Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Complaint of racial abuse in Roosters v Broncos

Nutz

Two years ago I visited my daughter who has 4 young children and they were playing in the back yard in a mud bath they made in one of those blue plastic clam shells [sandbox]
They were covered in mud and the youngest who is in Kindy called out to me and said "poppa, ......looks like a nig..."
I was horified and was just about to go crook at her but stopped short because it was innocent.
I told my daughter and she was equally shocked.
Later, after the kids were cleaned up we all went into the lounge room and had a family talk.
To cut a long story short we we talked about everything we should talk about the matter in a calm atmosphere.
In essense they didn't know any better. In fact the eldest was very upset.
It goes to show that my earlier comment about education and intergration is so important.
My daughter and I had a talk to the headmisstress [is that correct title?] about it and she said it's a term that's just starting to do the rounds.
There are only a couple of first Oz kids in the school but she didn't think the term was not directed at them??
Last fortnight ago they had a whole day dedicated to Aboriginal art and crafts and their history presented by a local elder and an Indigenous Police Liaison Officer...very basic and made enjoyable for them.
A huge success I feel.
However you multiply something that was innocent by millions of repetitions and you have a huge social problem that is so hard to irradiate.
All we can do is our best to help.

Nutz

This happens all the time in the form of "ranga" which is literally short for orangutan
The meaning of ranga in Australia is redhead mate. Australian slang derives from orang-utan – and the name is based on the orang-utan’s orange hair.
But once again if one feel insulted you can ask not be "labled" which I feel is more to the mark.
I had bowed legs that needed stirrups and kids used to call me spaghetti legs...gee that hurt.

T-Boon

The meaning of ranga in Australia is redhead mate. Australian slang derives from orang-utan – and the name is based on the orang-utan’s orange hair.
But once again if one feel insulted you can ask not be "labled" which I feel is more to the mark.
I had bowed legs that needed stirrups and kids used to call me spaghetti legs...gee that hurt.
Could you jump puddles?

Woody90

He got the same time as Mitch Pearce got for pretending to f**k a dog.

How does everyone resolve that in their minds?

The Pearce incident, while bad and bizarre was an anomaly. Other than the game’s image, his actions didn’t really hurt anyone. Leinu’s remarks on the other hand have been incredibly damaging - not just the comment itself but the racist shit storm it’s triggered from people in support of him.
We’re not the AFL. Our players shouldn’t be racially abused. The NRL have done a really good job at creating inclusiveness in the past decade and Leinu has pretty much destroyed that. 8 games of footy is really nothing when you weigh it against the damage it’s apparently done.

Pumpkin

Yeah great comments, he was unaware monkey was a derogatory term. With an IQ like this, I'm surprised he manages to get his pants on. So fellow Samoans call each other coconuts, so what? I call my best mate a dumb merkin, and it's in humour. I call someone that who's not my mate, he's going to take offense.

I'd also suggest being called a coconut is derogatory, but it's not quite the same as being compared to another species. Coconuts grow on trees in Pacific islands. Monkeys are a species that pick at their own skin and swing from trees. What these simpletons don't understand (and it's not their fault, they're young) is that whenever slurs are used, it weighs Indigenous people down. When they are called racist terms like monkey, it solidifies their status as second-class citizens in some people's eyes. It holds an entire group of people back from the equality as citizens, that they deserve. Dumb f**k comments like Leniu's deserved to be punished severely and made very public, so they are not repeated.

Seriously, WHY ARE WE THIS DUMB? People want to accept Leniu doesn't know the impact of calling someone a monkey? If so, why did he call him it? I'll answer that - because he's a dumb f**ker, he was hot-headed in the moment and wanted to cause offense/get a reaction. He knew EXACTLY what he was doing.

And at the end of it all, I knew my perspective on this was right when I saw Paul Kent disagreed. f**k me, why does that arsehole get to have any level of influence on anything. Woeful human being.
Players no doubt say derogatory things to each other all the time during play. It's accepted. It's the psychological warfare that goes on during play. Society and the game have taken a stand that within these parameters you can't say anything racist or homophobic or anything against someone's religion.

The question is whether calling someone a monkey is racist and you can't prove that it is. A monkey is simply a member of the animal kingdom. It's no different than calling someone a horse or a fish or a seal.

The only person who knows whether it was intended to be racist is Spencer Leniu. We can't hook his brain up to a computer to see what he was thinking, so all you can do is ask him. He said emphatically that he didn't mean it to be racist. So we have to believe him. We've got no proof to the contrary. Therefore he should have been found innocent.

Now really what should happen is for the Roosters to sue the judiciary for defamation of character because they are calling Leniu a liar without any proof.

Penrose Warrior

Players no doubt say derogatory things to each other all the time during play. It's accepted. It's the psychological warfare that goes on during play. Society and the game have taken a stand that within these parameters you can't say anything racist or homophobic or anything against someone's religion.

The question is whether calling someone a monkey is racist and you can't prove that it is. A monkey is simply a member of the animal kingdom. It's no different than calling someone a horse or a fish or a seal.

The only person who knows wether it was intended to be racist is Spencer Leniu. We can't hook his brain up to a computer to see what he was thinking, so all you can do is ask him. He said emphatically that he didn't mean it to be racist. So we have to believe him. We've got no proof to the contrary. Therefore he should have been found innocent.

Now really what should happen is for the Roosters to sue the judiciary for defamation of character because they are calling Leniu a liar without any proof.
Anyone ever read something so stupid, they feel instantly like they lost IQ points? I could've run across the room and led head-first into my kitchen bench, and lost a similar amount of brain cells as I did reading this rubbish.

