Objective View
Souths +10
Straight Shooter
Hunt is the number one halfback fullstop - BUT you will see him slide into hooker at time from time to time especially during later stages of games because simply put he is brilliant in this position maybe even more effective in the last 10-15 minutes of a game than he would be at half as he would touch the ball 5-6 times during a set rather than 2-3 as a half. You need to think like a coach not a fan .. re the Field prediction it’s been well documented that he was earmarked as the replacement fullback for Dugan by recruitment - Dufty has come through so far an done very well. IMO I thought he would b starting FB .. maybe that’s a little off now but I will expect him to be the no 1 for the dragons at some stage ..I never said both Mann and Robson will feature on the bench, it will be one of them, and so it should be. McInnes will need to alleviate some of the physical pressure so he can continue to be effective in attack.
BennyV is right, your track record is pretty poor mate. First you say Field will be the starting fullback, now if Dufty is injured... Field isn't even second in the pecking order!!
As I said in my previous post, Hunt was bought as a halfback, it would stifle our attack to move him to hooker and bring on a inexperienced 5/8 to partner a player who is not a natural halfback.
f**k off wankerSouths +10
Straight Shooter
Lot of changes there for one replacementI’m betting if Mciness takes a break Hunt will slot into dummy half and Widdop will go first receiver w Field taking 5/8 if he’s on the bench .. Robson will not be on the 4 man bench ever!! Will always be a utility player
f**k off wanker
How did Herbert and the new second rower from the Tigers go in reserve grade?
You're also on record stating that Field will start the year at fullback. So, y'know, you're record sucks!!!
I see it exactly the same as you.I really don't get this 2 Hookers mentality, it's just wrong on so many levels and I've never seen it once benefit a team in any way. Dragon's coaches of the past persisted with that dubious strategy for years and it never helped once that I can recall. And now with less interchanges it makes even less sense.
If your hooker can't play 80 minutes and do his job then get a new one who can. You don't change your 1, 6 or 7 halfway through a game unless you're forced to. Hooker is only a forward in name. Your props, locks and 2nd row are the big dummies, run, tackle, don't think too much, they're interchangeable. The Hooker is different, he is part of your spine, directing and organizing in the most hands on job on the field. Everyone relies on him so much for all the basics and expects him to be in the right place at the right time and unless you have 2 Hookers who play exactly the same game you're going to mess with everyone elses expectations and change the whole structure and dynamics of your game if you swap them out.
Plus it takes a very skillful coach in my opinion to even mess with the prospect.
No two Hookers play the same game, most are completely different, speed, passing, running, kicking, positioning, all different. How can you expect the rest of the team, mid game, to suddenly adjust and Why anyway ? Because your 1st choice needs a rest ? You're losing and you have no faith in your 1st choice hooker but think your 2nd best hooker can suddenly save you ? If your 2nd choice Hooker is such a game breaker why the f**k is he on the bench ?
Makes no sense to me, it's a desperate and disruptive move with no real benefit. Like a bad move from a poor coach.
Mary has not had a roster that I would have been happy to coach until this year too.Listened to Mary interview on the 2GB show this arvo. He’s sounding very relaxed, confident and happy. Talked about finally having the roster he wants. Said he has high expectations.
Team’s in camp from Wednesday in Mudgee for 4 days.
When asked what the plan was with Hunt/Widdop for the CS he said he’d play them for longer minutes together. Why the hell would he broadcast this to all and sundry?? Why?
WTF?
At least he didn’t talk about the power game this time.
The very same! We've also seen such gems as 'Field will start as fullback in Round 1' (with the added 'it has been well documented that he will take over from Dugan' which has not been documented at all) and now we have the glorious 'Robson will never be on the 4 man bench ever'.Is this the same MickeyLane who told us we had signed Walmsley or are there two of them? I trust Mary has now learnt to skip Mickey's contributions when he turns to the Forum for some ideas.
did i say dragons would win every game this season, no i didn't ya flog. we will beat souffs that's for sure. go support another team you negative wanker.You think Dragons will win every game this year?
Straight Shooter
same team i had in mind. definitely need to start lomaxFor the Charity Shield I would be looking to start with
1 Dufty
2 Nightingale
3 Lafai
4 Lomax
5 McDonald
6 Widdop
7 Hunt
8 Graham
9 McInnes
10 Vaughn
11 Frizell
12 Leilua
13 DeBelin
14 Simms
15 AhMau
16 Mann
17 Host
18 Robson
19 Field
20 Kerr
21 Herbert
That 21 would be the only players I would have in mind for game one, with the 1 to 17 being my most likely squad for round 1
I am keen to see more of Lomax at centre. Mann would be my next pick if not Lomax. I haven't seen Herbert, but am interested to see him play. If Herbert continues to impress, I would not be adverse to us having Lomax and Herbert as our centres mid season. Lafai is rocks or diamonds and lacks pace, but his early 2017 form was great.
I want to see more of Kerr against Souths. He could definitely be next cab off the rank in our prop rotation.
I think Field will become a full time first grade fullback, but I am not sure if he can take Dufty's spot.
I would give Leilua and Host 40 minutes each
I would play Hunt, Widdop and Dufty 70 minutes. We need as much time as possible to to get our spine combinations right.
I can see no reason to pick Aitken at centre and would leave him out of my charity shield squad.
Hunt is the number one halfback fullstop - BUT you will see him slide into hooker at time from time to time especially during later stages of games because simply put he is brilliant in this position maybe even more effective in the last 10-15 minutes of a game than he would be at half as he would touch the ball 5-6 times during a set rather than 2-3 as a half. You need to think like a coach not a fan .. re the Field prediction it’s been well documented that he was earmarked as the replacement fullback for Dugan by recruitment - Dufty has come through so far an done very well. IMO I thought he would b starting FB .. maybe that’s a little off now but I will expect him to be the no 1 for the dragons at some stage ..
Unless we have something substantially different in attack we will not beat Souths especially if Inglis and Gagai play.Sorry but I feel Souths will out enthuse the Dragons with youth and speed. I think their new Coach will have them primed & Damien Cook at dummy half will tear us apart. Hope I'm wrong but I feel Seibolt and new tactics is just what the Bunnies needed.
Our plan A power game doesn't cut it in The heat of February or July to September as a matter of fact!!
I'd like to see Field selected on the right wing at some time during the season. Yes he does not have the size but he does have the speed and elusiveness. He can beat players on the outside or inside as necessary.Hunt is the number one halfback fullstop - BUT you will see him slide into hooker at time from time to time especially during later stages of games because simply put he is brilliant in this position maybe even more effective in the last 10-15 minutes of a game than he would be at half as he would touch the ball 5-6 times during a set rather than 2-3 as a half. You need to think like a coach not a fan .. re the Field prediction it’s been well documented that he was earmarked as the replacement fullback for Dugan by recruitment - Dufty has come through so far an done very well. IMO I thought he would b starting FB .. maybe that’s a little off now but I will expect him to be the no 1 for the dragons at some stage ..