Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Coaching preference for 2024

What are you hoping for in our next coaching appointment?

• Rookie Coach

Votes: 21 14.5%
  • Premiership Winning Coach

Votes: 105 72.4%
  • NRL Experience coach with no Premiership wins

Votes: 6 4.1%
  • Coach from Overseas

Votes: 5 3.4%
  • Extend Current coach

Votes: 8 5.5%

Dragon David

Did I already post this. According to reports Politis and the Storm boss may have hatched a plan to stymie us having Ryles as we moved as slow as mollasses getting his signiture. Storm had earlier backed off while he was still contracted to the Chooks, but once he was sacked Storm pounced.
Yes, you did, sorry baggygreen!

smi962

The questions I ask are:

* Why get in the bad books with the Roosters by mucking the Roosters around and they sack him as an assistant coach with immediate effect?
* Why dump us when he would have become a head coach, on plenty of cash and a good period to be running a football team of a club that he formerly played for? (yes I know, he wanted more things that the Board had not even looked into).
* Why agree to the offer of being a pathways/development assistant at the Storm on likely less money than at the Roosters and of course not getting the big bickies as a head coach at the Dragons but having no guarantee of getting the head coach position when Bellamy calls it quits?

I don't think that his manager has done his due diligence in the overall way things got arsed about. Is the truth hidden in that Ryles just wasn't comfortable to being the head coach in his own mind and took the easy way out when that offer from the Storm came or was this a manager planned arrangement to get Ryles to the Storm one way or the other on what might be a better deal?

In any event, his decision has been made and having it end in this way, I think that it is a blessing in disguise for the Dragons and also for Ryles because things just would not have worked out - he left his heart in Melbourne City and now returning where he will feel more comfortable.
I agree these things don't make sense at all; but I come to a different conclusion that he believes the club is such a basket case, that without his "required" set of conditions, he feels there is a very high risk of him failing and taking a major dent to his reputation. So its not worth it. Be patient and wait for another job with the resources and conditions more favourable to him succeeding.

Mojo

The questions I ask are:

* Why get in the bad books with the Roosters by mucking the Roosters around and they sack him as an assistant coach with immediate effect?
* Why dump us when he would have become a head coach, on plenty of cash and a good period to be running a football team of a club that he formerly played for? (yes I know, he wanted more things that the Board had not even looked into).
* Why agree to the offer of being a pathways/development assistant at the Storm on likely less money than at the Roosters and of course not getting the big bickies as a head coach at the Dragons but having no guarantee of getting the head coach position when Bellamy calls it quits?

I don't think that his manager has done his due diligence in the overall way things got arsed about. Is the truth hidden in that Ryles just wasn't comfortable to being the head coach in his own mind and took the easy way out when that offer from the Storm came or was this a manager planned arrangement to get Ryles to the Storm one way or the other on what might be a better deal?

In any event, his decision has been made and having it end in this way, I think that it is a blessing in disguise for the Dragons and also for Ryles because things just would not have worked out - he left his heart in Melbourne City and now returning where he will feel more comfortable.
Yes. I think the truth is that Ryles got cold feet - simple as that. Webb's announcement even stated as much 'He felt it wasn't the right time' or words to that effect.

Deep breaths. Now:

(i) definitely don't hit the panic button (that's the one marked 'Young');

(ii) don't rush into a face-saving decision by negotiating with second choices (Hornby, Shenanigans, Des etc);

(iii) we were about to allocate $3.2m over the next 4 years to a rookie coach - and apparently agreed to make changes to the Footy Dept - which he and everyone else on planet earth says is the real problem. We currently have a rookie coach (less rookie than Ryles, in fact). Let's see how he goes - and his colleague Woolf. Nothing ventured is nothing gained. Meanwhile, focus on the necessary changes ... you just agreed that they are the real problem and you've got a shitload of money to throw at it apparently - far better spent there than taking a huge punt that absolutely gambles with the club's future (I reckon this is what would have weighed on Ryles' mind).

(iv) First show that you're really committed and hyper-focused on fixing the foundations - then talk to a really well-researched target for HC (if you really have to - as I reckon Carr might just achieve amazing results anyway).

