Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Channel 9 wants to kill of a sydney club

Makes you wonder if this has just been one big Newsltd sht stir and everyone has been suckered into responding to something that was never said?

"The NRL have raised discussions on a second team for Brisbane - we agree with that proposition because we believe the fans in that market will embrace it," Malone said on Monday.

"We’ve never suggested a Sydney-based club should be axed. Others have named clubs in a bid to introduce emotion into the discussion.
"It’s up to the NRL to decide if and how they put a second team in Brisbane."

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ni...k-wants-sydney-club-axed-20190902-p52n6p.html

TheRam

Whether people would abandon their team or RL or whatever, if relocated/excluded is kind of irrelevant.

Firstly, half the people that reckon they would give it away would be sucked back in some way or another when they realise that Union and AFL are trash sports anyway.

Secondly, If this was to ever happen, it would be done with research and planning that supports that there are more fans and sponsors to be gained in the new location (over time), than lost in the old.
If you or I were to give it away, it would be acceptable collateral damage.

Did you hear what Phil Gould said on 100% Footy this week about the AFL when looking at introducing the GWS they had done so much research on the area and that the ANZ Stadium management said to them that they are light years ahead of the NRL who have spent absolutely nothing and know nothing about their own back yard. The AFL know more about RL then the ARLC know about RL and what makes it tick and not tick for their fans. He also said that they have a cradle to grave mentality that permeates every decision they make for the long haul.

The ARLC only has one objective for the game. That is a to the grave mentality. I said this last one.

TheRam

What truth would that be?

Fans of basketcase clubs like Parra repeatedly admitting that their own club has been so inept for so long that they've resorted to asking the League to cripple or completely remove the successful teams in the futile hope that this will magically transport Parra to the top, despite knowing deep down that your club's infighting and lack of vision would still see you fail anyway

That truth?

The truth that most non Rorters fans either dislike or even hate your team. As for being a basket case, that was true a few seasons ago, but as everything, things change. Your team indeed is the best at the moment, no one is denying it. What most feel or say though is that they don't much like that, so they choose to tune out. Simple. But we are all big boys here and we will get over it fast when the inevitable happens and your Rorters return to average or crap like in all cycles.

Not to hard to understand mate. No one is saying we should lower the standards of the competition as you thin skinned Cocks like to state. We just simply hate your club, your 3 supporters and feel sorry for your poor and unfortunate dog.

Frailty

Did you hear what Phil Gould said on 100% Footy this week about the AFL when looking at introducing the GWS they had done so much research on the area and that the ANZ Stadium management said to them that they are light years ahead of the NRL who have spent absolutely nothing and know nothing about their own back yard. The AFL know more about RL then the ARLC know about RL and what makes it tick and not tick for their fans. He also said that they have a cradle to grave mentality that permeates every decision they make for the long haul.

The ARLC only has one objective for the game. That is a to the grave mentality. I said this last one.

Your first issue is that you place any value on anything that Phil Gould says. He is an agenda-driven ego maniac that holds views as consistent as Paul Kent's. He will complain about the referees penalising too much, only to follow up a week later that they weren't enforcing the play the ball hard enough. He complains about going to the video ref, but is the first to complain when they don't go. This season, this is my favourite, he has complained about double movement, because in 'his rule book' it would be allowed. He literally complains about the rules of the game.

The AFL has a track record of fudging it's numbers, including counting anyone who did an Auskick session at school as a junior player. It's the equivalent of the NRL counting any footy skills at schools as junior players, when they simply aren't. Let's also not get started on GWS crowds (or better yet, the "sellouts" in China).

Meanwhile, here is some numbers for you:
  • Country Rugby League is dying? In 2018, the CRL experienced an increase of 5.5% increase (after in 3.5% increase in 2017) in senior male players, and 28% in female players.
  • NSWRL in 2018 experienced a 60% year-on-year increase in female participation.

The NRL absolutely needs to expand. Doing so will not only increase the reach of the game, but will increase the revenue that will come into the game. The NRL is the highest rating sport in Australia, so Channel Nine are looking at how they can increase their revenue without increasing investment into the NRL. Channel Nine are positioning themselves to weaken the NRL's bargaining position.

TheRam

Your first issue is that you place any value on anything that Phil Gould says. He is an agenda-driven ego maniac that holds views as consistent as Paul Kent's. He will complain about the referees penalising too much, only to follow up a week later that they weren't enforcing the play the ball hard enough. He complains about going to the video ref, but is the first to complain when they don't go. This season, this is my favourite, he has complained about double movement, because in 'his rule book' it would be allowed. He literally complains about the rules of the game.

The AFL has a track record of fudging it's numbers, including counting anyone who did an Auskick session at school as a junior player. It's the equivalent of the NRL counting any footy skills at schools as junior players, when they simply aren't. Let's also not get started on GWS crowds (or better yet, the "sellouts" in China).

Meanwhile, here is some numbers for you:
  • Country Rugby League is dying? In 2018, the CRL experienced an increase of 5.5% increase (after in 3.5% increase in 2017) in senior male players, and 28% in female players.
  • NSWRL in 2018 experienced a 60% year-on-year increase in female participation.

The NRL absolutely needs to expand. Doing so will not only increase the reach of the game, but will increase the revenue that will come into the game. The NRL is the highest rating sport in Australia, so Channel Nine are looking at how they can increase their revenue without increasing investment into the NRL. Channel Nine are positioning themselves to weaken the NRL's bargaining position.

