Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

COVID-19 - NRL press conference at 10:00 Livestream Todd Greenberg and Peter V'Landys

The game will continue on it must, the Roosters are outside the 8 after there loss, no way the NRL can have that expect, the competition to be paused once Roosters back in the 8

The Warriors are now looking at maybe pulling out of the competition altogether.
I don't think it will matter as I reckon the competition is over.
Vlandys has brought on a whole new issue if the comp gets canned. The rabid journos will be sounding out the end of rugby league in this country after what was said today.

snout

Good on them for trying.
But its a losing battle - far too many elements for the comp to continue.
Probably wont see nek weekend in fact.

As Vlandys said on friday footy is part of our relaxation.
Come home from work on a friday nite and watching footy sucking on a few beers. What do you do now?

The premier league is more than a game in the UK. Its a fabric of life for millions.
The very real danger is what do people turn to without their sport. Many will lose their jobs or their income is decimated and their team gave them the lift they need win ir lose.

Vlandys is aware if this. The community need this and kudos for not giving in easily.

Let the warriors go. They're a weak impersonation of a professional outfit.
First game of the year. Trained all summer. Everything to play for and they turn in that joke of a performance.
And a joke coach.
Ferk them off...theyre on the amount of points they will get this year anyway.

Broncos already crying poor, must be tough being a 1 team city.

What we can do as Sharks fans is support them through buying jerseys, shirts the like and supporting the club, the one benefit we have we are used to being poor

2012....Sharks Year

Interesting thing is the Sharks were going to take a bath financially playing out of Kogarah regardless.... We actually got lucky with our timing in renovating the club etc.

txta2

Well the whole game will be financially ruined if it's cancelled for an extended amount of time. The war chest is going to clubs.
They are saying they will need half a bill package from the govt.....unless Uncle Nick buys the NRL.
Dark times indeed.

All the 'what if's'. Who the f**k knows what is going to happen next.

All I know is we are living in strange times and it is going to be interesting to see where this all heads.

The old League might be of a lesser worry to most.

I’d say there might be some court action. Players might end up with 10c in the dollar if the NRL goes bankrupt.
The way I see it is that the game will go bankrupt if the NRL has to pay the players full wages.
I know there is the "act of god" clause, which reduces the players payments, who knows how much that is?
It may come down to the players themselves not taking all their pay to help the NRL survive, and also for them to get more wages in the future as the NRL will still exist.
Who knows

shadowboxer

Well the whole game will be financially ruined if it's cancelled for an extended amount of time. The war chest is going to clubs.
They are saying they will need half a bill package from the govt.....unless Uncle Nick buys the NRL.
Dark times indeed.

War Chest - what’s that? The NRL have nothing in the kitty for something like that - hence why they are gambling with the PM to see who will blink first.
Old mate Greenberg early exit