Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

The unknown

Tigers need to think carefully about whom they put in front of the cameras at the moment. The shit BJ sprouting is not going to garner them any suppport, in fact quite the opposite. Dickhead needs to read the finer points of his contract, there’s clauses in there that can allow the club to lower their wage to him commensurate to the drop in coin from the TV companies if games don’t go ahead.

And at the end of the day, what is a f***wit like him gonna do if he does lose 50% of his $600k or whatever it is that he’s on? Walk away from the game and find another job? He’d have about as much real life skills as a f***ing potato, most of these lads need to remind themselves that if they weren’t playing football, there’s only so many PT, removalist and night club security jobs to go around.

Because let’s face it, 90% of the current players that’s about all they’d be good for without footy. f**kwits like him should be happy he’s getting some money at all in this current situation. Many others in this country are not as fortunate and are facing some dire times.

Yeah he doesn’t come across as the sharpest tool in the shed, he probably just expects a major sporting code like the NRL to be smart enough to survive a 3 month period without revenue like every other sport in the world can

James Graham is by far the most level headed and insightful player I’ve heard on this so far. The Rlpa and players should let him speak on their behalf!

Frailty

I know what the f**king measures are for.

Oh right, I'm not allowed to train with my mates because we have to slow the spread, even in regions with 0 confirmed cases and we are all fit young men who will be barely affected by it - but I can go in and hold my grandmother's hand. A person is infectious before showing symptoms right? How will they know if I am infectious? Or anyone? Then it could spread right through the old folks home and kill 1/4 of them. f**k lucky we banned footy training.

Because footy training and games are not essential contact. It is recreational. It's just that simple. Any contact and gathering that isn't necessary will be put on hold.

Heavy restrictions on aged care visits make perfect sense, especially in Sydney. Not necessarily bans, though that's what some have suggested, including the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Association - https://www.canberratimes.com.au/story/6684816/estia-puts-its-aged-care-homes-on-lockdown/?cs=14231
and some private ones have already - https://www.news.com.au/national/ag...ovid19/video/1fad40a3480e05af19b443cf8f011e2d
but something like nominated visitors have to get tested.

I would love stricter measures to protect the vulnerable in homes - especially being tested prior to being authorised entry. Unfortunately, the Australian government have put in strict conditions on who gets tested. Experience in South Korea shows us large scale testing is amongst the best methods to limit the spread and flatten the curve.

Banning training is like banning going to the pub with your mates. Put a contact ban in place and everyone bring their own bottles.

Yes it is. It's a recreation activity that is non-essential.

Along with people's physical health, we need to think a lot about people's mental health as well.

Absolutely, but you don't put physical health at immediate risk because of mental health issues caused by 'not being able to go to footy training'.

Morons from Wuhan are what spread the virus to Italy, USA, Morons going to and from Wuhan are what spread it here, along with morons coming back from infectious areas overseas and not practicing proper isolation and socialising.
Actually, only 15 cases have been linked to China, including Wuhan. The vast majority have been from the US by a significant margin. You know that other country that has been horrifically slow to implement protocols to reduce non-essential contact.

Yeah, if you are from or go into an infectious area of a new highly contagious disease and then go around spreading it to others - you are a moron. And it will be morons from Sydney or going to and back from Sydney despite the social distancing recommendations that are in place that will spread it here.

Agreed. All travel should be banned, and anyone who has travelled through airports should be on automatic 14 self isolation.

Frailty

If they have to shut down they have to shut down, no worries there. But the players whinging about losing pay will have that negative feedback. Out here we play for nothing and the players think they should be paid in full for doing nothing? f**k off

The optics is absolutely horrible. I don't think any athlete should ever complain about their pay - especially in the current circumstances.

But if you are a full-time employee and the employer says you can't work. Unless there is scope in your contract that payments cuts are able to made they need to pay you.

The real challenge here are the Part-Time and casual employees in the workforce.

beave

Yeah he doesn’t come across as the sharpest tool in the shed, he probably just expects a major sporting code like the NRL to be smart enough to survive a 3 month period without revenue like every other sport in the world can

other sports generally have billionaire team owners that can afford to carry the burden of player wages with decreased TV revenue. Have a look at what is happening to Qantas and Virgin at the moment, basically forcing their employees into 8 weeks unpaid holidays until this shit dies down. Many other businesses are doing the same.

Maybe if the clubs fans actually supported their teams by becoming financial members and going to games en masse, the clubs wouldn’t be pillaging $13mil each off the NRL. The players wanted to be partners in the game, well guess what, you can’t only be in a partnership in the good times and no one knew this shit we going to happen.

Get angry at the f**ktards eating bats, bullfrogs and armadillos for this mess.

Cactus

I said this in a thread elsewhere but it might be worth saying here aswell:

I don’t know how it could be done but what this sport really needs is for the decision making surrounding the long term, future proofing of the game be separated from the remaining short and medium term decision making that requires all of the stakeholder/partner agreements (especially players & club land).

Let the ARLC have the overriding authority to plan and implement decisions for those strategic goals whilst maintaining transparency via its annual report to the plethora of stakeholders.

This is where Gus & Politis & people like them need to change their thinking.

Players directed to self-isolate by NRL. Awaits the first news ltd newspaper outraged front page showing players in pokie clubs or down the pub.

Quicksilver

Players directed to self-isolate by NRL. Awaits the first news ltd newspaper outraged front page showing players in pokie clubs or down the pub.

As soon as I heard them talk about self-imposed self-isolation I thought about this.

The countdown is on.

Which player will be the first caught out and about? How long will it take?

I'm tipping 4 days. At best. Prove me wrong players, prove me wrong.

Theres a real risk the players and nrl could generate some serious negative public feeling towards themselves if they keep playing the woe is me card at a time when your avg joe is fcked and small businesses are going under. Some tact and sensitivity from Vlandys and the players wouldn’t go amiss right now.

Todd must have been reading my posts, finally a statement with some humanity behind it. Todd came across very well, and that from someone who doesn’t rate him as a CEO at all.

Quicksilver

I think they’ve acknowledged the Impact on the wider community in both press conferences.

But we’re there to talk NRL. If you want general hardship talk see the PM or Premiers.

jim_57

Wonder if this will be the first time a NRL game is the most watched sport in the world for one day at least!

There's probably replays on in much larger countries that will outrate it.. but as for live maybe, I'm not totally up tp date with what is shutdown.

Maybe one day this weekend, 2 big clubs play the AFL opener tonight though which will probably rate better.

parrawentyfan

So if Australia and NZ are both loxking down travel will the Warriors jump back to NZ before the ban comes in? Otherwise they might be stuck here for months.