Mojo

PS: Let's not forget that we all agreed we'd be far better off without Hook. I think Carr's going to prove to be a much better coach anyway.

PPS: Ryles said that 'Andrew and Ryan were great .. they gave me what I wanted' or words to that effect. Our Board didn't mess this up. He simply changed his mind because, right now, he didn't think he was ready for the job. Fine. Let's move on. The sky hasn't fallen yet.

When you think about it Ryles has longer term security at the Storm which is 1 maybe 2 years as assistant and possibly a 5 year deal as a HC. That is 7 year security as a coach, compared to 4 years which could destroy your career if it goes pear shaped with this club and how it is run in the front office.

Nobody simply trusts the clubs front office and how they do their job.

Funny thing is if Ryles played his card right he would easily stayed at the club longer then 4 years if he performs well which he needed to back himself he would have done so. Saints have a good junior base and it is all about getting the best out of them which the previous coaches could not do. Browny would have sorted that out. Look at the other 2 previous coaches. They both got extended and did not really perform well so the expectations are not high anyway.

I appreciate the theory, but I don’t see the Storm offering him 5 years.

But your expectations theory at sgi is very well made.

He had at least 2 years here of a relative honeymoon period, understanding and support.

All he had to do was bring on some kids, sign a few grunts and improve skills.

People would accept a bottom 8 outcome where improvements were apparent.

PS: Let's not forget that we all agreed we'd be far better off without Hook. I think Carr's going to prove to be a much better coach anyway.

PPS: Ryles said that 'Andrew and Ryan were great .. they gave me what I wanted' or words to that effect. Our Board didn't mess this up. He simply changed his mind because, right now, he didn't think he was ready for the job. Fine. Let's move on. The sky hasn't fallen yet.

I think it’s a bit more than this.

He battered his eyelids and got everyone aroused interested.

Then at the final moment he doesn’t follow through.

So what’s more likely happened is that SGI did not offer him the keys to the Porsche or sell out to 5 years unseen as he wanted.

He’s wasted everyone’s time, delayed the appointment of a new coach ( and signings) and indirectly harmed the club, fans and members.

He should have put his incredulous demands to the club first and been honest about his bottom line.

He should pay back all the money you spent on him and apologise for his gratuitous tyre kicking.

If he didn’t think he was ready, he could have not bothered you in the first place.

And the media have the temerity to blame the club?

Mimis can forget any favours too.

Mojo

I think it’s a bit more than this.

He battered his eyelids and got everyone aroused interested.

Then at the final moment he doesn’t follow through.

So what’s more likely happened is that SGI did not offer him the keys to the Porsche or sell out to 5 years unseen as he wanted.

He’s wasted everyone’s time, delayed the appointment of a new coach ( and signings) and indirectly harmed the club, fans and members.

He should have put his incredulous demands to the club first and been honest about his bottom line.

He should pay back all the money you spent on him.

If he didn’t think he was ready, he could have not bothered you in the first place.

And the media have the temerity to blame the club?
You're a hard judge. He won't ever be back at Saints now.

Murfy

Really interested to see what direction the club goes in now. Surely after being rejected by a rookie coach who believed he wasn’t up for the job you can’t bring in another. Flanagan, McGuire, Morris and maybe even Wane surely top the list now

You're a hard judge. He won't ever be back at Saints now.

He should have come clean at the start.

I’m just getting a sense of the frustration you guys are experiencing. Slow adaptor.

You are totally right to call for everyone to move on, but it’s a bit distracting.

I’ve seen the media campaign blaming the club and I never used to believe in conspiracies, but it’s been over the top.

Plus he announces his decision on Origin day to take the sting out of it. Well it hasn’t gone unnoticed.

No club should trust him. He’s selfish and ignorant.

The questions I ask are:

I’m just left with the impression that the whole Ryles saga was misconceived and not thought out on his behalf.

* he has suffered irreparable damage to his reputation at sgi and like minded sympathetic fans.

* the roosters now hate him with a passion. An unnecessary and powerful enemy.

* he’s lost squillions.

* his destiny is no longer in his hands.

* if he gets the job at the Storm, he can’t possibly live up to Bellamy. He won’t get 5 years that’s for sure.

