Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Charity Shield 2023 vs Souths

SnowDragon

i get it, it was a bad look. Players out to 2am drinking, then extra drinks in their rooms till 6am, and being drunk, there is a disagreement.

but
- nothing illegal happened, nobody was hurt, nothing was damaged
- it’s only a bad look because some drongo thinks it is newsworthy
- it’s only a concern because I worry if there is more to it (club should investigate and keep vigilant)
- some say it’s a problem because we are not winning. I say that’s bs, winning doesn’t entitle players to poor behaviour.

jodragon40

i get it, it was a bad look. Players out to 2am drinking, then extra drinks in their rooms till 6am, and being drunk, there is a disagreement.

but
- nothing illegal happened, nobody was hurt, nothing was damaged
- it’s only a bad look because some drongo thinks it is newsworthy
- it’s only a concern because I worry if there is more to it (club should investigate and keep vigilant)
- some say it’s a problem because we are not winning. I say that’s bs, winning doesn’t entitle players to poor behaviour.
Agree the have certain responsibilities because of their trade and high profile positions. There has to be consequences for actions.

jodragon40

Agree the have certain responsibilities because of their trade and high profile positions. There has to be consequences for actions.
And another, anyone who believes that there is not a discipline and cultural issue within our team and club well you are living under a rock. Today even though the Dragons kept it hush hush F Molo pleaded guilty to a DV related offence. Not only has support and membership dropped significantly over the last 3 yrs we seem to just provide a safe haven for poor behaviour and criminal behaviour. There needs to be a broom used from the boardroom down to try and excuse our club of these terrible issues. We have zero chances of playing semi finals football again this season.I will not be renewing my membership this season after 40 yrs

Gardenia

dragonreddy

Seriously so your happy that our 1st graders are drunk as skunks their behaviour is a reflection of our current culture and lack of discipline and our poor on field performances. Our children look up to these players as role models. No matter how educated or not you believe that they are they know right from wrong, acceptable and unacceptable behaviour. You are entitled to your opinion but so our others that have had a gutful of our on field lack of performance and lack of success poor discipline and poor culture directly affect our club, our team and our brand. So no upper cuts perhaps acceptable in the 80s but not nowdays. Just my views.
This wraps it up in a nutshell.
The role model situation alone should be enough for the club to start enforcing the "NO DICKHEAD" policy ,unfortunately that list would have the coach's name sitting at number one.

Fair dinkum anyone trotting out the old "aww the boys just needed to blow off a bit of steam ", nothing to see here argument is deluded.
After the last couple of years (well the last 11 actually) ,and I know these aren't the same players, but a lot were there the last 2 years throwing out garbage and trying to pass it off as footy, you would think they might be smart enough to think that maybe a few beers would suffice and save it for another time when they are not in a town where they are extremely visible.
Drinking grog for 12 hours isn't the mark of a professional athlete ,it's the mark of an overpaid talentless halfwit who cant believe he has found some idiot to pay him a large sum of money for very limited abilities ,and we certainly have our fair share of aforementioned geniuses on our books.

I am in a supercoach draft and we had our annual get together to have our auction for players ,everyone was taking the piss out of me all day about being a ST GEORGE supporter ,first time I have genuinely felt ashamed to be one ,because their arguments were valid.

dragonreddy

How did this get out to the media
If the idiots didn't carry on like teenagers when they knew they were highly visible, it wouldn't have .
The problem is lack of discipline by dumb shits, with no respect or recognition for the priviledge they get to play NRL.
If they stop drinking at a reasonable hour there IS NO incident to get leaked.

jodragon40

This wraps it up in a nutshell.
The role model situation alone should be enough for the club to start enforcing the "NO DICKHEAD" policy ,unfortunately that list would have the coach's name sitting at number one.

Fair dinkum anyone trotting out the old "aww the boys just needed to blow off a bit of steam ", nothing to see here argument is deluded.
After the last couple of years (well the last 11 actually) ,and I know these aren't the same players, but a lot were there the last 2 years throwing out garbage and trying to pass it off as footy, you would think they might be smart enough to think that maybe a few beers would suffice and save it for another time when they are not in a town where they are extremely visible.
Drinking grog for 12 hours isn't the mark of a professional athlete ,it's the mark of an overpaid talentless halfwit who cant believe he has found some idiot to pay him a large sum of money for very limited abilities ,and we certainly have our fair share of aforementioned geniuses on our books.

I am in a supercoach draft and we had our annual get together to have our auction for players ,everyone was taking the piss out of me all day about being a ST GEORGE supporter ,first time I have genuinely felt ashamed to be one ,because their arguments were valid.
I am a lifetime supporter of the Dragons 40 yrs actual member in the red V. After all the distasteful things that have happened since the infamous BBQ gate including criminal offences I have decided not to renew my membership this season. It hurts me very much to do this but nobody wants to upset the bad Applecart. The Board should hang their heads in shame for their continual inaction in regards to our discipline culture recruitment and retention.

jodragon40

If the idiots didn't carry on like teenagers when they knew they were highly visible, it wouldn't have .
The problem is lack of discipline by dumb shits, with no respect or recognition for the priviledge they get to play NRL.
If they stop drinking at a reasonable hour there IS NO incident to get leaked.
I'd like to know what they were celebrating. They just received a footballing lesson from the rabbits and the coach says OK do as you please just don't get arrested. Seriously? Less than 1%of kids that sign up to play RL actually get to play NRL. Yet we continue to see childish behaviour with complete disregard to themselves, the jersey they wear and the children who idolise them and look at them as role models. It's disgraceful

RedVee_8

I wish I knew what actually happened in 2018? We hit that post Bennett peak and then the Mary bubble burst.

Our Capt Widdop leaves, our next Capt Frizzell leaves.

Something must have happened, something smells for sure it certainly all went arse up