not be sighted. Moylan might look like a pretty boy but he has more ticker than Tedesko will ever have.

Lol mate have you seen the team Tedesco plays for?

Clifferd

Pretty much every Tigers try ever scored Tedesco has a hand in it somehow. Just watch a game sometime

I remember when we played sharks he got knocked out 1st min, sharks dominating etc he comes back on 15 minutes later and within 20 mins of being on the field he sets up 2 brilliant tries and scores one himself

Great when his side is dominating my ass...

mongoose

Moylan is so overrated. I really don't get the hype about this guy. He looks like he should be a half anyway, not a fullback.

Penrith's play is rarely created by Moylan........speshal kind of stupid. Gotta love a LU hate bandwagon

I watched the whole game Friday night, moylan was pretty much invisible. There was a time in the second half where penrith had 3 sets on souths line and MM had 1 touch.

No one is suggesting he is a bad player, far from it, however to me he has hit a bit of a rough patch in form which is unfortunate for both him and NSW. To me he is a lot like Brett Hodgson, can be fantastic at club level but doesn't have the game or size to be a good fullback at origin where you need bigger bodies for bringing the ball back, attacking in the 20 and handling attacking kicks.

He had two games and by far the major consensus was that he was dissaponting. The series is over and it makes sense to give another guy a crack. Personally I think it should be Tedesco but I'd be fine with Coote.

Tommy Smith

Moylan is a fantastic player. The best ball playing fullback in the comp.

It's just that Teddy is better and certainly more suited to fullback in Origin as he's much stronger, safer under the high ball and better defensively.

Now Moylan might well have a big rep career ahead of him at 5/8. But I can't see it at fullback because Teddy has his, and everyone else's number.

It's just that Teddy is better and certainly more suited to fullback in Origin as he's much stronger, safer under the high ball and better defensively.

Now Moylan might well have a big rep career ahead of him at 5/8. But I can't see it at fullback because Teddy has his, and everyone else's number.

Totally agree

betcats

It's hard to disagree tbh. As good as I think Moylan is Teddy is a superior FB at this point. Moylan spent so much time at first and second receiver on Friday night and looked very natural there, it seems so obvious now that is where he should be playing. If Tommy Turbo and Latrell live up to their potential the nsw FB battle could be interesting for years.

betcats

I watched the whole game Friday night, moylan was pretty much invisible. There was a time in the second half where penrith had 3 sets on souths line and MM had 1 touch.

No one is suggesting he is a bad player, far from it, however to me he has hit a bit of a rough patch in form which is unfortunate for both him and NSW. To me he is a lot like Brett Hodgson, can be fantastic at club level but doesn't have the game or size to be a good fullback at origin where you need bigger bodies for bringing the ball back, attacking in the 20 and handling attacking kicks.

He had two games and by far the major consensus was that he was dissaponting. The series is over and it makes sense to give another guy a crack. Personally I think it should be Tedesco but I'd be fine with Coote.

Moylan had plenty of touches he was a big part of two our tries, I think Teddy should be FB now but some of the things being said about Moylan now are getting silly. Moylan is always heavily involved in Penriths attack.

Red Bear

I don't really think James Roberts is too deserving. He's really quick but his attribute otherwise aren't brilliant I don't think. He really needs to be put in to space from what I've seen, he's otherwise not particularly damaging with ball in hand, poor defender etc.

I agree with Tommy's post re Tedesco. I think picking Tedesco is far from a slight on Moylan - it's just that Tedesco is better. How easily Moylan gave up a drop out on Wednesday when he had time to at least attempt to get out of the in goal was pretty damning of his play I thought.

It's hard to disagree tbh. As good as I think Moylan is Teddy is a superior FB at this point. Moylan spent so much time at first and second receiver on Friday night and looked very natural there, it seems so obvious now that is where he should be playing. If Tommy Turbo and Latrell live up to their potential the nsw FB battle could be interesting for years.

1. James Tesesco

3. Latrell Mitchell
4. Tom Trbojevic

Easy.