He was better off not doing anything at all than enter the fray with sgi and kicking tyres.

It’s been very amateurish and hopeless, indecisive and weak.

A blessing in disguise was nicely put earlier.

56to66

I’m just left with the impression that the whole Ryles saga was misconceived and not thought out on his behalf.

* he has suffered irreparable damage to his reputation at sgi and like minded sympathetic fans.

* the roosters now hate him with a passion. An unnecessary and powerful enemy.

* he’s lost squillions.

* his destiny is no longer in his hands.

* if he gets the job at the Storm, he can’t possibly live up to Bellamy. He won’t get 5 years that’s for sure.

He was better off not doing anything at all than enter the fray with sgi and kicking tyres.
He can always be a lifetime waterboy, like Alfie at the Donkeys. Initially he will given a 3 year contract will fail, get the sack then, then Slater will take over.

Exactly.

Eventually wear a cloud costume and hold a plastic lightning bolt, twirling around St Kilda park, watching the storm fans cheer and applaud knock ons from their backline.

Poor Alfie looks like his face is stuck in a perpetual near car prang grimace, but his hearts in the right place.

A bit of dna I guess.

At this rate, Mary could find himself coaching NSW soon.
You may very well be right about that Silver . Fittler just is not up to Origin level let alone NRL standard .

He has a class team at his disposal yet cannot put any team spirit into them , alas try as they may , they require a coach who can get them to ‘ gel ‘ into a hard as cement unit , only then will they truly compete with the Queenslanders .

Dragon David

Well my thoughts are now directed to the next candidate and pushing Ryles way out of my mind but before that I want to say though before closing the books on Ryles is he just wasted everybody's precious time and money and patience and hopes - and thank goodness it didn't come to fruition by the sounds of what had transpired and basically ending with Ryles having the fortitude to say that he wasn't really ready to do the job at the Dragons because it would have been too tough - makes me think that he would have failed miserably in that case so thank goodness he is out of the picture - hooray!!

We have a young "rookie" coaching us and is doing it in the right spirit, efficiency and diligence as far as we can see to date. A win and a loss isn't too bad and the next few rounds will be as tough as teak but if the players are willing and able to give it their all, then a couple of those "hard" games we might jag and that is all we are hoping for. The more Carr has experienced as the interim head coach of the Dragons the more confident he will feel. He has nothing to lose but will try and prove that he can handle all of the pressure that Ryles (sorry I didn't want to bring him in again) thought was a job too big for him.

Out of all of the candidates left, who by they way would know that they were not first choice, I'm hoping that it isn't Young and because Flanagan has said that he hadn't been approached, I think that they would be leaning towards an experienced coach and that it is Des Hasler. I could be totally wrong because there has not been an ounce of information or leak or anything to suggest that he is even one of the candidates, but he has to be considered.

What Webb has said on the SEN Radio this morning was that they don't need to start over again so they have the candidates, they know their backgrounds and have had initial talks. They make their choice and then finalise details and arrange an appropriate day to sign and then inform all members and sponsors and fans on the Dragons website. Until it is on the website that is the done deal. I said that when we were all waiting for an announcement on the other guy who didn't want the job and who should not have applied to wait for confirmation rather than rely on those journo's jumping the gun.

getsmarty

It's understood Ryles has not been guaranteed the Storm head coaching role when Bellamy does eventually step aside. However, the 44-year-old said the opportunity to return to a set-up where he'd already experienced great success - while continuing to learn from one of the game's greatest ever coaches - was one he simply "couldn't resist".

We should at least congratulate @BLM01 and the selected others “in the know” who leaked out the news that the club had settled on him without actually betraying their sources.

They were proven to be totally correct.

Hopefully they can keep this thread ahead of the msm and other outlets. Good stuff.

And to @getsmarty for the instant access to articles, helping our understanding.

My rooster buddy at work ( ex junior) theorises Ryles was unhappy there and used you as leverage for his ambitions as the Storm “mascot.”

He says the roosters are brutal about rats in the ranks.

Ryles has been chatting to the Storm the whole way along he speculates. He calls Ryles a grub and he’s not even an sgi person.