I agree with a lot of what you say, but when it comes to REAL research and development between the AFL and the ARLC I think we all know who is correct there and does the work there. And then there is this, which if you have been reading posters first hand experiences over the years and anyone remotely associated with the game you would have a hard time in denying its validity. See below -

I'm a PE teacher. The AFL are all over schools & grassroots across NSW & ACT offering free gear (gold to a public school), lesson plans & AFL coaching clinics/programs/visits (makes it easier & more attractive to do more AFL in your PE program) etc. Never seen a brass razoo or so much as a school liaison officer or anything from an NRL team.

The AFL have an actual plan to grow their game & gets kids into it. The NRL don't give a crap if it's not on TV or in the courts apparently.

Travitoh

Yes those aspects of NFL and NBA are boring, same as with college football Alabama and Clemson being dominant are boring people.
I think last season the NBA seemed totally boring and completely inevitable that GSW would win the NBA again (they didn't because even GSW were bored) and that affected peoples interest big time.
Those competitions are crazily successful and profitable and can afford to be boring I don't think the NRL has that luxury because it leaves the door open for AFL and NSW/Qld is way less obsessed with NRL than America is with American football anyway.

The NBA and NFL are crazily successful and profitable despite always having dominant teams which by your definition is 'boring'.
Do you find it boring when a heavyweight champion retains his title too?
If you find teams winning more than others boring then maybe under 8's is for you where they don't keep score and you don't need to worry about teams that are better than others winning all the time.

Really the long term plan and strategy should have come into play around 2003/2004 when the game needed an extra club to make up the 16. At that point it should have started to lay down its planning for how it would get back, and beyond the 1995 landscape.
You can forgive them back then for not being focused on growth as the game was rife with conflict of interest inits ownership, had Gallop as a non leader and was still licking its wounds in some ways from SL fall outs.
The real travesty is that work for this didn't begin in 2008'ish ready for 2013. That was when the game became independent and the games revenue jumped massively. The strategic plan should have had a clear picture for expansion, when, where and how. Here we are many years on and the game is none the wiser what it wants to look like in the future. It hasn't been helped by appointing Greenberg who has self confessed to not being a visionary CEO or by clubs getting into financial strife and creating an environment of weakness which makes it very hard to grow from.
Lets see what the review comes up with but I really wouldn't hold your breath. Our game has a very long history of poor management and I see nothing changing in that regard.

magpie_man

No. You're not crazy.. and a re-run of 1995 might be the way to go.. this time without the chance of a breakaway league to distract the NRL.

I'd suggest the 4 new clubs being
Perth
Brisbane 2
NZ 2
Adelaide

Two heartland (but not NSW) clubs, and two clubs in AFL-dominated areas (frontier teams). A balanced expansion.

With Central Coast kept as a relocation option if a Sydney club goes broke

Yes.
All the naysayers bemoaning the dilution of playing talent need to get a grip; there are an abundance of atheletes very nearly ready to go in the Pacific Islands, PNG and the ESL.
The thing is: You could condense the Premiership down to four teams and you will still have at least one team Wests Tigering it up, it's just the nature of the beast and the blame is often, and unfairly, laid at the feet of the old "lack of playing talent" demon.
Pointing to the drop in competitiveness in the AFL is also a reductive argument; Aussie Rules is a completely different animal altogether with a very limited talent pool to draw from which simply isn't the case in Rugby League.

T-Boon

The NBA and NFL are crazily successful and profitable despite always having dominant teams which by your definition is 'boring'.
Do you find it boring when a heavyweight champion retains his title too?
If you find teams winning more than others boring then maybe under 8's is for you where they don't keep score and you don't need to worry about teams that are better than others winning all the time.

Oh hang on, maybe people aren't sick to death of the Storm and Roosters.

T-Boon

Plus what are you talking about the NFL has relocated teams a heap. And they are very aware of fans losing interest that is why they always change the rules to make sure coaches are not destroying the game.

unforgiven

Fair enough but its still weird you'd follow a club on other side of world but wouldnt follow your club on other side of country.
I don't find it weird at all as I would be the same! The connection I have with the Wests Tigers is very different to the connection I have with the Bengals!

Plus what are you talking about the NFL has relocated teams a heap. And they are very aware of fans losing interest that is why they always change the rules to make sure coaches are not destroying the game.

NFL hasn't relocated anyone, that is the club owners doing. And that's because the owners treat it like a business not a local club.

Most of the relocations though were not driven by the NFL. They were driven by the team's owner/s wanting to increase their revenue or decrease their costs (e.g. new stadiums, stadium rebuilds, stadium rent).

ACTPanthers

6a00d83451b36c69e20240a4868b22200d-600wi

taipan

Really the long term plan and strategy should have come into play around 2003/2004 when the game needed an extra club to make up the 16. At that point it should have started to lay down its planning for how it would get back, and beyond the 1995 landscape.
You can forgive them back then for not being focused on growth as the game was rife with conflict of interest inits ownership, had Gallop as a non leader and was still licking its wounds in some ways from SL fall outs.
The real travesty is that work for this didn't begin in 2008'ish ready for 2013. That was when the game became independent and the games revenue jumped massively. The strategic plan should have had a clear picture for expansion, when, where and how. Here we are many years on and the game is none the wiser what it wants to look like in the future. It hasn't been helped by appointing Greenberg who has self confessed to not being a visionary CEO or by clubs getting into financial strife and creating an environment of weakness which makes it very hard to grow from.
Lets see what the review comes up with but I really wouldn't hold your breath. Our game has a very long history of poor management and I see nothing changing in that regard.

Agree, but mate Gould also stated ,Smith had no idea where the code was going to be down the line.
IOW no top execs had a clue.