Ah actually you're a troll, and you want the attention. Has to be. You know you could type something sensible and if it goes well, people will give you attention, too.

Pumpkin

Anyone ever read something so stupid, they feel instantly like they lost IQ points? I could've run across the room and led head-first into my kitchen bench, and lost a similar amount of brain cells as I did reading this rubbish.

Ah actually you're a troll, and you want the attention. Has to be. You know you could type something sensible and if it goes well, people will give you attention, too.
What did I say that wasn't sensible? I'm basically saying that a person should be innocent till proven guilty. That's what the legal system is based on.

Penrose Warrior

What did I say that wasn't sensible? I'm basically saying that a person should be innocent till proven guilty. That's what the legal system is based on.
Seeing you asked...you said the following: That saying derogatory things are accepted. They aren't. Ezra Mam did not accept it. Marcelo Montoya calling someone a twig was not accepted. It is not psychological warfare, that is rubbish.
That calling someone a monkey cannot be proven as racist. Not only can it be, it just was. An eight-week ban suggests that. The term is meant to deride a certain ethnicity as sub-human, and causes the ongoing stereotype of Indigenous people as second-class citizens by a large enough part of society. It is 100% different than being called another animal. In fact, this one was your dumbest one.
It's irrelevant if Leniu is the only one who can truly know the intent. There is no intent threshold on racism like there is on high tackles. He said it, and whether he's so dumb/naive to not know the wider meaning of that term, is also impossible to prove and therefore they have (rightly) presumed he does, or don't care if he does, and penalised him as such. I'd suggest he might have got less than 8 weeks if he hadn't been such an arrogant merkin after the game. We don't have to believe him. There was nothing on audio, but he was still convicted. And the Roosters got him to confess when they saw they had no case, and scrambled so he'd lose less weeks with contrition.
Then your libel thing is the second dumbest thing. That would spark unprecedented issues if the Roosters sued the NRL because their player called someone a monkey. Even the Roosters aren't that arrogant. Yes, there was no audio proof, but Leniu confessed to having said it before the hearing, and there was plenty of corroboration on field. No doubt anyone should be presumed innocent until proven guilty, but there's your loss of presumption, right there. Plus the idiotic stuff after the game where Leniu wore it like a badge of honour that he'd racially sledged someone, then actually was so stupid he decided to bait the Broncos into seeing him after on it.

The question I answered was "what would happen if a white person got called a monkey" or something like that.

I just gave an example of exactly that happening. I'm aware it's due to red hair which is why it is mostly limited to white people.

Pumpkin

Seeing you asked...you said the following: That saying derogatory things are accepted. They aren't. Ezra Mam did not accept it. Marcelo Montoya calling someone a twig was not accepted. It is not psychological warfare, that is rubbish.
That calling someone a monkey cannot be proven as racist. Not only can it be, it just was. An eight-week ban suggests that. The term is meant to deride a certain ethnicity as sub-human, and causes the ongoing stereotype of Indigenous people as second-class citizens by a large enough part of society. It is 100% different than being called another animal. In fact, this one was your dumbest one.
It's irrelevant if Leniu is the only one who can truly know the intent. There is no intent threshold on racism like there is on high tackles. He said it, and whether he's so dumb/naive to not know the wider meaning of that term, is also impossible to prove and therefore they have (rightly) presumed he does, or don't care if he does, and penalised him as such. I'd suggest he might have got less than 8 weeks if he hadn't been such an arrogant merkin after the game. We don't have to believe him. There was nothing on audio, but he was still convicted. And the Roosters got him to confess when they saw they had no case, and scrambled so he'd lose less weeks with contrition.
Then your libel thing is the second dumbest thing. That would spark unprecedented issues if the Roosters sued the NRL because their player called someone a monkey. Even the Roosters aren't that arrogant. Yes, there was no audio proof, but Leniu confessed to having said it before the hearing, and there was plenty of corroboration on field. No doubt anyone should be presumed innocent until proven guilty, but there's your loss of presumption, right there. Plus the idiotic stuff after the game where Leniu wore it like a badge of honour that he'd racially sledged someone, then actually was so stupid he decided to bait the Broncos into seeing him after on it.
Ok. Well what you are raising here are social issues, which is a different topic. I was talking about legal issues. I'm happy to talk about social issues . Let's look at facts. Are indigenous people second class citizens or sub human? The answer to that is no! It's as simple as that. So why does a simple word ie "monkey" trigger this response in them? It must be because somewhere in their psyche they are not entirely convinced of being equal with others. Aha! We've stumbled on the root cause. They need to fix that hole in their psyche so that a simple word doesn't hurt them anymore.

The Pearce incident, while bad and bizarre was an anomaly. Other than the game’s image, his actions didn’t really hurt anyone. Leinu’s remarks on the other hand have been incredibly damaging - not just the comment itself but the racist shit storm it’s triggered from people in support of him.
We’re not the AFL. Our players shouldn’t be racially abused. The NRL have done a really good job at creating inclusiveness in the past decade and Leinu has pretty much destroyed that. 8 games of footy is really nothing when you weigh it against the damage it’s apparently done.
Yeah so Pearce was hard done by.

I agree Leniu needed to be punished but saying he has destroyed all the work in inclusiveness the NRL has done the last 10 years is hyperbolic garbage.

Like f**k me, he used a slur on the field, a bad one sure but he hasn't lead a lynch mob in the street.