Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

COVID-19 - NRL press conference at 10:00 Livestream Todd Greenberg and Peter V'Landys

I'd love to know how you came to the conclusion that it's a hoax?
Food for thought, the "flu" killed nearly 700,000 people last year.(and that's with a vaccine). This thing ain't that deadly its just highly contagious.

None of us will probably remember ( well, maybe Quigs) but the Spanish flu infected over one quarter of the world's population with a ranging death toll estimate of 20 - 100 million. But hey seeing there was no social media etc etc I'm sure they weren't faced with the same idiotic panic buying we are seeing at the moment.

Quicksilver

Food for thought, the "flu" killed nearly 700,000 people last year.(and that's with a vaccine). This thing ain't that deadly its just highly contagious.

None of us will probably remember ( well, maybe Quigs) but the Spanish flu infected over one quarter of the world's population with a ranging death toll estimate of 20 - 100 million. But hey seeing there was no social media etc etc I'm sure they weren't faced with the same idiotic panic buying we are seeing at the moment.

this is more deadly than modern day flu.

One of the only valid "major" concerns at the moment is from Viral Specialists who fear that the current Coronavirus may mutate into something far worse.

ummm...... everywhere?

it’s killing a greater %.

it just hasn’t infected as many people. Yet.

Read some data from the WHO, the Washington Post also has some great articles for those of us that can be bothered.

The only common concern at the moment is the unknown, so that is primarily why Governments ( including your so called bed wetter) are doing what they are doing

for China to eradicate its elderly population. In China everyone is looked after and fed and housed

Funny you should say that, I see Woolies has dedicated a timeslot to the over 60's to go get groceries at 7am. So what do you see on the TV? Big groups of old people jammed in together lining up for a shop. Now if that doesn't bring out a CT with the virus thing I dont know what will!

Dude, The Spanish flu was 100 years ago..... Now apologise to Quigs! Also those figures prove the need to curb this one wouldn't you agree?

My question to TSS was to why he thinks it's a hoax, you answered that for me. It's not a hoax.

A vaccine won't help you if you already have it, just prevents you from acquiring it I thought? Anyway, the vaccine is avsilable to Western Society and the people that can afford to take it. In Australia it's voluntary as you know, most people don't go for it. Most of those 700k are from African nations apparently.

Covid-19 probably won't kill you but it's the way it's spread and yes, the possibility that it may mutate into something worse which is the cause for concern, hence the need to halt the spread. This is what my ex RN Nursey wife tells me...

Here's a great article from the Kiwi Herald on the Spanish Flu https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/...Lgc49aRBOw1A909GvCzNvs3LB0iv4RAVqnG7OyXHM27zQ[/QUOTE]

Funny you should say that, I see Woolies has dedicated a timeslot to the over 60's to go get groceries at 7am. So what do you see on the TV? Big groups of old people jammed in together lining up for a shop. Now if that doesn't bring out a CT with the virus thing I dont know what will!

Dude, The Spanish flu was 100 years ago..... Now apologise to Quigs! Also those figures prove the need to curb this one wouldn't you agree?

My question to TSS was to why he thinks it's a hoax, you answered that for me. It's not a hoax.

A vaccine won't help you if you already have it, just prevents you from acquiring it I thought? Anyway, the vaccine is avsilable to Western Society and the people that can afford to take it. In Australia it's voluntary as you know, most people don't go for it. Most of those 700k are from African nations apparently.

Covid-19 probably won't kill you but it's the way it's spread and yes, the possibility that it may mutate into something worse which is the cause for concern, hence the need to halt the spread. This is what my ex RN Nursey wife tells me...

Here's a great article from the Kiwi Herald on the Spanish Flu https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/...Lgc49aRBOw1A909GvCzNvs3LB0iv4RAVqnG7OyXHM27zQ
[/QUOTE]

It WILL mutate. It's already a mutation of the original coronavirus. Common cold, flu A spanish flu, SARS, MERS are all mutations.

The bigger issue with COVID-19 as it stands now is a vaccine will not be available for 12-18 months which means it will become seasonal and will recur next year. Possibly a lot of people who contract will develop natural immunity and not get it twice but this that don't get it now will still be in danger of contracting for the next 2 years probably. Especially if the vaccine takes 18 months.

There is just as much work being done, but not reported as much, about developing a COVID-19 specific anti retroviral but, how long did it take to get effective ARVs for HIV and HCV? Thats a long way off as well.

The Masked Avenger said:
Read some data from the WHO, the Washington Post also has some great articles for those of us that can be bothered.

Good resources but the most up to date data is coming out of Johns Hopkins University who update daily. WHO only updates 2nd or third daily.

Johns Hopkins CORONAVIRUS RESOURCE CENTER

Just gotta ride it out.

Another 4 hour meeting about this shit today, on my day off. Knee jerk city

f**k me, it just got stupider

4 square metres between people at gatherings. Lord Howe Island locked down and locked out - Brad Hazzard

Just watching a NSW Health live update now

Bondi has just copped a full on bagging from Brad Hazzard due to ignoring social distancing. Young people singled out

Spoke of optimism bias where people think they won't get affected.

Actually mentioned 3 events with between 80-100 attendees over 3 age groups.

Cruise ships copping a banning because Government gave an order of no cruises for 30 days. 63 ships full of people have entered port since order.

NSW Health still ahead of the curve................... Not surprised, it's gone berserk

Aged Care facility at ENGADINE mentioned as having worked very well with NSW Health with proactive testing, visitor restrictions and early identification of a positive case.

So, it's now in the shire peeps.

I know the facility BTW

f**k me, it just got stupider

4 square metres between people at gatherings. Lord Howe Island locked down and locked out - Brad Hazzard

Just watching a NSW Health live update now

Was just watching the footy and saw at least 20 people in the dressing rooms of both sides. How do they do this with a 4sq mtr "personal" space?

I can't see this game being able to continue all year.

I think this is the last week

Was just watching the footy and saw at least 20 people in the dressing rooms of both sides. How do they do this with a 4sq mtr "personal" space?

I can't see this game being able to continue all year.

I think this is the last week

I reckon you might be right.
School will close by next week I think.
Spewin
That means I’ll have the lot of them here with me.

And .... annnnd .... last night I saw the creepin Jesus coughing all over Big Sam as they sat behind the goalposts.

How come no one speaks about all the spitting on the field? or th flying saliva from a big hit.

I don't want it stop and I know its all over hysterical and all but the NRL are dead set taking the piss.

V'Landy's sounded like a dead set knob with his pandemic specialist and biosecurity spin as experts.

Where's ya population health specialist and infection control specialists? Doctors?

A pandemic specialist is probably some 2nd year uni student doing there first research and biosecurity work more with locusts and other pests LOLOLOLOLOL

The NRL are the joke of their own league

Stop stirrin up shit Cap'n. Didn't you see em on the sideline the other night washing the footy balls in water and then disso.

Mate, the NRL has this all under control.

Stop your panicking alright, you'll scare the kids.