Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coach Flanno

justadragon

OK fellow forum members, I might be jumping the gun slightly before Flanno has been signed officially, I'll take a risk. All I've heard about Flanno is , he wont take crap, he can guide a team that is woeful and make them competitive again, he's not afraid of the hard calls, he can re-build pathways and the players play for the guy. Well Flanno I want to see it mate, I'm not expecting it straight away, if players need to go then make that call, get us to play expansive footy with rock solid defence. I'm over hearing about players in one camp and players in another, Im over hearing about the board being dysfunctional, salary cap issues etc. I must admit I wasnt a fan because I didnt see much happening when you were AC or R+R, I can only imagine you were being ridden over. OK you have the reigns my friend, its time to bring it and bring it in a big way. You are now the coach of the mighty Dragons, you have my support and my trust, my judgement of you with certain indiscretions is non existent. The slate is clean I hope you get the support you need, this club needs to be a proud club again, we have a brand in the game that is bigger than any individual, you have a fan base which is loyal and passionate and craving for success, but we are also ruthless in calling out issues and dramas, we have had enough of mediocrity and enough of failure. In Flanno we trust, bring it mate.

Blood Shot Eyes

Last few pages of this thread have been , well , interesting.

He was not my choice for head coach, as a result of the massive breaches, however I think he has paid the price.

He's on board now and I will back him.

I do wish he would take over NOW, and start moulding the team he wants for 2024.
I'm with you on this one bud, all this bullshit about waiting till next year to put things in place in the background is total crap..I think it's fair to say that we all have observed a noticeable change in our blokes attitude and general effort out on the paddock since Hooks been gone therefore now is the time for Flanno to jump onto that enthusiasm and develop it further....and besides if he's still tied to Siebs at Manly this year then hes not going to be able to do bugger all with our mob anyhow.....on the other hand if they are willing to severe ties with him now then let him go for it

Phantom V

Currently I think our best squad is Hunt at 7 and Sulli at 6, Amone unsure where he can be I'm not sure on his future. I would agree Bird would be a better 14. I would like to see the squad operate under a seasoned coach and look for improvement. Lets see how the boys play now they know who the coach is and that they may be playing for their contracts.
I think Flanno will bring out the best in Bird and also he won’t put up with ill discipline as this has cost us games in the past.

Illusion

Last few pages of this thread have been , well , interesting.

He was not my choice for head coach, as a result of the massive breaches, however I think he has paid the price.

He's on board now and I will back him.

I do wish he would take over NOW, and start moulding the team he wants for 2024.
Mate even if it's next year I'm sure he would have a few chats off the record with players he is interested in .....

Phantom V

I
I'm with you on this one bud, all this bullshit about waiting till next year to put things in place in the background is total crap..I think it's fair to say that we all have observed a noticeable change in our blokes attitude and general effort out on the paddock since Hooks been gone therefore now is the time for Flanno to jump onto that enthusiasm and develop it further....and besides if he's still tied to Siebs at Manly this year then hes not going to be able to do bugger all with our mob anyhow.....on the other hand if they are willing to severe ties with him now then let him go for it
I think he’ll be talking to Carr behind the scenes in an unofficial capacity so he can get a gauge on certain players before he comes in as HC. That’s what I would do

OneEyedDragon

Mate even if it's next year I'm sure he would have a few chats off the record with players he is interested in .....
I think so too, much like Craig Fitzgibbon at the Sharks. He saw out his contract at the Roosters but had a lot of input into what John Morris was doing at the club. Flano could certainly suggest ways for the Dragons defence to be improved! Round 22 should be very interesting.

Dragon David

OK fellow forum members, I might be jumping the gun slightly before Flanno has been signed officially, I'll take a risk. All I've heard about Flanno is , he wont take crap, he can guide a team that is woeful and make them competitive again, he's not afraid of the hard calls, he can re-build pathways and the players play for the guy. Well Flanno I want to see it mate, I'm not expecting it straight away, if players need to go then make that call, get us to play expansive footy with rock solid defence. I'm over hearing about players in one camp and players in another, Im over hearing about the board being dysfunctional, salary cap issues etc. I must admit I wasnt a fan because I didnt see much happening when you were AC or R+R, I can only imagine you were being ridden over. OK you have the reigns my friend, its time to bring it and bring it in a big way. You are now the coach of the mighty Dragons, you have my support and my trust, my judgement of you with certain indiscretions is non existent. The slate is clean I hope you get the support you need, this club needs to be a proud club again, we have a brand in the game that is bigger than any individual, you have a fan base which is loyal and passionate and craving for success, but we are also ruthless in calling out issues and dramas, we have had enough of mediocrity and enough of failure. In Flanno we trust, bring it mate.
Fully support what you have said in this post justa - especially "I didnt see much happening when you were AC or R+R, I can only imagine you were being ridden over".

We had reasonable expectations of Hook before he started in 2021 , however, his lack of achievements was well and truly below standards, so I do hope that if we have high expectations of Flanagan being successful, just pray that the results will be in his favour and that he doesn't end up like Hook.

Flanagan's task as head coach at the Dragons will be much harder than what he went through at the Sharks in my opinion. He will have several sleepless nights thinking of how he will get things in the best shape for the club. He has to have the support of the Board, have great support staff and have the players, new and old, playing good footy. The pressure will be on him to succeed.

Phantom V

I’m dead set pumped by Flanno’s appointment. In hindsight, I reckon we dodged a bullet with Ryles and this bloke is exactly what we need to get back to where we should be.
He genuinely wants to coach the club and I can’t wait to see his influence on our current playing group.

Kolum Kid

Fully support what you have said in this post justa - especially "I didnt see much happening when you were AC or R+R, I can only imagine you were being ridden over".

We had reasonable expectations of Hook before he started in 2021 , however, his lack of achievements was well and truly below standards, so I do hope that if we have high expectations of Flanagan being successful, just pray that the results will be in his favour and that he doesn't end up like Hook.

Flanagan's task as head coach at the Dragons will be much harder than what he went through at the Sharks in my opinion. He will have several sleepless nights thinking of how he will get things in the best shape for the club. He has to have the support of the Board, have great support staff and have the players, new and old, playing good footy. The pressure will be on him to succeed.
His biggest hurdle will be the shit he will cop from the self confessed "real fans".

justadragon

Absolutely Dave, we have to have a lot of pieces of the puzzle to come together, he will have to have time and the right people to support his plan and structure. Its probably a good start but it will need all departments focussing on a common goal, and no self interest but interest only what is best for the club. As far as I'm concerned this is our last throw of the dice, I dont want to be here in three years time going what have we done and where did it all go wrong.

Phantom V

I was one of many who had high hopes once Hook came on board but in hindsight I think it was more relief that McGregor was finally gone as HC. Flanno unlike Hook will have the ability to attract players that we need and get rid of the ones we don’t.

Trifili13

So we have some formites wanting Flano to be discreet and have input into the Dragon's while technically still employed by Manly, others not wanting a bar of Flano due to past indiscretions, others wanting Bellamy but happy to forgive the salary cap breaches as he is a winner and what he might bring to the club. Unfortunately not all will agree on Flano's appointment but lets all get behind him and wish him well.